Bank of America Reviews in New York State | Glassdoor

Bank of America New York State Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1101 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
479 Ratings
  1. "System Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great Team, salary is good

    Cons

    Work like balance can be improved. Growth can be difficult.

    Bank of America2019-04-11
  2. "Nice to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great platform to start with as graduate student

    Cons

    Some bureaucracy

    Bank of America2019-04-09
  3. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401K, Insurance, camaraderie, some very talented people

    Cons

    Poor management, team needs to be managed (better).

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your motivated personnel, correct identify, and address the deadweight.

    Bank of America2019-04-05
  4. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Job security higher than most firms on the street. Doing well since 4 plus years and hence profit sharing better than most places

    Cons

    Can feel like stagnation in career as lots of red tape to rise in the ranks

    Bank of America2019-04-19
  5. "Full Stack Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than a year

    Pros

    I was treated very well here - my supervisors were always kind to me and tried their best to resolve roadblocks whenever I had any. I learned a lot about trading floor culture because I worked in close proximity to it. The work itself is very straightforward even as the products are unwieldy occasionally. If you know your Java patterns you'll be fine. While I was there I heard that they were moving to Scala soon, which...

    Show More

    Cons

    Full stack work at such a large company is backbreaking and will test your resolve. Prepare to always be looking ahead for things to refactor and optimize because it catches up with you quickly.

    Bank of America2019-04-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Valuable Finance Experience Smart, driven colleagues

    Cons

    No culture Long hours Beaten down workforce

    Bank of America2019-03-25
  7. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

      I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      work/life balance, great leadership, room for growth

      Cons

      money is not market value in NYC

      Bank of America2019-03-22
    • "Business support function"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      BoA line of business such as UST and Merrill Lynch have a good reputation.

      Cons

      Redundant positions; limited centralized work functions.

      Advice to Management

      Centralize key functions that cross all business lines.

      Bank of America2019-04-25
    • Helpful (3)

      "Typical Banking Industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      - well known global bank - finance program allowed to rotate within several groups to support different products/services (I was fortunate enough to be in good groups, I know some of my peers were not.) - managers looked after me for performance review purposes - frequent finance events allowing analysts to network with higher-ups - really focuses on building the future leaders in finance

      Cons

      - already a well-established bank, so no innovative or creative projects - constant cost-cutting so computers run slow when dealing with large data - your typical corporate banking culture

      Advice to Management

      Time's changed. Technology is running the world. Maybe focus on creating a more vibrant, techie-culture in the offices and offer more room for growth. Little things like these will make a world of difference to your employees.

      Bank of America2019-03-13
    • "FMAP"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

        I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        BofA is a great place to work

        Cons

        BofA makes it easy to move around

        Bank of America2019-03-18
      Found 1101 reviews