KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Bank of the West

Part of BNP Paribas
Engaged Employer

Bank of the West

Add a Review

Bank of the West Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,398 of over 1,497 reviews

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Bank of the West President & CEO Nandita Bakhshi
Nandita Bakhshi
444 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work/life balance encouraged throughout the Bank(in 84 reviews)

  • "good benefits, great networking opportunities, ability to learn and grow(in 67 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "poor support from upper management(in 50 reviews)

  • "They push sales goals way too much and put too much stress on employees to hit these goals(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Bank of the West and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Bank of the West helped me to take my career to the next level.

      Oct 22, 2020 - Senior Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, lots of training, I like my coworkers

      Cons

      Very low interest rate environment, FinTech competition, credit losses from Covid-19 recession (of course this all holds true to the entire retail banking industry, not just Bank of the West)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We Develop is a core value within the Bank. We have programs such as About Me, Individual Development Plans, and mid-year reviews designed to help team members develop their skills and expose them to opportunities within the bank.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great culture - diverse mgmt team

      Jun 2, 2021 - Vice President in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture Customer Focus Technology Welcoming team members

      Cons

      Integration with NY CIB is going to kill the culture

      1 person found this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! Being a Great Place to Work is one of the cornerstones of our organization and a key to growing our business for the future.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      ANNIVERSARY

      May 17, 2021 - Commercial Loan Consultant in Fargo, ND
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been all over the U.S. and Europe, for the U.S. this is the best company I have seen and worked for. I enjoy the freedom to explore other departments, the company information and updates made available as well as that the all employees are accountable and encouraged to improve themselves knowing that all are equal and will be given the same options regardless of level if they are qualified.

      Cons

      found some management issues with encouragement and willingness to promote and train employees who have heavy accents and different ways of thinking that do not match expectations. I have not seen tools to address this like we have for other issues so those folks get left behind the training and improvement curve have also seen our recruiters not forward qualified applicants because there resumes, letters or social media do not meet the expected formats or footprint. they should think outside the box and take the time to find or ask for the information instead of determining it is to much effort and just dropping them from the recruitment pool. we lose quite of few internal promotion opportunities with that.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We Develop is a core value within the Bank. We have programs such as About Me, Individual Development Plans, and mid-year reviews designed to help team members develop their skills and expose them to opportunities within the bank.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Could be a great place to work

      Jul 25, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefit package Some departments allow you to work 100% remote Encourage development and upward mobility Company is focused on diversity and contributions to the community and the environment

      Cons

      Employ Agile Methodology for Projects and stick with it Squash silo mentality amongst groups working towards the same goals Make salary and bonus incentives more competitive in order to reduce turnover Listen to employees responses to GPS Some managers really do care about their employees, but hit hurdles with their managers and HR

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We work extensively to create an environment where contributions are valued and team members are recognized for their work.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Jul 25, 2021 - Cash Management Specialist II in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room for advancement, friendly team, good company values

      Cons

      Compensation could be higher based on experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on this topic. There are many factors that determine team member salary increases. Our executive team and Compensation professionals work, in conjunction with BNPP, to carefully set our salary increase targets, while keeping within our operational budget.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Decent Company

      Jul 27, 2021 - Relationship Banker in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good to grow your career

      Cons

      Product are not so competitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We Develop is a core value within the Bank. We have programs such as About Me, Individual Development Plans, and mid-year reviews designed to help team members develop their skills and expose them to opportunities within the bank.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible Culture, Toxic Atmosphere

      Jun 24, 2021 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I met a few diamonds in the rough environment here. There are some good people within the company, but most are exhausted and worn out. The good ones move on quickly.

      Cons

      Horrible work environment. They stack up the odds against and bet on you to fail. Every one is working 60+ hours per work and being told it’s never enough. People are praised when they are online made into the night or weekends. Absolutely no work/life balance. It’s discouraged that you even take time to focus on yourself or family. Every person at this company is doing the job of 2-4 people and burning out quickly. It’s unmanageable and the expectations are unrealistic. The leads and senior management spread gossip and lies about you to make themselves look better. They don’t care about anyone but their own self. Good luck making it. If lucky enough to make it through the annual layoffs (they say they never do it then do it every year) that is.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Pretty Good Company

      Jul 13, 2021 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good as is the immediately vested 6% company match on 401K contributions

      Cons

      Depending on the Division, management is horrendous. They champion themselves as ahead of the pack in diversity and women managers but that only holds true in the highest roles. In the trenches, women are supervisors while men are managers; and, in departments where the majority of employees are women, men manage the group. They are very out of touch when it comes to women middle managers.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We know that people remain engaged when working for strong leaders. Our Talent Development team regularly enrolls leaders in our advanced leadership development programs, to keep improving the skills of our leaders.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      ERG success

      Jul 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are leading the way in Omaha in the areas of diversity, equity and inclusion

      Cons

      There really are none, period

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We work extensively to create an environment where contributions are valued and team members are recognized for their work.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great people, Too many politics

      Jul 21, 2021 - CyberSecurity Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good, pay is ok.

      Cons

      Politics and "playing the game" seems necessary to go anywhere.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bank of the West Response

      We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review! We Care about our team members and offer a variety of benefit options which allow our team members the opportunity to tailor plans to meet their individual needs.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,398 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bank of the West Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bank of the West? Share Your Experiences

    or