Bank of America Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Bank of America Portland Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great potential, but meeting bottom lines mean that employees are overworked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Center Operations Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great financial benefits from 5% 401k match to banking benefits. 13 bank holidays plus vacation. Potential to advance. Opportunities to network.

    Cons

    Staffing levels are dwindling while work load increases. High pressure to reach sale goals. Micro managing is common from market level managers. Too many managers.

    Advice to Management

    Direction of the company is diluted with too many managers trying to dictate the market.

    Bank of America2017-09-15
  2. "Great Coworkers, Issues with Upper Managmeent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Employees I deal with at the actual financial center are helpful to each other and good spirited. Can't beat their flexibility with part-time scheduling and benefits.

    Cons

    Receive extremely little support from management above, sales goals are very high. I feel bad for our customers.

    Advice to Management

    Actually pay for enough people to staff your branches.

    Bank of America2017-08-08
  3. "Financial Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Center Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Benefits and vacation time. Consistent schedule. Fair compensation. 10 bank holidays a year

    Cons

    Poor systems integration, multiple changes constantly, being able to retain and hire staff. Usual big bank gig, for the most part big banks are the same.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in streamlining computer systems and making them work better. More support from upper management would be nice

    Bank of America2017-04-15
  4. "Mortgage Loan Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Coordinator in Hillsboro, OR
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits especially paternity leave is 4 months and paid. No other bank offers this.

    Cons

    There is too much company politics and too many changes that do not benefit the employees.

    Bank of America2017-02-22
  5. "Pretty Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor in Lake Oswego, OR

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    they have great benefits especially if you have children or family.

    Cons

    management is so-so sometimes and the atmosphere is a little bit too corporate at times.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Bank of America2017-01-28
  6. "Teller Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health benefits & discounted bus pass.

    Cons

    Working six days a week. No managerial support when needed. Manager would act like it was a big burden to come help when I had an issue or question. Then get very upset when I would make a mistake. She also accused me of being a witch.

    Advice to Management

    Promote managers who do not play favorites, or accuse people of being a witch.

    Bank of America2017-01-15
  7. "Client Services Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive and encouraging team, managers frequently check in with tellers with any questions or ways to improve customer relations, manageable work enviornment

    Cons

    Frequent changes in policies, sales driven, managers sometimes rush you to complete transaction with client

    Bank of America2016-10-26
  8. "ok company but lots of sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    team work, good schedule, managers are really nice. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes gets very busy, no bonus for the teller, lacking of communication.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employees more and don't just ask for sales.

    Bank of America2016-10-25
  9. "Support Specialist III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Specialist III in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good medical and dental benefits.

    Cons

    At lower job levels it is hard to advance.

    Bank of America2016-09-28
  10. "Very Corporate...Lots of benefits but relatively low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Closer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Lots of Benefits and 401K 100% match up to 5%.

    Cons

    Understaffed and overworked. Low base salary with very small bonus potential.

    Bank of America2016-09-27
Found 76 reviews