Bank of America Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Bank of America Portland Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
34 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America

    Pros

    Predictable schedule, professional environment, fast paced and lots of employee benefits, including tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Work every single Saturday, and company is undergoing a lot of change which may difficult for some to handle.

    Advice to Management

    Overall you're doing a good job. Rotate Saturday shifts instead of just giving the full weekend to tenured associates every time. It's not fair to force employees to work 6 days a week, 52 weeks of the year.

    Bank of America2015-08-28
  2. "Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Earning a bonus every quarter

    Cons

    Too many changes creating a major work load for the same pay. Upper management micromanage

    Advice to Management

    Let us don our thing. The big turn around is do to upper management micromanaging. Because of this I'm currently looking for a new job. And I have been here for 8 years.

    Bank of America2015-08-22
  3. "Working at BofA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Big company, lost of bennifts. Many different locations. Lots of giving back to the community. They really care about their staff. I met some of the most caring people when I worked there.

    Cons

    Lots of policy changes and way too often. Once you learn one things they change it. It can be hard to connect with managers, many of them are in different states and on different time zones. I wish there had been more room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more freedom to make their once decisions. Let people contribute their own ideas and see if the are new ways doing things, there banking system is a mess. When it comes to growth it takes forever for interviews to happen.

    Bank of America2015-08-23
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    If you are seeking to move up, Bank of America will help you reach your goals. It's easier to move up if you are in a greater metropolitan area or are a 100% available to move to a different location to take a position.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work on Saturdays which can be six days a week at times.

    Bank of America2015-06-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tellers are not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The company offer great benefits.

    Cons

    They pay very little and as you move up the pay increase is absolutely ridiculous. The next step up from a teller would be to become an SSS which stands for Sales and Service Specialist and after that to be a banker. They have eliminated the Teller Supervisor position accross the US. After 6 years with bank of america I started at 10/hr and I am still making below 13/hr. Management changes a lot and if sales arent great...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more tellers! The lines are out the door and a lot of time you schedule less people then what is needed to run the branch. Customers are not happy! Be realistic!

    Bank of America2015-02-17
  6. "I became an employee during their acquisition of Countrywide Financial. Same position, same salary now different bank."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor II in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    They have a thorough review process.

    Cons

    They are hierarchical company. Therefore, their leaders do not listen to their front line staff directly but hire tons of middle management to be the ones that do. Too many messages being passed around and getting mismanaged, dis-guarded all together or often skewed before it even makes it to the executive table.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to all levels of staff below you, not just the level directly below you.

    Bank of America2015-02-16
  7. "It's just OKAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teller in Gresham, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits! Great opportunities for Students.

    Cons

    I've seen some big changes through the years. There was a time we had to pay for drinking water! Yeap that's right. They no longer have company picnics in the Summer. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Better Incentives!

    Bank of America2014-10-20
  8. "Too focused on sales and not on employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller Operations Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Okay pay at level. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of promises of promotions but only mattered who you knew. Other people within the company who we're 'buddies' would get the jobs. This is true for many locations and for a lot of my peers.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your employees and less on your numbers. The numbers will fall in to place if your employees feel valued and supported.

    Bank of America2014-08-18
  9. "We're better when we are connected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The company is one of the top employers in the US. The company is well established and is not going anywhere anytime soon. The company has a rich history. It offers a lot of benefits to the employees and encourage community interaction.

    Cons

    The cons are at organizational level and not necessary at the company. Therefore, one organization or vertical may have a different culture on employee satisfaction that is better than others. The company is so big that it takes time for the culture to spread around. In the mean time, employees may experience frustration on promotion, salary increase, and other culture related elements.

    Advice to Management

    Stop asking the questions of which you already know the answer. When things are bad, work at it instead of making promises.

    Bank of America2014-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in The Dalles, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Manager was very helpful and supportive

    Cons

    No Flexibility in work schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the lazy individuals faster it makes those who work hard have to work harder and get burned out faster!!

    Bank of America2014-07-15
Found 76 reviews