Bank of America Merchant Services Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

Bank of America Merchant Services Vice President Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America Merchant Services CEO Tim Tynan  (no image)
Tim Tynan
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    ""Employee Centric, Diverse, Dynamic, Challenging Company!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked in the merchant acquiring industry for just about all of my 30 years. Bank of America Merchant Services is by far the best of all the organizations I have been involved in. It is nice to be part of a company that values employees, consistently asking for input and presenting me with challenges, all with genuine concern for both their clients and employees. They put their clients needs first without compromising their employees. I am not only proud to work here but enjoy it immensley. As big as Bank of America is, there is still that family feeling with even the most senior associates being accessible. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Sometime navigating through such a large organization, with 2 large owners, can be a bit challenging.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-03-20
  2. "Great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work life balance, good salary

    Cons

    not many opportunities for advancement

    Bank of America Merchant Services2019-07-30
  3. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good teammates, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Information doesn’t always trickle down, minimal salary increases

    Bank of America Merchant Services2019-06-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ripe with Opportunity for the Right Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Much like a startup, BAMS has gone through some impressive early growth to become the 2nd largest player in the industry, and is now charting the path for their next step. The company is now transforming from a "medium" to "large" company in one of the fastest growing technological spaces, payments. While there are definitely some growing pains(witness the changing of the old guard), this presents huge opportunity for individuals to with the right mindset. Despite the name, this is not a mega corporation where you can come in and coast without repercussions.

    Cons

    Due to the massive growth, some the processes are either outdated, or non-existent. This can be frustrating, but is changing. Also, as smaller organization, we do not enjoy the comprehensive health and financial benefits that our large partners, First Data and Bank of America do, though they are in line with companies are size.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Unorganized, comp plan so complicated mangers can’t explain it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Used to be a great place with good pay, not anymore

    Cons

    Low base salary, confusing comp plan, no advancement opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-08-27
  6. "Focus on Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At Bank of America Merchant Services, we have strong leaders who support their teams and are committed to results and success. Strong partnerships and a growing culture of teamwork contribute to the strength of the organization.

    Cons

    The yin and yang of an organization with two parents. It all works out.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-07-03
  7. "Smart, hard-working colleagues; challenging work; lots of opportunities to make your mark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President Communications in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bank of America Merchant Services has only been around since 2009, when First Data and Bank of America joined forces and created a separate payments company, so it still feels like a start-up in many respects. You can make your mark easily in the company and initiative and creativity count for a lot. There's strong leadership and there are a ton of smart, experienced payments experts here.

    Cons

    Because the company is younger than 10 years old, you will find some infrastructure and programs/processes common to older companies missing. That's good because you can often create what you don't see, but it can also be exhausting to have to build some of these things from the ground up.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-03-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Income Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good earning potential with hard work.

    Cons

    Must compromise integrity in some instances.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2018-02-13
  9. "Sweat shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    After training, there's very little learning curve. Management is lousy and your success is solely based on performance of remote branches and their sometimes lousy leads.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America Merchant Services2017-09-21
  10. "This place get worse by the year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Roles Inn of America, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America Merchant Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They supply Tools such as tablets and phones. Pay is ok of you have a good market if not you left to die

    Cons

    This company needs to get the head put of there butts. The contradict them selves monthly. One minute its this way the next its oh no now we think this is better. When the sales people said complained no one listened. Start asking for the troops out on the field for the opinion because upper management has mo clue nor hasnt even sold before. Stop making us charged double the amount for leases. We charge more than our parent company first data does. This is wrong it is hard to ripped people off on a clover when they can go to costco and get things much cheaper. Those who are top performers in the company get fed deals and get aligned with the best branches and partners. There were many reps no aligned with buss bankers at one point. This went on for many years. Most of those reps are gone cause they didnt make the cut cause of that. Also stop ripping us off with our commissions. You darn know what i mean. The commission dept is shady. Beware!!! Next time i see them ripping me off its strait to legal. If you are looking to work here beware.

    Bank of America Merchant Services2017-04-04
Found 37 reviews