Bank of America Merchant Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Bank of America Merchant Services Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 295 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America Merchant Services CEO Tim Tynan  (no image)
Tim Tynan
153 Ratings
  1. "Focus on Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At Bank of America Merchant Services, we have strong leaders who support their teams and are committed to results and success. Strong partnerships and a growing culture of teamwork contribute to the strength of the organization.

    Cons

    The yin and yang of an organization with two parents. It all works out.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to have a laser focus on goals, commitment to employee satisfaction and clear and open communication.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-07-03
  2. Helpful (4)

    "AVP Client Services Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Client Services Manager in Liberty Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is very work- life balance focused, with a very driven Leadership Team. The company provides great benefits including paid vacation, maternity leave, volunteer time, 401K matching to name a few. I have worked for the company for 15+ years and the tenure is long with most employees because they find not only a place of work, but also an extended family.

    Cons

    Location can be a bit of a drive from Spokane to Liberty Lake, but this is a locational challenge for some, not a company related con.

    Advice to Management

    Continue gathering feedback from associates and take their front line information to drive key process improvements within the business to continue serving our merchants in a great fashion.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-05-31
  3. "AVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent benefits, flexibility, volunteer opportunities

    Cons

    not competitive compared to industry companies, sales goal are extremely high

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-06-20
  4. "Never a boring day at Bank of America Merchant Services!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Every company has its challenges, but it would be boring it everything was perfect all the time. What brings me to work every day are the amazing people I get to work with and their passion for being the very best. I’m honored to be a part of their success and creating experiences for our clients to make it easy for them to run their business. Working for Bank of America Merchant Services is what you make of it and... the sky is the limit if you’re driven, client focused and passionate about people. I'm grateful to be part of an organization that offers a wide variety of benefits, 401k matching program and Employee Assistance Programs. There have been several situations where life happened and I needed some flexibility with work and there were no consequences. The company recognizes they’re not perfect and strives to be better, that is all we can ask for in this ever changing industry and Corporate America. I would recommend visiting one of our sites and forming your own opinion of what we have to offer.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the workload can be overwhelming and makes it difficult to balance work with life. You must have a plan in order to avoid extremely long days, but also be willing to put in the extra hours when it's needed.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-06-01
  5. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at Bank of America Merchant Services for over six year, and it's the best company I've ever worked for! There are talented team members, many career opportunities, and excellent pay and benefits. I'd highly recommend Bank of America Merchant Services to those looking for a company who cares and a place of employment where one can learn, grow, and advance his or her career.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-05-28
  6. "Fast Paced & Rewarding Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible group of passionate and team oriented employees. Feels like family. Opportunities abound for driven and talented people to help influence change and strategic vision. Company that is evolving and focused on positive growth and change.

    Cons

    Fast paced company, not for those that want to be stagnant.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the right investments in people and technology to grow the business

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-05-24
  7. "Investment Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time

    Pros

    Allows you to get your series 7 and 66

    Cons

    The job is robotic and every minute tracked

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-06-06
  8. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has made improvements with associate development.

    Cons

    Not all job postings are communicated well with internal associates

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-06-04
  9. Helpful (12)

    "AVOID - Unprofessional, poor management and begging employees to rate highly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President - Business Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, leads from Branches. That is about it.

    Cons

    I don't want you to think I am a bitter ex-employee. I am not. However, you need to know the truth about Bank of America Merchant Services. The best way to describe this company is - A VERY small company masquerading as Bank of America. This company is NOT a part of Bank of America, you have limited access to systems. In reality, the company is very small-time and you will see why after a few days on the job.... Poor leadership from direct manager thru Executive team. Poor Salary in today's market, zero guidance, cut throat. Employees never heard. Multiple redundancy exercises each year. Poor communication from Management. Unrealistic expectations. Keep changing the Compensation package. I earned less the longer I worked, as they made changes that cut your commission. The way you gain expenses is redundant and is far too complicated. Management out ALL of the responsibility on your hands, but do not communicate, your direct manager does not really make decisions (VP does), you have no real connection with your colleagues, the systems are old. Just a poor company. If you want average pay, zero chances to promote and no guidance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You keep putting Customers first, but you put ZERO effort into listening and helping your employees. I was once told that if you put your Employees first, they will take care of the customers as a result. However, 4 years on and nothing changed except the head count in the company. Listen to your employees, make them feel a part of the team. That way you won't have to beg employees to give you a good rating on... Glassdoor.

    Show More
    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-06-14
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Only pay attention to reviews with "helpful" markers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time

    Pros

    Notice the dates on all the 4-5 star reviews. The company was 'asked' to review it publicly in the hopes to increase its Glassdoor rating... 1. Charlotte office has a nice view 2. If you do join, find the hard-working employees. They're good people and know how to maneuver through the red-tape

    Cons

    1. CEO is merely a figurehead 2. CEO cares more about buzzwords, headlines, and conferences than setting the company on a path to success 3. ... even if he cared about the latter, he wouldn't know where to start (see #1) 4. The company asks to review it publicly 5. Promotions are given mostly for petulance and are rarely based on merit 6. Risk-averse nature leads to a slow, reactive, company and a... 'culture-of-no' 7. Organization's technology partner is only concerned with its own priorities 8. Hire/layoff cycle is biennial... you can Google when it happened last. 9. Variable compensation is nebulous -- if non-sales goals are tied compensation, it's not communicated

    Show More
    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-06-13
Found 295 reviews