Cover image for Banner Health
Logo
See All Photos

Banner Health

Engaged Employer

Banner Health

Add a Review

Banner Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 9, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,161 of over 3K reviews
3.3
56% Recommend to a Friend
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
39% Approve of CEO

Found 87 of over 3K reviews

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
Peter S. Fine
1,298 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

5h

an 

Other

I’m going to be vague here so forgive me, but need some opinions. I got a Masters in a specialty and have worked in this specialty for 1 year. I was approached on LinkedIn by a recruiter for a position doing the job I was doing prior to my current specialty. This new opportunity has the potential to be a great stepping stone in my career with a better title and way more money but I feel like I’m taking a step backwards by not using my Masters. Would you stay on the path that you went to school..

3

4 Comments

Healthcare

82K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Banner Health~11958
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good and they are changing the way healthcare is being delivered to their patients(in 260 reviews)
  • "Being hired at Banner Health saved my life.. people first and the people are great!(in 146 reviews)
  • "I had great coworkers and a manager that made themselves available to us for resources and help with issues when they arose.(in 112 reviews)
  • "Great staff and nurses.(in 59 reviews)
  • "They are patient focused and the scheduling is flexible.(in 44 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management tried to transfer and they approved it twice only for it to fall through(in 191 reviews)
  • "pay is low for medical assistants they start office back office medical assistants the same pay rate as medical records with no experience.(in 168 reviews)
  • "An example of management's poor leadership is as follows.(in 53 reviews)
  • "certain upper management give you promises that they know they can not keep.(in 45 reviews)
  • "Low salary when compared to other hospitals in the area.(in 26 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Banner Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pay more

    Sep 26, 2021 - Patient Access Representative in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed the people I worked with. And there is always opportunity for overtime.

    Cons

    Pay, benefits, and upper management .

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback.

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Horrible

    Sep 2, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing is good about Banner, stay away

    Cons

    Pay, benefits, changes in management every year, don’t care about employees you just a number, they patient to nurse ratio is unmanageable & unsafe, they say you can make complaints to upper management but when you do your harassed. For being a non profit hospital CEO profit 28 million a year as well as administration make ridiculous amounts while nurses, techs, housekeeper all staff within the hospital walls across the valley suffer

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

  3. Join the Banner Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Banner Health treats employees like trash

    Nov 9, 2021 - Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Would have had a good opportunity to grow and learn if allowed

    Cons

    Upper management is racist, sexist and treated as if untouchable. Horrible pay for an overload of work. No appreciation for endless tasks. Understaffed. Upper management micro manages even the supervisors. Banner health discipline policy not followed, management just does what they want. HR doesn’t help at all when employees are treated poorly. HR does not listen to employees concerns. Worst HR I’ve ever dealt with. Forced vaccines.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Poor pay

    Nov 8, 2021 - Multimodality Technologist Radiology in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworker & direct management

    Cons

    Upper management does not review current pay scale for other hospitals with same level of care & volume

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you are part of the Banner Health team! Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss your concerns.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    RN

    Jun 7, 2021 - RN Staff Nurse in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teamwork among staff was always great, lower management was understanding and always willing to help when floor was busy

    Cons

    Compensation was low compared to other nearby hospital systems, no hazard pay for working in COVID units, never saw anybody from upper management on the units

    3 people found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    It is disappointing to hear this. We take all feedback seriously and would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Better than other jobs, but not the best

    Nov 20, 2020 - Room Service Associate in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people (mostly) decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Corporate seems to not give a rats at all. All they see is numbers on spreadsheets. I've been going through a lot of mental issues, of which I've communicated to all of my immediate supervisors. While struggling to keep control I have had to call out. I am now one step away from termination due to one such supervisor making things more stressful than they need to be, and apparently hr doesn't give a rats either as they are the ones that allegedly forced my supervisor to make this decision. So if you do want to work here, tread carefully. Upper management is cold and uncaring.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    It is very disappointing to hear this. We would like to address your concerns regarding the issues in your review. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com. I would like to have someone on the HR team review and follow up with you.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A lot of room for improvement

    Jan 11, 2021 - RN Case Manager in Greeley, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits package, opportunities for advancement especially if you are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    Upper management always making decisions based on cost-cutting, instead of patient safety and staff support. Below regional standard for hourly pay in this field.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for providing a review. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. We will share this feedback with the appropriate leadership team.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Eh

    Apr 3, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always hiring, good benefits, floor management is good.

    Cons

    Poor staff to patient ratios and bad upper management.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Banner health

    May 5, 2020 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff collaboration and team work is excellent.

    Cons

    A rather large disconnect from upper management to staff.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Banner Health Response

    Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for being a Banner Health team member. I will be sure to share your feedback with the leadership team.

  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    RN

    Apr 25, 2016 - Staff RN in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for a large company that is well known, lots of innovative equipment and practices. Supportive work environment among staff. Flexible scheduling and good benefits package.

    Cons

    Monopolizing direction in healthcare--they are becoming a juggernaut and buying out lots of smaller hospitals and clinics. Administration is disconnected from what actually happens in real life, becoming too corporate and seems to be more about the money and politics. I worked there for almost 7 years and when I first started, it felt like your CEO/CNO cared about you. There was a lot of turnover with leaders/upper management and morale became low. There was a pay freeze for 2-3 years, and yet, managers were forced to demand more from their nurses, without being able to give any incentive/reward. Felt like it was going downhill when I left in 2013, and I hear the same from friends that still work there or ended up leaving also.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 87 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Banner Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Banner Health? Share Your Experiences

Banner Health logo
or

Banner Health Careers

Cover image for Banner Health

Regarded and recognized as a top health system in the country for the clinical quality consistently provided to patients in our hospitals,...More

  • Careers
  • Nursing at Banner
  • New Grad RN
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Banner Health

4 days ago

Careers
Team Member Spotlight: Michelle Liston BSN, RN, Intensive Care Unit at Banner Baywood Medical Center, Mesa, AZ. Find your future at Banner Health. Visit https://lnkd.in/gm7JR8Pk
Shared image
See all

Banner Health Photos

+ Add Photo
Banner Health photo of: Banner Health Career Fair
Banner Health photo of: Banner Air
Banner Health photo of: NCMC
Banner Health photo of: BUMCS
Banner Health photo of: BUMCT
Banner Health photo of: Banner Baywood
Banner Health photo of: Banner Corporate Phoenix
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Banner Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

Dignity Health Logo
Dignity Health

3.8

2,709 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,167 Banner Health reviews submitted anonymously by Banner Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Banner Health is right for you.