Baptist Health System (Texas) Reviews | Glassdoor

Baptist Health System (Texas) Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Graham Reeve
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits, Work- Life ballance, Friendly atmostphere(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of communication, takes an act of God to get hired there, asked to work longer shifts, short staffed for the long hours(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baptist Health System (Texas) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Flexible hours * Competitive pay

    Cons

    * Some staffing issues * PCT will often float to other departments

    Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-01-29

    Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

    January 30, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate this feedback. We're thrilled to hear you're happy in your role.

  2. "Hectic But Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Had a fun, laid back team of techs and pharmacists to work with. -Decent pay

    Cons

    On your feet for most of the day, constantly making deliveries or standing in the IV room

    Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-07-04

    Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

    July 5, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to our success.

  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 

    I have been working at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Group of medical professionals to work with

    Cons

    staffing issues on certain floors

    Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-06-13

    Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

    June 14, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you're happy in your role!

  4. "Surgical Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Surgical Technologist 

    I have been working at Baptist Health System (Texas) part-time

    Pros

    excellent coworkers. They really help you out.

    Cons

    not enough autonomy or to much room for growth

    Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-05-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not so good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution and Logistics Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent medical dental benefits offered.

    Cons

    Blow market pay, no paid holidays whatsoever, no sick time or personal time, can only accrue to weeks of PTO within a year. Everything they have is archaic. Systems are behind 10 years, no employee recognition programs, no Christmas bonuses, no performance bonuses, no company holiday parties or dances.

    Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-05-13

    Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

    May 14, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the pay/benefits offered. We do think of our employees as our greatest asset and are always looking to improve our offerings.

  6. "Mismanaged Company by Poorly Selected Local Managers and Regional Directors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Nuclear and PET-CT Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good hours were available at this job.

    Cons

    Politics and harrassment. The best employees are harrassed by the managers because the doctors pay higher wages to the best employees and not the managers. The managers are jealous of the technologists so they allow harrassment and join in on the harrassment. The managers are incredibly incompetent. They would rather lose $15,000 a week, than pay a few hundred dollars in overtime during a week.

    Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-05-29

    Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

    May 30, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We are sorry to hear about your experience but appreciate you voicing your concern.

  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Unit Clerk 

      I worked at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Friendly People Management Okay Flexible Schedule

      Cons

      Pay Stress of Job Lack of Respect

      Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-04-26

      Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

      May 2, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

      Thank you for your review. We will make sure this is shared with leadership.

    • "Good Company but overwhelming nurse patient ratio"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Motivating and supportive management, continuing education opportunities, lots of perks and benefits

      Cons

      nurse-patient ratio, fast-paced environment, too many electronic and paper documentation, some unprofessional MDs

      Advice to Management

      don't overwork your nurses. As much as possible 1:4 ratio especially in telemetry areas.

      Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-03-29

      Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

      March 29, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

      It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times. Thank you for leaving an honest review.

    • "Great coworkers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Most employees have been there a very long time so a lot of help learning

      Cons

      No bad things about this job.

      Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-01-21

      Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

      January 21, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

      Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were so happy in your role!

    • "Prepare to work hard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Certified Surgical Technologist in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Baptist Health System (Texas) full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I liked many of my co-workers and most of the surgeons we worked with.

      Cons

      They expect you to make your job your number one priority in life above all else. I went above and beyond and certainly wasn't compensated for it. I made MUCH less money an hour as a super hard worker than the slackers made. That's the male vs. female issue. Most the girls do the majority of the work while the guys take credit for it and make so much more money. It's sickening.

      Advice to Management

      Hold your employees accountable for themselves. Compensate your female employees equal to the males or better, considering their work ethic!!

      Baptist Health System (Texas)2019-01-29

      Baptist Health System (Texas) Response

      January 30, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

      It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times. We’re sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the pay/benefits offered. We do think of our employees as our greatest asset and are always looking to improve our offerings.

    Found 114 reviews