Baringa Partners Employee Reviews about "consultancy"

Updated Nov 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 211 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Baringa Partners Managing Partner Adrian Bettridge
Adrian Bettridge
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "The focus on culture is real and makes for a better environment than many consultancies(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good understanding that being away from home can be a struggle from a work/life balance perspective(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Constant demand outstripping supply can lead to challenges in work / life balance - always busy(in 25 reviews)

  • "A tier 2 consultancy (in financial services at least)(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "consultancy"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to work for

      Nov 11, 2020 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and really bright, motivated people.

      Cons

      Working hours / expectations vary but that's just consultancy more generally

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great bunch of people, flexibility to grow a career

      Sep 16, 2020 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open, collaborative and lovely co-workers, who are deep market experts

      Cons

      Periods of long hours (as with all consultancy)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice colleagues but partners have been greedy

      Mar 31, 2020 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are on the whole very nice to work with. The focus on culture is real and makes for a better environment than many consultancies. In recent years growth has been strong with good promotion opportunities.

      Cons

      At the first sight of a downturn the Partners have imposed company wide pay cuts and unpaid leave. The partners took out huge profits in the boom years (£5million for highest paid partner in FY19) but are not putting any of it back into the business just 12 months on. This greed is normal at other consultancies - Baringa talks of being different but I don't see it.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Fine company nothing amazing

      Apr 9, 2020 - Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is people focused

      Cons

      A tier 2 consultancy (in financial services at least)

      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Thoughts on Baringa as a new Partner

      Jan 22, 2019 - Partner in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing People-oriented culture which was heavily marketed before I joined and has proven genuine through out my first couple of months Very client-centric approach in which the needs and priorities of clients are really clearly at the heart of our work

      Cons

      I think some of those who have been here for a while have perhaps forgotten or become acclimatised to how good it is here and how well people are looked after. Having worked in a large corporate for the last 13 years and one of the Big 4 consultancies for 10 years before that, I am so impressed by how good things are here

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Fantastic people, great working culture, be careful to not dilute it

      Dec 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I left Baringa over the last few months and while I did not initially intend to leave a review I was quite surprised to read some overly exaggerated negative feedback and thought I could share mine. Let's start with what Baringa does well: - Probably the best working culture I have ever experienced in my career - Good non cash benefits (e.g. healthcare and travel cover) - Good understanding that being away from home can be a struggle from a work/life balance perspective. Therefore the company has a pretty unique policy where the more you are away from home the more extra holiday you get as well as salary increase (up to +25% if I remember correctly, could be wrong) - It is one of the few places where I actually made a number of friends, I always felt part of a team that cared for its members - You have a lot of room to explore different business ideas and are encouraged to develop new offerings if you are interested in this, even at the junior level - Base salary is pretty competitive - Quite a few reviews have mentioned the parties, that's true but I would focus more on all the social events. I had a very good time in each one of them - Good career progression, assessment process is pretty transparent and seems fair

      Cons

      - Pension is absolutely not up to what a company of that size should offer, you get the mandatory minimum - Bonus is not really a bonus but a profit share scheme, it looked like it is below competition for a given grade and banding (at least when I compared against my friends') - Probably too much communication on why Baringa is great, especially when it comes to work life balance. While I had a fantastic time overall at the firm, there were times when was struggling. Same is true for Baringa. Baringa is a very good workplace but not the best and the more the company grows the more people will feel disconnected if the messaging is only about "we are the best". The recent negative reviews on glassdoor prove the point. Gone are the days when Baringa had only 300 employees. Consultants do work hard, it is the nature of the job. While Baringa has an OK work life balance for a consultancy it is definitely worse that what we see at our clients'. - It looks like Baringa has an opportunistic approach to work, would be great to see more emphasis on strategy and have people to actually execute it. - Can Baringa grow and maintain its DNA? It sometimes looked like the firm was headed towards the same type of culture we could see at the Big4/Accenture.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Consultant at Baringa

      Oct 9, 2018 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Baringa has the best culture of any consulting firm I have worked for (out of 3). Leadership truly care about their people, and our current managing partner oozes this with every word and action that he says and does. Baringa recognises that the volume of travel and being away from home isn't something anyone really enjoys, and so it compensates employees on "out of town" projects both financially and with additional holidays. This is something I have never seen at any consultancy and one that sets Baringa apart and demonstrates how much they care about their people. Baringa has been the first consultancy to accept me for who I am, and I have watched its people do the same with many other new joiners. We strive hard not to simply hire in our own image and I feel we already have quite a diverse workforce, but never one to rest on our laurels we are still working hard to push the message of diversity across the company. Furthermore, Baringa is full of bright, passionate and smart people. We are not a corporate SI giant, and if you are tired of that life I would highly suggest Baringa is a step in the right direction to better work life balance, but just as interesting work.

      Cons

      There are few downsides I have seen to working at Baringa. As with any consultancy, you do have to travel, and you do have to occasionally do a role that doesn't fit your skillset, but you can't ever avoid that in consulting. My biggest downside at the moment is that we have grown so much in the last year our home office in London is getting rather full on Friday's when most people come in, but it's manageable and we've been acquiring other space in an nearby building to help this.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A CULT surviving on deceptive and aggressive marketing

      Nov 12, 2018 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are definitely some advantages to working here. Some negative posters need to understand that this is not a Big 4 or prestigious consultancy, and never will be! If you are working for a low-end service provider, it is important to take that into perspective. It is unfair to complain about poor pay, pensions and poor internal operations. - Most people are agreeable and a pleasure to work with. - Generous pay and benefits for what it’s worth - The company wants to do well and has a strong appetite for growth. Unfortunately, partners go about it in the worst ways possible! - Yearly international getaways are a good and welcome incentive - Flat structure and you get to have your say. They show that they care. Despite being deceptive, it can often be encouraging - If you wish to have an easy work environment due to life events etc., this is not a bad place to spend some time - I disagree with the complaints around long hours. Success in this company is all about fitting into their cliques, which most people realize very quickly. It is much easier to do that than produce quality work. - The award for recruitment referrals is a dinner voucher with a partner. It is nice to have something different that gets you visibility to senior management, as opposed to a cash award

      Cons

      - Senior management coerce you into cultish behaviours. Corporate bullying is rife. If you don't play along, they will get back at you. The CEO is the main driver of these behaviours. However, he is great at maintaining his image and getting other people to put his cultish ideals into practice! - The German, US and Australian offices have been performing poorly and sucking up our bonuses. This is extremely demoralizing. UK staff work hard and we suffer for poor performance in other locations. - There are many partners who have not sold a single project and have been here for years. They are around only because of the “close-knit old mens’ clique”. They tell you that they take diversity seriously, but the reality is very disturbing! They have put a few mascots here and there to cover their tracks. - The partners force employees into aggressive marketing tactics. The global head of financial services asks new employees to open up their Linkedin profiles and introduce him to their contacts. I haven’t worked in another consultancy before, so can’t comment if this is common practice. It certainly felt very awkward! - The marketing tactics on Linkedin actually hurt the company. As a client once said, “Your activity on Linkedin should get alarm bells ringing!” They get low-end publishers to put out deceptive stats and then aggressively market them on Linkedin! - At corporate events, staff and their partners are allotted shared accommodation with other families to save money. Employees have been brainwashed to the point that they defend it saying it is a good way to “network”. Almost all staff use Easyjet or Ryanair for corporate travel - The company events are straight out of a sitcom. At dinner, employees are asked to rise and their significant others to “take a moment to appreciate the effort of their partners”. It is so corny! If you want to build a cult, at least TRY to be subtle about it. - The CEO walks down the aisle in black-tie attire alongside a lady in a shiny gown for the awards ceremony. The environment reeks of a “pretentious wannabe upper-class” group. My friends couldn’t stop laughing when I showed them a video I took. - The partners keep boasting about winning the “Best Workplace award”. The process is rigged. Individuals are hand-picked to provide feedback with no anonymity. They also spend considerable effort in preparing the submission just to get the award. And a lot more telling everyone about it. - The knowledge and skills in the company are pathetic. This is unlikely to get better as they continue to recruit people who are like them. People who can write two lines of code are forced to label themselves “ethical hackers”. The worst part is partners don’t realize how foolish they look in doing these things.

      Continue reading
      41 people found this review helpful

      Baringa Partners Response

      Partner and People Lead

      I am disappointed to read this review and would encourage you to reach out to me to discuss your experience. David Harris (People Partner).

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent client delivery and a unique culture makes for a perfect partnership

      Aug 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful balance between delivering an excellent client experience and a unique (and very collegiate) culture. With very little bureaucracy and an approachable leadership team, it creates a company that can maximize its time spent on the things that really matter. Known for its talent & culture, the working environment is both highly engaging as well as having a real fun element to it. The collective Baringa community puts in a lot of effort to ensure that the term 'company benefits' goes wider that simply pay + bonus...Company events for example are something that Baringa invest heavily in, making them truly unforgettable and seen as the high point of the year...also as they always include +1's and children, everyone really gets to know each other, making it less of an organisation and more of a family. All this sounds like Baringa is still a very small company, and that's the best bit...it's not...Baringa are now 500+ people, a healthy independent partnership, £100m+ revenue, with double digit growth each year...that combination is almost unique in the consulting industry, meaning not only is the culture amazing, the economics work and it's sustainable too!

      Cons

      No real cons to call out specifically, however it's still a Consultancy and therefore travel and work life balance are always a consideration for potential new joiners - Baringa works hard to ensure this is a healthy balance, plus with the Leadership Teams & Partners being very approachable, no problem is unsolvable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, Great People, Great Potential

      Oct 8, 2014 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a company that really doesn't take its biggest asset, its people, for granted. I know it's a cliche, but they really look after you. All the partners make a significant effort to know who you are and listen to you. You have the opportunity to talk candidly to any of them whenever you want. On top of that, the annual Summer trip is really second-to-none, with a lot of time and money going into it. From a growth perspective, it's had a strong performance every year from revenue and size as they are constantly looking for new areas to either grow into or get more involved in. They prefer to promote from within but this has caused a bit of a bottle-neck at the middle levels which I don't know how it will play out over the next 12-18 months. Plenty of opportunities to get promoted if you want it, plus the promotion rounds are every quarter rather than every year, so if you miss out one round, you've not long to wait...or equally, you've not long to sort whatever prevented you from being promoted.

      Cons

      It's still a management consultancy at heart and despite constantly informing people that they only fit the right people with the right roles, ultimately they don't want anyone sitting on the bench and still tend to through you at something that may no be ideal. This is consulting though...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Baringa Partners Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Baringa Partners? Share Your Experiences

    Baringa Partners logo
    or