Bank of America Reviews in Melville, NY | Glassdoor

Bank of America Melville Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
4 Ratings
  1. "Customer advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advocate in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people! Very good compensation.

    Cons

    Tough job but rewarding, must have thick skin

    Advice to Management

    Have some understanding

    Bank of America2016-01-26
  2. "Customer Relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and work environment.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about Bank of America. I enjoyed my years with the company.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Bank of America2016-08-26
  3. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Project Manager in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company when employed; nice perks

    Cons

    No job security; no assistance for employees during massive layoffs

    Bank of America2015-11-28
  4. "Financial solutions advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great way to get experience in front dealing with clients. You'll meet more people and open more accounts than typically possible at a wire house

    Cons

    Hard to move up in the corporation. You don't own your book of business. Lots of red tape and limited training and support

    Advice to Management

    The job is transitional. Give top employees a way to move up. Take a more active role in coaching and sales training

    Bank of America2015-10-08
  5. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People were nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Management are very busy and not available to help employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees to improve communication

    Bank of America2014-11-11
  6. "it was a terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    co workers are great to work with

    Cons

    top heavy with mediocre management. no support at the lower levels since the budgets are taken up with the higher bands salary's.

    Advice to Management

    disband yourselves

    Bank of America2014-08-24
  7. "I was underwriting government loans and was impressed with how easy it was to get help when needed from tech support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DE Underwriter in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their underwriting system was clear and concise. Their guidelines were also easily available.

    Cons

    For any technical difficulties were forwarded over to India and it was not easy to understand the instructions. Also the employees were just a number when trying to reach Human Resources

    Bank of America2014-02-04
  8. "Horrific management... Dishonest at best. Weak management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Short Commute; Nice co workers

    Cons

    will take advantage of you

    Advice to Management

    Run like the mafia.. Play games with bonuses. Actions must stop.

    Bank of America2014-02-04
  9. "its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor Pathways in Melville, NY
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America

    Pros

    paid training and you get benefits

    Cons

    your on your own no help

    Advice to Management

    none

    Bank of America2009-11-20
Found 9 reviews