Bankers Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

Bankers Financial Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Bankers Financial CEO John Strong (no image)
John Strong
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High turnover in recent months in all levels of the organization(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are core individuals that want to fix the issues, but upper management that just don't see the problems(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work/life balance, benefits and people

    Cons

    the best part of waking up, is maxwell in your cup.

    Bankers Financial2018-12-13
  2. "A wonderful company to start with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people, flexibility, listens and cares about their employees.

    Cons

    Poor compensation, not a modern business structure, cheap, poor management, work-a-holic type structure.

    Advice to Management

    Give opportunities to employees already on the team rather than new ones.

    Bankers Financial2019-08-26
  3. "I was wrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teammate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wish there was something other than NONE

    Cons

    Folks are blinded. Do not believe anything especially from leadership. They are blinded by what they think they can accomplish, but won't given their inexperience.

    Advice to Management

    Leave it to those with experience.

    Bankers Financial2019-08-29
  4. "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Data Entry in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enough work to stay busy.

    Cons

    * Agency sent me with temp pay $12 advising it would be $15 when hired permanently. The pay remained at $12 when hired and I stuck with it thinking $15 would arrive with annual raise. The raise was forty cents. With such raises, would have taken me 7.5 years to reach the promised $15. * Daily dark cloud of a co-worker bad-mouthing me even though I had zero contact with her continued for a year after I reported to... HR. At the time the forty cent insult arrived, the bad-mouthing had revved up. Enough. I quit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop believing a person just because she gives you a sorta sad, sorta sweet face with her stories. Stop insulting people with forty cent raises.

    Bankers Financial2019-06-27
  5. "Wild Ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Bankers Financial

    Pros

    Family Oriented Company, great employee enrichment programs

    Cons

    No room for growth, upper management lacks professionalism

    Advice to Management

    Please please please train your supervisors to be more professional

    Bankers Financial2019-05-18
  6. "So far so good but there is a big issue not being addressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Team Culture, everyone appears to be working well together. Great perks, nice holiday party and holiday food baskets for employees. Just enacted a bonus structure that goes by years of service. 401K match is great 50% of the first 8%, actually unheard of anywhere else in this region. Food trucks visits 3/4 days a week.

    Cons

    Bathrooms are nasty, don't get me wrong they are clean but do not have ventilation so they smell like doodoo all day long. This is a nasty and disgusting issue and is probably unhealthy with all of the people working here. In addition, the smell gets so bad you can smell it in the hallway on your way out of the building through the front entrance. You can imagine this should be easily fixed but hasn't as of yet.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Management: Please fix bathroom exhaust. Advice to New Employees: Make sure you potty at home before coming to work.

    Bankers Financial2019-01-16
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bankers Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and work place environment

    Cons

    sometimes have to work late to get the job done

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work

    Bankers Financial2018-10-19
  8. "shared services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Financial full-time

    Pros

    Very fast learning curve - you are responsible for a lot of things

    Cons

    There is no training provided

    Bankers Financial2018-10-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multiple Positions in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started as an intern. I was able to work on a lot of interesting projects in the insurance vertical and they did a great job of keeping me challenged while providing guidance. I worked there for about 3 years after my internship, was promoted a couple of different times and got to work with a lot of amazing people along the way. If you get an offer to do an internship, you should take it and see where it takes... you- work hard, ask a lot of questions and offer to do more work and you’ll be rewarded. I can say that the experience at Bankers helped build a solid foundation that I’ll be able to use throughout the rest of my career. Overall, it was a great place to start and I’m thankful for the experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of the cons that other people mention are typical in a lot of organizations, antiquated systems, disagreement upon management, favoritism, etc... There are some senior managers that have little experience outside of Bankers which can make change difficult - this doesn’t necessarily make them wrong or unqualified, but definitely stubborn.

    Advice to Management

    Overall, you were doing an adequate job when I left. I’d put some more pressure on the underperforming businesses and streamline the antiquated processes/systems. Force senior management to focus on bringing the company into the 21st century. Your people can only provide an excellent customer experience so long as the consumer still wants to deal with people... the consumer mindset is changing ever quickly and I’m... afraid you may be left behind.

    Show More
    Bankers Financial2018-06-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Financial full-time

    Pros

    Diversity, job growth, fun, competitive pay

    Cons

    Communication and lack of structure within certain verticals

    Bankers Financial2018-05-30
Found 91 reviews