Bank of Ireland Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Bank of Ireland Group Chief Executive Officer  Francesca McDonagh
Francesca McDonagh
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, generally good work life balance(in 52 reviews)

  • "Good people, a decent pension plan and a fairly supportive company when it comes to part-time education(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not enough career progression in the company(in 23 reviews)

  • "Loss of expertise amoung senior management due to senior staff being offered VR(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      Mar 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Stamford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Benefits and vacation policy.

      Cons

      No room for growth in the US

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Friendly Place Low Pay

      Feb 14, 2020 - Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very Flexible Work Hours; People are Friendly; Positive Work Environment is a big focus. This is a GREAT place for someone starting out their career.

      Cons

      Pay is on the lower end

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience with BOI

      Jul 10, 2015 -  in Madison, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was an intern under the Retail Banking division. As an intern, I was given relevant work and the freedom to work on my tasks. I also had friendly and helpful colleagues who taught me the basics of the job. I like that the relationships/communication within the division were not very hierarchical. Furthermore, I was not expected to work overtime and could leave if I had completed my tasks.

      Cons

      Due to the financial crisis, the workforce had to be reduced in the following years and a number of positions were removed entirely. Thus, sometimes I could not contact the person with the most knowledge about a certain task.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Bank of Ireland is changing for the better.

      Mar 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Significant & exciting change agenda Exciting times ahead for the business Interesting mix of new technology driving how the bank does its business Bank very supportive of staff doing further education & upskilling

      Cons

      Some resisters still have influence, especially some of the longer serving staff Middle managers need to up their game & change management abilities

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Learning Experience

      Nov 5, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Did my internship there so teaching was very prevalent. All departments I worked taught me a lot. Moving around was encouraged.

      Cons

      I cannot think of any cons of working at this company. The weather in Ireland is very cold so that is why I decided to leave the country and therefore the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Very good

      Jun 21, 2017 - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible with a work life balance. Able to move around within the company without feeling guilty. Great company for single parents.

      Cons

      Development opportunities are not available to all employees only to some. It's hard to move up as an executive assistant

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not happy with experience at Bank of Ireland.

      Oct 19, 2009 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very Casual Environment. Easy to communicate on a personal level with management.

      Cons

      Lack of Strategic vision of management that limits future growth of busines. Due to this lack of vision, I feel that the company long term success has been greatly compromised and therefore the future growth of the employees (raises, training, learning, etc.) has been reduced much lower than it should have been.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Intern

      May 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good enviroment fun experience and nice people

      Cons

      fast pace work hard and not much of a break

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Analyst

      Jul 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere. Supportive of your professional development. Sensitive to work-life balance.

      Cons

      Projects can take some time to complete.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company benefits, nice employees

      Dec 15, 2014 -  in Stamford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, good location

      Cons

      Salaries not in line with some positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 681 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bank of Ireland Job Seekers

    Associate, Leverage Finance
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bank of Ireland? Share Your Experiences

    Bank of Ireland logo
    or