Bank of America Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Software Engineer

Bank of America Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
61 Ratings
  1. "Really good company culture professional team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer In Test in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Respect each other. Close independently in the team.

    Cons

    I do not know if there is any cons.

    Bank of America2018-04-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Highly corporate, inflexible environment. No room for freedom or ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Addison, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big name looks good on a resume. There is some opportunity to work with technologies you may not have had exposure to before. Benefits are alright, though you would expect more from a big company. Compensation is in line with the average, but money doesn't seem to be a problem for them. They are a bank. Good work/life balance. You basically put in your 8 hours and go home. There are no rewards for... extra effort or "going the extra mile", in fact, they actively discourage it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Most teams are scattered all over the place so you never work face-to-face. Everything is phone and Skype. I worked there a little over a year and never even met my boss. Very restrictive. It's "my way or the wrong way". They only want devs who can follow precise instructions. No room for ideas, suggestions, or any deviation. You do exactly the task, the way they tell you. Nothing more or less. Dull,... boring work. Most of the applications are already built, so you'll spend all your time working on other peoples code. No opportunity to carve your own space there. Turf wars and company politics are rampant. If you're new, be prepared to do the work no one else wants to do. You'll get put on bad project with other bad developers and bad leaders. Don't go to HR about anything! They talk a big game about open door policy and all that, but my experience was just the opposite. Verbally abusive managers often skated with no consequences while anyone who submits any sort of complaint gets punished.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm not sure management even knows what is going on in the trenches or if they would even care. There are so many layers of management and every layer is it's own little fiefdom. Its a super cut-throat environment of big time corporate politics.

    Bank of America2019-08-27
  3. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really sure about it

    Cons

    Not much work life balance

    Bank of America2019-08-26
  4. "Deplorable Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Sadly, none to speak of

    Cons

    Abusiveness, Incompetence, Mediocrity and Full of Hubris...

    Advice to Management

    Fire Yourselves...

    Bank of America2019-01-30
  5. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, flexible work timings

    Cons

    Quality of engineers can be improved. Interview process should be more generic.

    Bank of America2018-07-10
  6. "Lot of changes happened in last year to move to Agile adoption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America

    Pros

    Lot of projects that need to be upgraded and so brings challenges.

    Cons

    Since there are lot of reorganization happening it is still trying to make the right call as far technology direction

    Advice to Management

    There are too many projects with very less annual budget and so not sure about future

    Bank of America2018-07-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company .Good work Culture and Benefits and Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Bench concept is very annoying.

    Advice to Management

    Attrition rate is unpredictable

    Bank of America2018-05-07
  8. "Senior SAP BI Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer(SAP BI/BW) in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bank of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Agile methodology to perform changes and also scrum calls to execute project plan and small change request faster.

    Cons

    SAP BI/BW is used only for Finance Modules Such as GL,AP .

    Bank of America2018-04-06
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for more than a year

    Pros

    Have very good work -personal life balance.

    Cons

    Doesnt have very good trending technologies

    Bank of America2017-12-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America

    Pros

    Decent hourly rates and salaries for software developers

    Cons

    No communication, team is scattered over US without any cohesion and doesn't effectively work together, rules and regulations are strict and often not conveyed properly (until you've broken them), 3 people claimed to be my manager, one was just a senior team member, who gave me misinformation that resulted in me literally being cussed out by another management-ish employee (never learned his position) on the phone,... spoke ill of other team members, was very rude and insulting, and forced team members to lie to clients. Office environment is set up like a more drab and depressing Office Space workplace - all grey, wall to wall cubicles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    just maintain clear communication

    Bank of America2017-10-11
Found 114 reviews