KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Banner Health

Engaged Employer

Banner Health

Add a Review

Banner Health Employee Reviews about "patient care"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 of over 2,349 reviews

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
Peter S. Fine
967 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly atmosphere good benefits Good compensation(in 87 reviews)

  • "Great benefits in learning advancement(in 73 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A rather large disconnect from upper management to staff(in 55 reviews)

  • "Lab management shows no support for employees and has a hands-off, uninformed approach to patient care(in 51 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Banner Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "patient care"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      Aug 10, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for Banner for 8 years. I can say I have always been happy with company. There is ampule opportunity for growth and have always had the resources needed to provide safe patient care.

      Cons

      The pay is on the low side.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. So glad to hear your great experience!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Nursing jobs

      Dec 22, 2020 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great managers, coworkers, overtime opportunities.

      Cons

      Need more physician/midlevel support for nurses to improve patient care.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. So glad to hear your great experience!

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Phlebotomy

      Jan 20, 2021 - Phlebotomist in Glendale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant coworkers and cohesive team experience between departments

      Cons

      Lab management shows no support for employees and has a hands-off, uninformed approach to patient care

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      It is disappointing to hear this. We take all feedback seriously and would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Banner overall okay

      Nov 19, 2020 - Administrative Associate in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are decent. (Not the best) Many locations. Flexible with schedules.

      Cons

      Pay grade is not that great. I cannot speak for banner as a whole since I’m only in a specialist clinic but wishing my practice it number driven instead of patient care unfortunately not that great of organization and managed poorly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you are part of the Banner Health team! Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss your concerns.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Lots of Bureaucracy

      Jan 19, 2020 - Director of Nursing in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity for advancement and to try different things. Banner is a huge employer is AZ and one can move around a lot and learn new things without having to leave. They give good patient care across the organization and so as a whole tend to be one of the more trusted health systems, which makes working for them nice.

      Cons

      Banner is a huge organization and it definitely feels that way. Lots of red tape to cut through to get anything done. Nothing happens fast. They executive leaders have a tendency to react emotionally to things, so when things are tight they make short sighted decisions about pay practices and leadership structure. As you move up in the organization one has to worry more and more that they will be laid off when the next budget cut happens. Then when things are good again they just fill the position back up and go back to old pay practices. This creates a lot of anger and anxiety with both front line staff and leadership

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Average Company

      Sep 15, 2020 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Longmont, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, the group I work with is great.

      Cons

      Just like any other medical office, Banner is trying to do as much as they can with their nursing staff, with as few nurses as possible. Results in lower levels of patient care and more burnout of current staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for providing a review. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. We will share this feedback with the appropriate leadership team.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a Great Place to Work for HR Professionals

      Nov 9, 2019 - Human Resources Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Modern HR structure Excellent, award-winning patient care fueled by passionate frontline staff and respected nursing leadership Solid intranet and improvements made to workplace technology Modernized dress code

      Cons

      Ineffective Sr. HR leadership with questionable ethics who lack vision, quality people strategies, and engagement with their own HR team Little to no development for HR employees High HR turnover that isn’t properly addressed. No exit interviews, stay interviews, or focus groups were done within HR during my duration at the company or after I resigned. No meetings with CHRO or Sr. leadership levels about broader HR-specific employee satisfaction survey results and no communication about actions being taken to improve HR’s employee experience Antiquated processes and policies that diminish their pay for performance philosophy and drive away high-performing employees No quarterly webcasts that educate employees about the company’s performance Lack of diversity and inclusion programs that address internal biases Uninvolved CEO. Doesn’t do webcasts for employees or make appearances to show appreciation for people’s work. Most people I spoke to never met him although they’ve worked there for years.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      At Banner Health, we take all feedback very seriously. We would like to know more about what’s behind your review. Please email us at employment @bannerhealth.com. I would like to have someone on the HR team follow up with you.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      People and workers are nice a helpful

      Aug 4, 2019 - Patient Transporter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My day goes fast. Patience are for the most part the best part one the job.

      Cons

      Don't pay enough for the physical work and expectation that you are put under with patient care.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you are part of the Banner Health team! We will be sure to share your review with the appropriate leadership team.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Room Service

      Dec 17, 2018 - RSA in Greeley, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Coworkers are nice - Good entry level patient care experience

      Cons

      - Low wages (unless you’re promoted to a Lead, in which case you’ll make 3-4 dollars more than everyone else even though they’re working as hard and as much as you). Underpaid! Everyone is underpaid! We are struggling and sick of it! - Harassment! So many stories of harassment and nothing happens. I reported someone for harassing me, they’ve also harassed three or four others and been reported but nothing has been done. Nothing. - Poor communication between different areas of the hospital. - High turnover. - Insurance is overpriced and useless since they switched to Aetna - Overworked & understaffed for large periods at a time - Upper management doesn’t care about food service and we are constantly and consistently overlooked for upgrades, the kitchen is falling apart and nobody seems to care - If you like soul-sucking frustration, work at Banner!

      4 people found this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      At Banner Health, we take all feedback very seriously. We would like to know more about what’s behind your review. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com. I would like to have someone on the HR team follow up with you.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disappointing

      Sep 12, 2019 - Human Resources in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good, hardworking employees who care.

      Cons

      Horrible Sr. Leadership, lack of vision/direction. Constant layoffs under the guise of “reorganization.” Constant turnover of RN and other direct patient care positions is staggering.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 98 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Banner Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Banner Health? Share Your Experiences

    or