Bank of Hawaii Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bank of Hawaii Chairman, President, and CEO Peter S. Ho
Peter S. Ho
99 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other companies(in 22 reviews)

  • "low pay, long hours, stressful environment(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyable experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lockbox Specialist in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work ethic and teamwork are amazing. Many new skills that can be learned here.

    Cons

    The learning curve is a little steep and there is not much opportunity for growth in lockbox itself.

    Bank of Hawaii2020-05-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It will never get better"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone knows the company. Benefits are good, but not worth the stress the bank puts you through.

    Cons

    Things only change for the worse. A lot of good people have left, people who have worked here for a long time. Instead of reflecting on why they left and make the company better, we justify them leaving as they weren’t good anyway and talk down the achievements they’ve accomplished over the years. A truly unappreciative mindset.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2020-05-15

    Bank of Hawaii Response

    May 16, 2020Bank of Hawaii - People Services

    Thanks for your feedback. We continuously look for ways to improving our workplace. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please email ContactHR@boh.com

  3. "Great people here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits. Strong company culture and nice people. Generally this is a great place to be and make a career. Feels like you are part of the bank ohana and part of the team.

    Cons

    Sometimes a competitive and intense vibe can be felt from the top levels of management.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2020-03-19
  4. "Teller"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, good pay, good coworkers

    Cons

    none, all is good. Great company

    Bank of Hawaii2020-03-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "11 YEARS WITH BANKOH"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Support in Honolulu Landing, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with a few exceptions. Very good training program.

    Cons

    When I was laid off, they ask me to sign a resignation letter, really. When your being laid off you don't need to resign. I didn't sign the letter. Be prepared to be laid off after 10+ years. They would not offer a referral even though I had high annual ratings from my supervisor. Bankoh is a well know company so I called a buddy and had two job offers within two day. Job can require weekends and 24*7 coverage, the compensation for this isn't really worth it for me.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2020-02-18

    Bank of Hawaii Response

    February 19, 2020Bank of Hawaii - People Services

    Thanks for your feedback. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to email us at ContactHR@boh.com

  6. "Relationship Banker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker 

    I have been working at Bank of Hawaii part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities for growth and development.

    Cons

    Hours for the in-store branches can be overwhelming. Open everyday except Christmas and New Years day.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2020-01-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bureaucratic and difficult to advance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Honolulu, HI
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They value senior experience at the low to mid-tiers though (never seen so many officers working entry level jobs). Very good job security.

    Cons

    Low pay but on par with other banks in Hawaii. There isn't a set path to how to advance your career and you basically have to wait for opportunities (someone above you royally screwed up) or retirements. I don't think this is a good place for a young professional to cut their teeth because so much of how they do things is backwards and 10 years behind the mainland. As a result a lot of the higher level hirings have a mainland bias because they want someone on the cutting edge who can help them pull forward and innovate.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2020-01-23

    Bank of Hawaii Response

    January 24, 2020Strategic Business Partner

    Thank you for sharing your views with us. We continuously look for ways to improve our workplace, including creating a positive, innovative and collaborative environment where our employees can succeed. We encourage you to discuss your concerns with us and can be reached at ContactHR@boh.com.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "You'll be glad you left"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outcomes Research Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have met some of the best people in my lifetime by working here. You can create real lasting relationships if you're lucky. Some of the corporate engagement activities are truly a blast as long as you work downtown.

    Cons

    The culture at Bank of Hawaii is truly toxic. While there are a handful of kind souls, a lot of people will treat you like trash and lie and manipulate others behind your back. They underpay you, and are pretty political. You'll likely only move up through favoritism and sucking up to the right people. There are some areas that are slightly better, but I advise anyone to never join their Branch Division. And because it's banking, it's the ultimate boys club.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2020-01-30

    Bank of Hawaii Response

    January 31, 2020Bank of Hawaii - People Services

    While we are disappointed to read about your experience, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We do work hard to create a positive workplace for our employees, and will share your thoughts with the appropriate department. Please feel free to reach out to us at ContactHR@boh.com so we can learn more and discuss further.

  9. "Great Company, Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability, yet very open to change and evolution of business.

    Cons

    Hard to shake the bureaucracy ingrained into the company over 100+ years.

    Continue reading
    Bank of Hawaii2019-12-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "In-Store Banking Specialist Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kaneohe, HI

    I worked at Bank of Hawaii part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good Co-workers -Relationships with some customers

    Cons

    -Pressured to make sales despite questionable benefit to customers

    Bank of Hawaii2019-10-28

    Bank of Hawaii Response

    October 29, 2019Strategic Business Partner

    We appreciate you sharing your views with us. We strive to create the best possible experience for our customers, in which honest, appropriate and accurate information is shared based on their preferences. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns and encourage you to contact us at ContactHR@boh.com.

Found 174 reviews