Bank of America Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Bank of America Portland Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Mlo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Tigard, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    They are one of the best customer service companies i ever worked for.

    Cons

    Work on mortgage Turn times .

    Advice to Management

    Hire the most qualified person not the top proformer in most cases.

    Bank of America2016-08-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mortgage Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time

    Pros

    one can make very good money at a fairly easy job.

    Cons

    the Loan center is shutting down Sept 30th, the only way to be an MLO is through the retail channels. No other positions in OREGON will pay near what MLO's make.

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate waste. Waste = management that is riding out their retirements and not contributing to the growth of the company. the CEO needs to go, as he's done very little to grow the company and only provide "corporate speak" to every answer he gives.

    Bank of America2016-07-19
  3. "Loan Closer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tigard, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Bank of America offers good benefits.

    Cons

    Some of their software could use improvement.

    Bank of America2016-07-16
  4. "BofA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great manager at branch. Offers opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Had to work on Saturday's.

    Advice to Management

    Lower fees. Angry customers are no fun.

    Bank of America2016-06-24
  5. "Vendor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Management in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good 401k plan: 5% match Good vacation plan Flexible work space with telecommute Mature Sr Leaders with strong ethics Good Health benefits

    Cons

    No promotion opportunities, must leave the company and return in new role if hope to get promoted Change for changes sake. No value behind the change besides the new Exec trying to make a mark. It gives us all whiplash with constant Exec changes Promote Diversity but employees know it's only to check a box to make it on the "100 Top Diverse co's" for free advertisement. If all of your low paying, part time positions are...

    Show More
    Bank of America2016-06-23
  6. "Personal banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    To help people succeed financially. Whether it's with your accounts to your mortgage and help you with your insurance and my goal are to help create a financial structure

    Cons

    Not everyone is ready to be able start a financial planning.it is so hard to know that not everyone can be helped

    Advice to Management

    I am in the business of helping people save money, build a financial goals, and structure their accounts today to fit their every day financial needs tomorrow

    Bank of America2016-04-19
  7. "it is an ok.job for.being a teller. the salary is low, but it is not so busy unless is rush hour."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank of America Teller in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    accumulating banking experience, and customer service experience. get to meet different type of people.

    Cons

    low salary. need to sale credit cards all the time.

    Advice to Management

    they need to pay tellers more.

    Bank of America2016-03-31
  8. "Lots of opportunities, hierarchical, you need to manage up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I had tremendous flexibility in my job; final manager was very supportive (as in "Why are you bothering me asking if you can order a new server; if you need it, order it.")

    Cons

    Because BofA is so large, it is important to meet and learn about your manager and his/her peers and his supervisor. Always manager expectations up. Not as easy as in a small company. I was in Portland; my last 3 managers were in San Francisco.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to an employee's preferred career path and mentor high-achievers on what they need to do to advance.

    Bank of America2016-03-16
  9. "Teller Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Teller in Portland, OR
    Recommends

    I worked at Bank of America part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Hours that worked with my home life

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Bank of America2016-03-03
  10. "AVP, Financial Center Manager II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Center Manager II in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Outstanding opportunity for promotion with numerous methods to contribute, gain exposure and lead from your role. Base pay is above market with fantastic medical, dental and retirement benefits. Company highly values a culture of 360 degree coaching. The very best most intuitive technology of any bank I know.

    Cons

    While funding incentives are offered, a team must achieve higher than "excellent" to earn. A manager can have their entire team earn incentive but the managers will not. They hold too much hope in their technology to cover their skeleton crews. Often will work 6 day weeks.

    Advice to Management

    None, retail banking is experiencing wild changes that have not yet settled. Leadership all the way to the top is sound and easy to follow.

    Bank of America2016-01-16
Found 76 reviews