Bank of the West Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Bank of the West President & CEO Nandita Bakhshi
Nandita Bakhshi
268 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "upper management in the finance side has no clue what they are doing(in 47 reviews)

  • "Overly focused on sales goals at the expense of customer satisfaction(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work!!!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of the West full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-Life-Balance, Diversity and Inclusion and the bank cares about the environment

    Cons

    Comp has been a challenge but they are getting better!

    Bank of the West Response

    July 2, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! Being a Great Place to Work is one of the cornerstones of our organization and a key to growing our business for the future. We really embrace our values of Diversity & Inclusion and caring for the Environment.

  2. "Great Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Banker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of the West part-time

    Pros

    Great to there employees, benefits are awsome

    Cons

    Outdated and slow systems that lead to transactions taking too long to process


  3. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of the West full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial spirit is alive here at Bank of the West/BNPP!

    Cons

    Prioritizing key programs can be an issue for the organization.

    Bank of the West Response

    August 5, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Being a Great Place to Work is one of the cornerstones of our organization and key to growing our business for the future. As we move through a period of growth and transformation, we are hopeful that our whole company will feel positive impact with the future of key programs and initiatives.

  4. "Organization that truly cares about its employees"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bank of the West part-time

    Pros

    flexible and caring. truly cares about employee's personal growth.

    Cons

    protracted lending decisions for difficult credit stories.

    Bank of the West Response

    August 3, 2020

    Thank you for your review! We Care about our team members and our leadership team has created a team focused on enhancing the team member experience. We will certainly share the feedback on the protracted lending decisions for difficult credit stories. We appreciate you taking the time to review Bank of the West!

  5. "Senior Business Systems Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of the West full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work and good work culture

    Cons

    None to describe at this point

    Bank of the West Response

    July 31, 2020

    We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We work extensively to create an environment where contributions are valued and team members are recognized for their work.

  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker III in Cheyenne, WY

    I worked at Bank of the West full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management us amazing to work with!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Bank of the West Response

    July 27, 2020Executive Recruiter, VP

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a positive working experience at Bank of the West. Wishing you much success in your future endeavors!

  7. "Culturally Diverse Inclusive work place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Banking Relationship Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of the West full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong communication channel from CEO

    Cons

    Multiple system platforms for information

    Continue reading

    Bank of the West Response

    July 24, 2020Executive Recruiter, VP

    Thank you for your review. We totally agree. As a growing bank going through a significant transformation this is an area we are focused on as critical to our growth and we have invested significant capital in improving our IT infrastructure.

  8. "Teller"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 

    I worked at Bank of the West full-time

    Pros

    Overall positive experience, great training provided.

    Cons

    Salary was low for experience

    Bank of the West Response

    July 31, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! We love that you had a positive experience at Bank of the West and took the time to recommend Bank of the West. Being a Great Place to Work is one of the cornerstones of our organization and key to growing our business for the future.

  9. "International bank with small town feel"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private Client Advisor in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of the West full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous amount of transparency. Environmentally focused, specializing in business owners, international clientele, and farmers with a holistic approach to client needs

    Cons

    Service agreements between departments need to be ironed out.

    Continue reading
  10. "Opened checking, savings, money market and certificates of deposit accounts"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Universal Banker in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of the West full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quality products, good customer service

    Cons

    Always short staff, not connivance for customer

    Bank of the West Response

    July 2, 2020

    Thank you for the review! Appreciate the feedback around our products and good customer service. (Totally agree!) Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Experience team to provide additional detailed feedback on your product experience.

Found 1083 reviews