Cover image for Banner Health
Logo
See All Photos

Banner Health

Engaged Employer

Banner Health

Add a Review

Banner Health Employee Reviews about "nurse"

Updated Nov 3, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,161 of over 3K reviews
3.3
56% Recommend to a Friend
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
39% Approve of CEO

Found 32 of over 3K reviews

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
Peter S. Fine
1,298 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

81.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Banner Health~11958
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good and they are changing the way healthcare is being delivered to their patients(in 260 reviews)
  • "Being hired at Banner Health saved my life.. people first and the people are great!(in 146 reviews)
  • "I had great coworkers and a manager that made themselves available to us for resources and help with issues when they arose.(in 112 reviews)
  • "Great staff and nurses.(in 59 reviews)
  • "They are patient focused and the scheduling is flexible.(in 44 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management tried to transfer and they approved it twice only for it to fall through(in 191 reviews)
  • "pay is low for medical assistants they start office back office medical assistants the same pay rate as medical records with no experience.(in 168 reviews)
  • "An example of management's poor leadership is as follows.(in 53 reviews)
  • "certain upper management give you promises that they know they can not keep.(in 45 reviews)
  • "Low salary when compared to other hospitals in the area.(in 26 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Banner Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "nurse"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    RN

    Apr 3, 2016 - RN Staff Nurse in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my job as a RN. I work with a great team and I have a passion working in the PCU, Tele, and ICU setting. I have plenty of experience working with Neuro patients and I am ready to pursue my career.

    Cons

    I have no cons working as a registered nurse is a true passion. I am looking to pursue my career as a clinical education specialist. I am working toward a Masters in Nursing education at ASU and I am ready to put my deree to work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Dangerous ratios

    Sep 9, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Sun City, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great patients. Wonderful hospitalists and cardiologists!! Good pay

    Cons

    Horrible and dangerous nurse patient ratios. I work in cardiac PCU and the ratio is always 5:1!! They lied at interview saying the ratios are 4:1 with an occasional flex to 5 patients. We deal with cardiac drips, unstable rhythms, post cardiac/thoracic surgery patients. Not safe to have consistent 5 patients. Also, we will be terminated by November 1 if we don’t comply and get Covid vaccine

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and agree that Banner offers a variety of employment options that allow for work life balance. We are happy to have you as an employee.

  3. Join the Banner Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Horrible

    Sep 2, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing is good about Banner, stay away

    Cons

    Pay, benefits, changes in management every year, don’t care about employees you just a number, they patient to nurse ratio is unmanageable & unsafe, they say you can make complaints to upper management but when you do your harassed. For being a non profit hospital CEO profit 28 million a year as well as administration make ridiculous amounts while nurses, techs, housekeeper all staff within the hospital walls across the valley suffer

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    RN

    Nov 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and great coworkers

    Cons

    Nurse to patient ratios were high

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We are happy to hear this feedback about your time at Banner Health. Thank you for your review.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love this job, but it needs more staff.

    Apr 11, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working here since August of 2020 and I have loved almost every moment of it. Everyday I get to see or learn something new. The staff is super friendly and the pay is pretty decent.

    Cons

    The worst part about working here is when they do call outs and understaff our unit. My unit is constantly down a nurse so every other nurse is having to care for more patients.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. So glad to hear your great experience!

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Float team

    Sep 30, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Glendale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One weekend a month. Helpful supervisor.

    Cons

    Too many patients for one nurse. Low wages.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. . I will be sure to share your feedback with the leadership team.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Opportunity for advancement

    May 19, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Casa Grande, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable work environment. Education provided for acls./bps/pals. Online education tools available for procedures

    Cons

    Cost of health insurance. Patient to nurse ratio.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great staff and team work but always understaffed

    May 28, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team work, friendly staff, and flexible scheduling

    Cons

    The nurses I worked with are great but banner is forever understaffed and always flexing assignments. When new staff are hired it is always new graduates so it seems like by the time a new nurse they hired is getting off orientation another experienced RN is leavng.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are privileged to have you as an employee! We will be sure to share your review with the appropriate leadership team.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Below zero

    Apr 7, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers tried to do a good job

    Cons

    Unsafe environment. It is a broken system with no checks and balances for employees. The high patient ratios are dangerous and over and over patient's only received the minimal care. Cerner charting, management was lacking and bullying. I have been a nurse for over 30 years and could not have imagined such a chaotic dangerous environment. Glad that I got out and it has made me appreciate where I work now, more than anything. I heard many co-workers claim "I would never want a family member to come here"...that about sums up my Banner experience.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    It is disappointing to hear this. We take all feedback seriously and would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss.

  11. 1.0
    Current Employee

    RN

    Sep 13, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved all of my coworkers

    Cons

    never let you use PTO since they are short, poor nurse to patient ratios

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for providing a review. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. We will share this feedback with the appropriate leadership team. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss your concerns.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Banner Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Banner Health? Share Your Experiences

Banner Health logo
or

Banner Health Careers

Cover image for Banner Health

Regarded and recognized as a top health system in the country for the clinical quality consistently provided to patients in our hospitals,...More

  • Careers
  • Nursing at Banner
  • New Grad RN
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Banner Health

4 days ago

Careers
Team Member Spotlight: Michelle Liston BSN, RN, Intensive Care Unit at Banner Baywood Medical Center, Mesa, AZ. Find your future at Banner Health. Visit https://lnkd.in/gm7JR8Pk
Shared image
See all

Banner Health Photos

+ Add Photo
Banner Health photo of: Banner Health Career Fair
Banner Health photo of: Banner Air
Banner Health photo of: NCMC
Banner Health photo of: BUMCS
Banner Health photo of: BUMCT
Banner Health photo of: Banner Baywood
Banner Health photo of: Banner Corporate Phoenix
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Banner Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

Dignity Health Logo
Dignity Health

3.8

2,709 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,167 Banner Health reviews submitted anonymously by Banner Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Banner Health is right for you.