Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 222 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Residents and their families care staff work hard(in 14 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Current CEO and senior management couldn't care less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ops Manager in National City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I struggle to find anything positive to say anymore. Barchester used to employ superb people but they have all had enough and are leaving in droves. They used to have a brilliant reputation, the management structure was flat, everyone felt that they were part of something special. Not any more. It's all about profit now. Nothing else seems to matter to the current CEO.

    Cons

    Barchester used to make the 25 Best Big Companies list every year. But they won't get it again. Staff no longer feel valued. Promises are made to new staff but it's all a con. Attrition rates are shocking. The Business School no longer exists and staff development is a joke as the company has slashed its L&D budget yet Barchester continues to claim that their career training is the best in the business. The current... board and senior managers have established a hierarchical dictatorship akin to a 1980's corporation which seeks to treat its middle managers like mushrooms.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Barchester deserves a CEO who's in it for the long haul and cares about the company. Get rid of the so called 'transformation team' and appoint senior managers who care about barchester and its staff. Head Office is full of newly appointed directors with CV's that demonstrate serious job hopping; Barchester is just another notch on their LinkedIn profiles.

    Barchester Healthcare2015-11-01
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare

    Pros

    Clients deserve a little help, have met some very interesting people over the years

    Cons

    No staff, rude management, lack of backing from anyone as they will get it from management. Clients are being neglected, if families complain it is staff who get blame?

    Advice to Management

    Leave ! Your people skills are disgraceful, your professional manner is wrong, you don't respect anyone so why expect it back?

    Barchester Healthcare2015-02-03

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    February 23, 2015Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We are sorry hear of your experience whilst working for Barchester and take your comments very seriously. Barchester never use the term ‘client’, we are a family and strive to make our homes safe and happy places in which to both live and work. We provide a totally confidential employee helpline for staff to discuss issues such as those that you raise here, and would therefore urge you to use it. However, I also note that you live in the USA and, since we operate entirely within the UK, wonder whether you have actually left our company? Thank you.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Assistant in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents ( only thing keeping me there )

    Cons

    Staff are back stabbers that lie and twist things

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-22
  4. "The Manor, Taunton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Under new management. Ongoing changes have been extremely positive and we are now working as a team! This is fantastic for us and our residents!

    Cons

    There are no cons now

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-23
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Carer in Gateshead, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good team work most staff are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    long 12 hour shift not flexable

    Advice to Management

    more staff

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Would not work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehabilitation Assistant in Mansfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ‘Making a difference to the patients lives’

    Cons

    Management, lack of support network, no progression

    Advice to Management

    More support, less hierarchy and opportunities to progress

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Definitely good team work, people ready to help.

    Cons

    Management not supportive to them staff. Calling us "drama queen" when try to write rapport after being attacked by one of our resident. Allegations.

    Advice to Management

    Please, get some respect for your workers. Praise and recognition are essential to an outstanding workplace. People want to be respected and valued by others for their contribution.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good company ruined by some Directors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Services in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most support services really good and provide help when necessary.

    Cons

    Very reactive company, told things not right in a home but do nothing until CQC arrive, then everything thrown at the home after sacking the manager. Huge bullying and micromanagement culture. Sadly nobody to report bullying to because it comes from the top.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, listen to your support services, act on information before CQC visit.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Once cared about care now cares about first impressions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was excellent company providing first class care for residents and a welcoming feeling for staff with a culture of team work and a big family however this seems to have been changing and over the last year is the complete opposite

    Cons

    Profit and aesthetic led Non caring bullying atmosphere High staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Whilst a business has to make money to survive the whole ethos seems to have changed to worrying about a fancy environment which is not user friendly but 'wow' looking. You need to listen to your residents and look at your ever rising staff turnover. Getting residents in is one thing you should be more concerned about what makes them happy

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Hideous Company , Bullying culture . Quality First dont make me laugh !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dedicated Senior Dementia care team, positive approach to dementia.

    Cons

    Bullying culture, No support , quick to criticise, not allowed to speak up, questionable ethics.

    Advice to Management

    Investigate the inherent hire and fire strategy without support . Investigate and seek advice of employees rather than your SMT spin !

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-11
Found 222 reviews