Bank of America Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Bank of America Software Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 244 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
118 Ratings
  1. "Overall great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    pays a bit below tech companies

    Bank of America2019-09-19
  2. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing technology. Freedom to learn.

    Cons

    Slow growth. Really bad bonuses.

    Bank of America2019-09-16
  3. "Inclusive culture, good pay, flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive culture, good pay, flexible hours

    Cons

    Scattered team, lots of phone meetings

    Bank of America2019-08-22
  4. "Highly corporate, inflexible environment. No room for freedom or ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Addison, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big name looks good on a resume. There is some opportunity to work with technologies you may not have had exposure to before. Benefits are alright, though you would expect more from a big company. Compensation is in line with the average, but money doesn't seem to be a problem for them. They are a bank. Good work/life balance. You basically put in your 8 hours and go home. There are no rewards for... extra effort or "going the extra mile", in fact, they actively discourage it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Most teams are scattered all over the place so you never work face-to-face. Everything is phone and Skype. I worked there a little over a year and never even met my boss. Very restrictive. It's "my way or the wrong way". They only want devs who can follow precise instructions. No room for ideas, suggestions, or any deviation. You do exactly the task, the way they tell you. Nothing more or less. Dull,... boring work. Most of the applications are already built, so you'll spend all your time working on other peoples code. No opportunity to carve your own space there. Turf wars and company politics are rampant. If you're new, be prepared to do the work no one else wants to do. You'll get put on bad project with other bad developers and bad leaders. Don't go to HR about anything! They talk a big game about open door policy and all that, but my experience was just the opposite. Verbally abusive managers often skated with no consequences while anyone who submits any sort of complaint gets punished.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm not sure management even knows what is going on in the trenches or if they would even care. There are so many layers of management and every layer is it's own little fiefdom. Its a super cut-throat environment of big time corporate politics.

    Bank of America2019-08-27
  5. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really sure about it

    Cons

    Not much work life balance

    Bank of America2019-08-26
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Quality Assurance Lead in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary Helps community Offer volunteer opportunities Good benefits

    Cons

    Not many Roles are more specialized so not a lot of variety in the role.

    Advice to Management

    Let employees travel occassionally when teams are spread out.

    Bank of America2019-06-06
  7. "Good work environment if you are citizen or have a green card"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Architect in Pennington, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extensive control over design and flexibility to try and see ideas in kanban manner

    Cons

    Very selective when comes to adopting new technologies in market

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing good and be a little thoughtful about H1b resources. We get enough sympathy but thats not really helping us.

    Bank of America2019-06-01
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Indian nepotism has to stop!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generous time off policy especially paternity leave

    Cons

    Nepotism Can't move up if you are non Indian

    Advice to Management

    Stop allowing your Indian middle management to make hiring decisions. You say that you are about diversity and inclusion. Diversity does not mean allowing one group of people to hire their friends and relatives. They have inherent trust issues to begin with. Most do not know how to program correctly as I have fixed many their coding issues. Yet I cannot move up because I am non Indian and they do not trust outsiders.... I have literally seen a coworker of mine who is an awful programmer get hired over me because he was Indian.

    Show More
    Bank of America2019-07-03
  9. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time

    Pros

    Cool pay and good benefits

    Cons

    management can be handled better.

    Bank of America2019-05-05
  10. "Software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing to report on this

    Bank of America2019-05-03
Found 244 reviews