Bank of America Manager IT Reviews | Glassdoor

Bank of America IT Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager IV in Irving, TX

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good organization.

    Cons

    Too many reorganizations, and layoffs.

    Bank of America2019-07-18
  2. "Average workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exactly what you would expect from a corporate workplace.

    Cons

    All about the bottom dollar.

    Advice to Management

    Less red tape to get things done in IT.

    Bank of America2018-03-27
  3. "Your just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary compensation was ok.

    Cons

    Typical corporate bureaucracy. You're just a number in the end, doesn't matter how many years of service you have in.

    Bank of America2017-08-08
  4. "IT Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Moderate red tape for such a large organization. Competitive compensation and benefits. Good variety of options for office location (in Charlotte HQ), including uptown, satellite and drop in sites in Ballantyne (south Charlotte).

    Cons

    Telecommuting was becoming less and less of an option in the last few years. Merging of Global Tech operations with parallel Merrill - Lynch leadership centered in NY/NJ was creating stress amongst Charlotte staff. Can be difficult to gain visibility and achieve promotion without constant job hopping.

    Advice to Management

    Moderate perceived management "change for the sake of change" I executive leadership. Frequent executive reassignment has leaders implementing operational change and moving on without seeing initiatives through. Creates an environment of perpetual change with little of the stated benefits being achieved.

    Bank of America2017-07-18
  5. "Sr. Technology Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's nice that you can telecommute and save commute money.

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy and mismanagement.

    Bank of America2017-05-15
  6. "Good company, good benefits but lacking career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, Stable company. Depends on which group or manager you have, but work schedule can be flexible

    Cons

    -Difficult to find opportunities for advancement despite the size and breath of products/services provided by BofA -Management not vested in employee development and growth -Frequent lay-offs (always in fear that you will be next even if you are a top performer) -Unrealistic expectations for Technology Teams to deliver which is causing burn out

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your top talented and high performer to retain them. Be transparent in leadership decisions. For example, when lay offs occur, inform associates so they are aware instead of keeping it quiet. This lack of transparency creates fear and low morale which impacts productivity.

    Bank of America2017-04-18
  7. "Overall loved my experience with Bank of America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Project Manager 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership really allowed you to make decisions and listened when you had a great idea. They didn't make you waste your time with too many unneeded reports for status. They trust you to get your job done and make decisions.

    Cons

    Pay was low compared to other companies. They have a lot of policies that tie the hands of managers in hiring you. If you work as a consultant, they make you take 90days off every 3 years so you won't say you were an employee. Even if your boss wants to hire you, they want to keep people as consultants so they don't need to give you benefits. I know consultants that have been back and forth for almost a decade and worked...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have great leadership. Let them hire your better consultants. Hire consultants for shortages that are short term. Don't make it an overall hiring practice, You should also allow more remote workers again. It allows you to get great resources that might not be close to an office. Overall I loved my job and was very productive. I would have joined your company if you had just let me boss hire me.

    Bank of America2017-02-02
  8. "IT PM BOA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company. Average salary. Great co-workers

    Cons

    Unclear management direction and challenging upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Define and simplify process

    Bank of America2017-02-02
  9. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Pennington, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work variety Nice Co-Workers Work Life Balance was very flexible.

    Cons

    No ability to leverage work to a permanent position Low pay

    Bank of America2017-01-18
  10. "Implementation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager IV 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America

    Pros

    Possible Remote Position nego. Must be in right City to be hired

    Cons

    Stricted Hiring based on City Location, not fair salary offers

    Bank of America2016-12-03
Found 47 reviews