Barchart Reviews | Glassdoor

Barchart Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Barchart CEO Mark Haraburda (no image)
Mark Haraburda
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Barchart Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Sales in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have a fast moving entrepreneurial atmosphere. We work hard and we enjoy working with each other. Everyone makes a contribution and is rewarded for it. We also support networking and getting involved in industry events. Senior management is always available and actively engaged.

    Cons

    Being a small and privately owned business, stock options are not available. However, the 401K matching and profit sharing is very generous.

    Barchart2018-01-13
  2. "Small cap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Barchart

    Pros

    change to communicate with ceo

    Cons

    little upside for the company

    Barchart2019-02-14
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Technology focused, developer dominated culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer 

    I worked at Barchart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many talented people. Work hard, play hard.

    Cons

    Not enough structure, not the best integration between departments/teams.

    Advice to Management

    A bit more structure would be helpful to project processes.

    Barchart2018-10-23
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Barchart

    Pros

    The work place is very flexible in terms of time and hours

    Cons

    Some employees had a very laid back attitude

    Barchart2018-01-30
  6. "Wonderful Employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, high standards, pleasing office atmosphere, female-friendly.

    Cons

    None that come to mind at this time.

    Barchart2018-01-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart full-time

    Pros

    One thing I really like about this company is that you can truly be yourself, and grow in the direction that you want to go. I have been able to develop and fine tune many of the necessary professional skills by working at Barchart. There are many perks with the company that aren't available at many other places. The compensation is reasonable and fair, so the only person that will limit your salary and success... is yourself. If you stick with this company as a career, you can surely reap the benefits if you put your mind to it down the road. The work environment is positive, and I don't feel trapped working in the office. I can come and go as I please, as long as I'm fulfilling the tasks that are assigned to me. The company has a solid niche in the market, with strong core competencies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes, there is so much happening at once, it is hard to keep track of everything (products, people, updates, etc..). There is a disconnect between the front and back office, primarily with new things that are coming out or coverage that is being increased. I usually learn about a new product long after it has been developed. The company also has a 'no cause' firing policy. Which isn't very motivating,... especially if you're doing something that you have every legal right to do, but the other party simply just does not agree. It would be nice to be able to responsibly meet in the middle with some matters.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fruits on Thursday??? Doesn't make sense...

    Barchart2016-12-14
  8. "Great Atmosphere and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart full-time

    Pros

    Barchart is an awesome place to come to work everyday! The atmosphere is very laid-back, yet professional. There is definitely a startup kind of feel to this company. The benefits are great and include employer contribution to 401K, free CTA transportation to work, employee outings, catered lunches on Friday, beer fridge and casual dress code. Barchart definitely goes above and beyond making sure their employees are... happy!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the office is a little cold :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Barchart2016-12-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Technology Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart full-time

    Pros

    From a development and technology side the company is using the latest technology and are always seeking to improve their development process and technology stack. The company operates more like a startup instead of an established company, this create an exciting environment.

    Cons

    We have a lot of new developments going on and are busy.

    Barchart2016-12-08
  10. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart

    Pros

    Love working here. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Cons

    Just too many dudes ...

    Barchart2016-12-04
  11. "Flexibility and room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchart full-time

    Pros

    Barchart is flexible if you need to take time off for drs. appts, or if your child is sick. They truly care about the health and well being of their employees and have created a diverse workforce community. This is the type of place where you learn to do something and you don't have someone micromanaging your every move. There is room to grow and improve, with management taking the time to listen to what you have to... say and helping you put ideas, thoughts, critiques into play. Creativity is welcome.

    Show More

    Cons

    You won't be in a position to move into a new role unless you push for it.

    Barchart2016-11-28
Found 14 reviews