Bank of America Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for project manager

Bank of America Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
122 Ratings
  1. "Big bank, replete with pluses and minuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President - Senior Project Manager in Calabasas, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional organization. Atmosphere is very collegial. Lots of good people working there

    Cons

    Subject to all the same big-business inanity as other large companies. When profits drop 20 basis points, they stop providing coffee cups, spoons and sugar for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Get in touch with what the working employees three levels down from you are experiencing.

    Bank of America2018-03-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Too big and too many layers of ineffective management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President - Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary and many benefits.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic, too many poorly-trained managers and confusing structure.

    Bank of America2018-04-24
  3. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people, well run (mostly) front line units and great educational opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of cohesive vision in the end state of the consolidation into shared services many of the technology and operational functions - some lack of transparency depending on where you work. "Old guard" (those there more than 20 years) stifling movement and high performers to encourage departures while they understandably try to find work for themselves and those who have not kept up and/or volunteered to take on more... work in the last few years. Distinct separation of those who are legacy bank versus those who have more relevant exposure to working in a current business environment. Political acumen important but perhaps too important for a bank trying to keep up in this fast changing business environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep reaching through the organization and look for talent that has not necessarily been at the bank for a long time. You will be fine in bringing in more outside, fresh, perspectives. Skip levels and be committed to it to bring out others who may be covered up by the many layers still there.

    Bank of America2018-04-02
  4. "Average workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exactly what you would expect from a corporate workplace.

    Cons

    All about the bottom dollar.

    Advice to Management

    Less red tape to get things done in IT.

    Bank of America2018-03-27
  5. "Happy associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule and hours, opportunities are endless, great networking capabilities

    Cons

    Organization is very layered and sometimes challenged to get things done

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on career growth and development for top performers

    Bank of America2018-02-05
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They gave an awesome opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours can be long

    Bank of America2018-01-24
  7. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Effective Project Management methodologies are mature, disciplined and supported throughout the organizations of which I was employed.

    Cons

    Must have keen ability to multi-task to be effective.

    Bank of America2018-01-12
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I prefer working for larger companies. BofA was very professional. In spite of its size, I never felt lost in the shuffle. I worked as a project manager, and my supervisor was excellent even though she worked in Boston. I like how BofA provided lots of compliance training to ensure that all employees were keeping up with the latest standards.

    Cons

    I think the biggest con was running into people from other groups whose egos had grown a bit too big.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, and keep the egos of some of the managers in check.

    Bank of America2017-12-06
  9. "Toxic Environment!! Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Technical Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for more than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good about working at Bank of America. I would never refer anyone to work at this horrible company. Run away as fast as you can.

    Cons

    Horrible management, they treat contractors like crap, the managers are unprofessional and have no real managerial skills. Management is out of control. I cannot say enough about how awful this place is. DO NOT WORK THERE!! Management has created a cancerous and toxic environment. Physical and verbal abuse is normal behavior for this group and this behavior is unacceptable and unprofessional. If there was... anything less than a zero rating then I would certainly give it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start treating contractors with respect and dignity otherwise everyone will continue to leave. The full time employees are not treated very well either. Stop the yelling, screaming, temper tantrums and child-like behavior. This is a cancerous and toxic environment. This behavior is unacceptable and unprofessional and should reported to the media for thorough investigation.

    Bank of America2018-01-05
  10. "Assistant Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the fringe benefits. 16 paid time off for maternity and paternity leave

    Cons

    Very big corporation. Lots of people.

    Bank of America2017-11-02
Found 244 reviews