Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated September 11, 2017
111 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Pete Calveley
Pete Calveley
72 Ratings

111 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Care Staff are hard working and thoughtful (in 9 reviews)

  • Staff all work well together and are hard working (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • short staffed at times which is not organised well (in 9 reviews)

  • Long hours poorly paid, dont always get a tea break unless you smoke that is (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (6)

    "Current CEO and senior management couldn't care less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ops Manager in National City, CA
    Former Employee - Ops Manager in National City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I struggle to find anything positive to say anymore. Barchester used to employ superb people but they have all had enough and are leaving in droves. They used to have a brilliant reputation, the management structure was flat, everyone felt that they were part of something special. Not any more. It's all about profit now. Nothing else seems to matter to the current CEO.

    Cons

    Barchester used to make the 25 Best Big Companies list every year. But they won't get it again. Staff no longer feel valued. Promises are made to new staff but it's all a con. Attrition rates are shocking. The Business School no longer exists and staff development is a joke as the company has slashed its L&D budget yet Barchester continues to claim that their career training is the best in the business. The current board and senior managers have established a hierarchical dictatorship akin to a 1980's corporation which seeks to treat its middle managers like mushrooms.

    Advice to Management

    Barchester deserves a CEO who's in it for the long haul and cares about the company. Get rid of the so called 'transformation team' and appoint senior managers who care about barchester and its staff. Head Office is full of newly appointed directors with CV's that demonstrate serious job hopping; Barchester is just another notch on their LinkedIn profiles.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Clients deserve a little help, have met some very interesting people over the years

    Cons

    No staff, rude management, lack of backing from anyone as they will get it from management. Clients are being neglected, if families complain it is staff who get blame?

    Advice to Management

    Leave ! Your people skills are disgraceful, your professional manner is wrong, you don't respect anyone so why expect it back?

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Feb 23, 2015 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We are sorry hear of your experience whilst working for Barchester and take your comments very seriously. Barchester never use the term ‘client’, we are a family and strive to make our homes safe... More

  3. "Team leader /"care assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very good team working friendly environment. Well led and everyone is like family.

    Cons

    Can be stressful like all jobs.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Head of Social

    Thank you for your message. We really appreciate your feedback.


  4. "One of the best companies I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital Director in Waltham Abbey, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Hospital Director in Waltham Abbey, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Supportive management team
    Very good bonus scheme
    Empowering system
    Great training opportunities
    The board and DD backs your ideas if it makes for a better caring service

    Cons

    Salary could be more competitive but it is balanced of with having the best employee benefits

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – Head of Social

    Thank you for your message. We really appreciate your feedback.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newington, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newington, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Residents are mostly lovely, as are the relatives.
    All of the staff, especially on night shift have a fantastic bond.

    Cons

    Constantly running out of supplies - wipes, bags, pads, bed sheets.
    Being left to look after 17 people alone because of short staffed/no one calling agency
    Management who ignore staff
    Changing of rota with little warning
    Signs everywhere in the staff room 'don't do
    Very little support when dealing with aggressive residents - being hit is the norm.
    Overflowing sluice bins
    Filthy kitchen
    Appalling food

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, especially your carers. Have the decency to acknowledge staff as you walk past them. Don't penalise people for taking time off for a bereavement. Management need to do night shifts, so that they can see how much we are doing

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – Head of Social

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you’d like to provide any further information please email onlinefeedback@barchester.com.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "phoney reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    none a great company which has become awful

    Cons

    every time a poor review is put on this website a stunning review appears always in "management speak" seems a bit suspect

    Advice to Management

    stop covering for this dire company


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Colleagues & resident...amazing, carers working all the hours God sends to make sure the residents are loved & looked after under very stressful circumstances.

    Cons

    Staff & resources cut back since the beginning of the year & still happening! It's very much a don't care, care business now. Not sure where all the excellent reviews have come from, well I do actually...a generic email sent to all hierarchy telling them to put a positive review in without fail & by end of play on that day!! That's how it works now a days!

    Advice to Management

    Where is Mr Calvely whilst an awful lot of his staff are walking out & never coming back, whilst his care homes are becoming more like poor houses due to staff & resources being cut, whilst his senior manager team are harassing & scaremongering amongst the lower management's teams & staff...is he even involved in this company anymore or is it called Barseasons now? This company needs caring people at the top not money making moguls if it is to survive.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Head of Social

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry you’re no longer at Barchester, but we wish you every success in your future career.

  8. "World-class Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Islington, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Islington, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Barchester Healthcare is a wonderful company to work for. Barchester strongly values the individual, providing a warm and welcoming work environment.
    There is extensive opportunity for Individual career progression and those in Management positions are incredibly supportive and instrumental in helping you to achieve your career goals.

    Cons

    Ever changing environment- constantly expanding. Only a 'con' if you struggle with change/company progression and development.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rewarding your employees! It goes a long way in employee work satisfaction and productivity! Keep up the great work!

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Social Media Executive

    Thank you for your message. We really appreciate your feedback.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company - going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    What a great place to work. A clear plan from the top down with regular communication from the senior team and home managers covering all aspects of the business. A true belief in putting Quality First in everything that gets done. Commitment from the CEO over fair pay for all roles and sharing in the success of the company.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change going on, with some more to come. However, this needs to happen to help modernise the business and improve resident care even further.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more systems for the homes

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Social Media Executive

    Thank you for your message. We really appreciate your feedback.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I'm enjoying my role at Barchester Healthcare and I feel well supported and developed. My colleagues are great to work with and I'm getting a variety of new skills and experience.

    Cons

    My role includes quite a bit of travel. Although I do enjoy this most of the time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. I'm feeling motivated and engaged. I'm particularly impressed that you have reviewed the Celebrating Success Bonus scheme after receiving feedback. It's great that you listen.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Social Media Executive

    Thank you for your message. We really appreciate your feedback.


Showing 111 of 113 reviews
Reset Filters