Baringa Partners "consultancy" Reviews | Glassdoor

Baringa Partners Employee Reviews about "consultancy"

Updated 22 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Baringa Partners CEO Adrian Bettridge
Adrian Bettridge
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good understanding that being away from home can be a struggle from a work/life balance perspective(in 16 reviews)

  • "This is something I have never seen at any consultancy and one that sets Baringa apart and demonstrates how much they care about their people(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is variable across teams(in 22 reviews)

  • "While Baringa has an OK work life balance for a consultancy it is definitely worse that what we see at our clients'(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "consultancy"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Thoughts on Baringa as a new Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing People-oriented culture which was heavily marketed before I joined and has proven genuine through out my first couple of months Very client-centric approach in which the needs and priorities of clients are really clearly at the heart of our work

    Cons

    I think some of those who have been here for a while have perhaps forgotten or become acclimatised to how good it is here and how well people are looked after. Having worked in a large corporate for the last 13 years and one of the Big 4 consultancies for 10 years before that, I am so impressed by how good things are here

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Baringa Partners2019-01-22
  2. "Glass 8/10 full @ Growth pains worth enjoying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After a number of years, I feel gratefull for Baringa inviting me to a world of consulting from industry. They took a leap of faith. I did as well. It paid out for both - in revenues, and mutual development. I arrived at the time when company was small enough for senior team to immediately know your name when bumping with you at the elevator. We are bigger now. Being bigger allows to go after bigger goals...it also... comes with acceptance of growth pains...and enjoying those.... We are an FT 2018 no 1 consultancy in utilities alongside McKinsey - deep niche expertise, great people, clients being served flexibly and devotedly. And at better rates than certain competitors.... I can not vouch for non-energy, but based on people whom I do know in other BUs from famed social get aways, common courses and informal drinks/dinners , we deserve a similar ranking in FS and other new areas of work at the very least from “great people” and “passion” perspective.... Now for those of us, enjoying models, I gonna test Baringa through PERK (Purpose, Engagement, Resilience, Kindness) to arrive to my 8/10 Glass full. 1. Purpose. Clearly, we are moving towards a transformational global advisory firm with deep industry expertise, be it at energy, finance or even a temp theme such as Brexit. And our, inspirational, management leads the way jn finding ways to keep selling work - with differing success, which is a reality of consulting. So here is 8/10. To get to 10, the firm already started rewarding the appropriate business development behaviour. In my personal view, an advisory firm thrives when it sells interesting work, which at turn motivates people (see 2 below). 2. Engagement. Great people, who are all brilliant to work together. A true pleasure. 10/10 3. Resilience. In consulting, flexibility and time pressure is what you sign up to. Key is how as a team, and firm you support this. Baringa since last year puts great effort in courses, leadership attention on WLB, mental health etc. 7/10. To go to 10, is I think impossible - one needs to select when hiring people who are able to say No, but deliver when it matters, and if needed work to late night to flexibly go to a long breakfast with loved ones next day. CEO encourages such behaviour - himself a family man - and this is a great feature. WLB for advisory means ability to prioritise, and work hard when it matters, and relax afterwards to prepare for next hill. 4. Kindness How are we treating each other when we get bad news? Do we care? Do we ask about one’s holiday? Do we bring each other tea when its cold in office? Do we smile when seeing each other? We do....see above. This does not mean one is not confronted if sales targets, or utilisation, are not adressed. After all, its consulting - so kindness goes with together making profits....10/10

    Show More

    Cons

    There are colleagues who see glass more empty - fair enough. To me, this is fine. I worked in quite a few organisations - Baringa is as good as it gets, for a commercial advisory business. So there was some truth to posts “like a glove” from July 2017 - leadership picked up on those. Did they do a perfect job? Well join, and help further.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great people - like you do... And lets change tradition of annual thank you to partners for keeping up with flexible work - it is from old times; now often both have a career....do keep inviting partners those to dinners like in Shard or Guildhall....that work wonders...

    Baringa Partners2019-01-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic people, great working culture, be careful to not dilute it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baringa Partners full-time

    Pros

    I left Baringa over the last few months and while I did not initially intend to leave a review I was quite surprised to read some overly exaggerated negative feedback and thought I could share mine. Let's start with what Baringa does well: - Probably the best working culture I have ever experienced in my career - Good non cash benefits (e.g. healthcare and travel cover) - Good understanding that being away from... home can be a struggle from a work/life balance perspective. Therefore the company has a pretty unique policy where the more you are away from home the more extra holiday you get as well as salary increase (up to +25% if I remember correctly, could be wrong) - It is one of the few places where I actually made a number of friends, I always felt part of a team that cared for its members - You have a lot of room to explore different business ideas and are encouraged to develop new offerings if you are interested in this, even at the junior level - Base salary is pretty competitive - Quite a few reviews have mentioned the parties, that's true but I would focus more on all the social events. I had a very good time in each one of them - Good career progression, assessment process is pretty transparent and seems fair

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pension is absolutely not up to what a company of that size should offer, you get the mandatory minimum - Bonus is not really a bonus but a profit share scheme, it looked like it is below competition for a given grade and banding (at least when I compared against my friends') - Probably too much communication on why Baringa is great, especially when it comes to work life balance. While I had a fantastic time... overall at the firm, there were times when was struggling. Same is true for Baringa. Baringa is a very good workplace but not the best and the more the company grows the more people will feel disconnected if the messaging is only about "we are the best". The recent negative reviews on glassdoor prove the point. Gone are the days when Baringa had only 300 employees. Consultants do work hard, it is the nature of the job. While Baringa has an OK work life balance for a consultancy it is definitely worse that what we see at our clients'. - It looks like Baringa has an opportunistic approach to work, would be great to see more emphasis on strategy and have people to actually execute it. - Can Baringa grow and maintain its DNA? It sometimes looked like the firm was headed towards the same type of culture we could see at the Big4/Accenture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Increase pension contributions, if reluctant to increase base pension then increase matching to 5/6/7 or even 8% - Communicate less aggressively and why we are a Great Place to Work, explore more what Baringa is not good at and be open about it. - Reduce the number of internal initiatives consultants have to be involved in, half of them do not lead to anything and they do have an impact on work life balance as... time can only be dedicated after client work is done.

    Show More
    Baringa Partners2018-12-06
  4. Helpful (32)

    "A CULT surviving on deceptive and aggressive marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are definitely some advantages to working here. Some negative posters need to understand that this is not a Big 4 or prestigious consultancy, and never will be! If you are working for a low-end service provider, it is important to take that into perspective. It is unfair to complain about poor pay, pensions and poor internal operations. - Most people are agreeable and a pleasure to work with. - ... Generous pay and benefits for what it’s worth - The company wants to do well and has a strong appetite for growth. Unfortunately, partners go about it in the worst ways possible! - Yearly international getaways are a good and welcome incentive - Flat structure and you get to have your say. They show that they care. Despite being deceptive, it can often be encouraging - If you wish to have an easy work environment due to life events etc., this is not a bad place to spend some time - I disagree with the complaints around long hours. Success in this company is all about fitting into their cliques, which most people realize very quickly. It is much easier to do that than produce quality work. - The award for recruitment referrals is a dinner voucher with a partner. It is nice to have something different that gets you visibility to senior management, as opposed to a cash award

    Show More

    Cons

    - Senior management coerce you into cultish behaviours. Corporate bullying is rife. If you don't play along, they will get back at you. The CEO is the main driver of these behaviours. However, he is great at maintaining his image and getting other people to put his cultish ideals into practice! - The German, US and Australian offices have been performing poorly and sucking up our bonuses. This is extremely... demoralizing. UK staff work hard and we suffer for poor performance in other locations. - There are many partners who have not sold a single project and have been here for years. They are around only because of the “close-knit old mens’ clique”. They tell you that they take diversity seriously, but the reality is very disturbing! They have put a few mascots here and there to cover their tracks. - The partners force employees into aggressive marketing tactics. The global head of financial services asks new employees to open up their Linkedin profiles and introduce him to their contacts. I haven’t worked in another consultancy before, so can’t comment if this is common practice. It certainly felt very awkward! - The marketing tactics on Linkedin actually hurt the company. As a client once said, “Your activity on Linkedin should get alarm bells ringing!” They get low-end publishers to put out deceptive stats and then aggressively market them on Linkedin! - At corporate events, staff and their partners are allotted shared accommodation with other families to save money. Employees have been brainwashed to the point that they defend it saying it is a good way to “network”. Almost all staff use Easyjet or Ryanair for corporate travel - The company events are straight out of a sitcom. At dinner, employees are asked to rise and their significant others to “take a moment to appreciate the effort of their partners”. It is so corny! If you want to build a cult, at least TRY to be subtle about it. - The CEO walks down the aisle in black-tie attire alongside a lady in a shiny gown for the awards ceremony. The environment reeks of a “pretentious wannabe upper-class” group. My friends couldn’t stop laughing when I showed them a video I took. - The partners keep boasting about winning the “Best Workplace award”. The process is rigged. Individuals are hand-picked to provide feedback with no anonymity. They also spend considerable effort in preparing the submission just to get the award. And a lot more telling everyone about it. - The knowledge and skills in the company are pathetic. This is unlikely to get better as they continue to recruit people who are like them. People who can write two lines of code are forced to label themselves “ethical hackers”. The worst part is partners don’t realize how foolish they look in doing these things.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    NOTE: THE COMPANY WILL POST SEVERAL POSITIVE REVIEWS AFTER THIS ONE TO PUSH IT TO THE NEXT PAGE! As you can tell, I have very little faith in this company. I will be leaving in the new year to go back to industry. Most people miss Mohamed Mansour who led the company to a strong start. Check the history of reviews on Glassdoor– whenever a negative review has been posted, a quick succession of positive reviews... follow! I would also encourage readers to check the review titled “Like a glove?”, 13th July, 2017. It has good and balanced views that many of us agree with. Also, be sure to read Baringa’s response to it! It screams “gibberish defensive rhetoric”

    Show More
    Baringa Partners2018-11-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Consultant at Baringa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Baringa has the best culture of any consulting firm I have worked for (out of 3). Leadership truly care about their people, and our current managing partner oozes this with every word and action that he says and does. Baringa recognises that the volume of travel and being away from home isn't something anyone really enjoys, and so it compensates employees on "out of town" projects both financially and with... additional holidays. This is something I have never seen at any consultancy and one that sets Baringa apart and demonstrates how much they care about their people. Baringa has been the first consultancy to accept me for who I am, and I have watched its people do the same with many other new joiners. We strive hard not to simply hire in our own image and I feel we already have quite a diverse workforce, but never one to rest on our laurels we are still working hard to push the message of diversity across the company. Furthermore, Baringa is full of bright, passionate and smart people. We are not a corporate SI giant, and if you are tired of that life I would highly suggest Baringa is a step in the right direction to better work life balance, but just as interesting work.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are few downsides I have seen to working at Baringa. As with any consultancy, you do have to travel, and you do have to occasionally do a role that doesn't fit your skillset, but you can't ever avoid that in consulting. My biggest downside at the moment is that we have grown so much in the last year our home office in London is getting rather full on Friday's when most people come in, but it's manageable and... we've been acquiring other space in an nearby building to help this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Adrian is a fantastic managing partner and I personally have never been more motivated by a leader. I believe that we can still maintain a "small boutique consulting firm" mentality even as we grow beyond that size if people hold true to the values that Baringa was built on.

    Baringa Partners2018-10-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "2yrs in Tech Transformation - So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very little 'dead wood': Full of smart people who know their onions and are deeply passionate about their chosen field. e.g. Our Technology Transformation team are, for the most part, pretty technical in their chosen fields. - Ability to take ownership: Baringa is still relatively small so the opportunity to build a proposition/capability, or have an idea and run with it, is very real. Partners will back you... if you have present a credible case. - Genuinely collaborative: This comes out in two ways, firstly business units do collaborate to try and build the right project team for each engagement. Secondly, unlike some other consultancies I feel like I could ask colleagues for help if I needed some advice or was struggling on any particular engagement, and not have it held or used against me. People want to see you succeed and this overrides most of the personal ambition/politics/agendas I've experienced elsewhere. It also encourages people to speak up rather than soldier on into situations they may not know how to handle. - Work Life Balance: In the context of consulting, Baringa makes much more than a token effort to help with this. I know that senior management and partners actively take into account personal situations (e.g. getting married, having a baby, etc) when staffing a client and will not fling someone out to the Outer Hebrides with 24hrs notice. Combined with the perks available for when you do work out of town, this becomes quite a big differentiator to me

    Show More

    Cons

    - If you are a generalist it can be a little tough to find your place when you are surrounded by SMEs everywhere you turn.

    Advice to Management

    Try and retain all the things that makes Baringa different, like the 1:10 Partner:Non-Partner ratio, Christmas cards from senior mgt, summer party, family ethos, etc, as Baringa grows

    Baringa Partners2017-12-19
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time

    Pros

    -Transparency of staffing, company performance and future strategy - Support from senior team members - like nothing I have experienced anywhere else - Compensation for out of town working and long commutes - Team socials and activities - Ability to discuss options for your next project - Variety of work - unlike larger consultancies, there are plenty of smaller projects covering extremely interesting areas;... not just large implementation projects

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes teams can be very small, which is a big difference if you are coming from a larger consultancy - especially if working out of town.

    Baringa Partners2017-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The Best Career Choice I Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners

    Pros

    Having spent over 5 years in industry working for a Large Energy Retailer, I moved to Baringa 4.5 years ago; I'm not one for propaganda but Baringa is genuinely the best employer I have worked for. Very few of my projects have been short term (mostly 3-18 months), giving me an opportunity to build relationships and work on a variety of interesting and stimulating topics. As a result I have grown and learned more... about my chosen industry, and pushed myself to become better than I would have been otherwise. So in general, I'm absolutely delighted by my day to day job satisfaction. What's distinct from other consultancies I have worked for is the culture - it genuinely feels like management know who I am and appreciate my contribution. Moreover I can think of several examples where management has given me or colleagues the room to focus on my personal life (children, sickness etc.) and have openly encouraged me to let the day to day take a back seat: this gives me sense that they business wants to build loyalty, trust and invest in me over the longer term. There is a real entrepreneurial spirit here. That shouldn't be confused with commercial ruthlessness. It's better characterised as giving people the freedom to try, to treat this as their own business, and to fail without recrimination. There's loads more that I'm sure other reviews have alluded to; company events, general social scene etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some odd policies around compensation for those who live outside London. Therefore whilst I still get paid more than my peers in other organisations, I find myself paid less than or equal to London based employees of Baringa who are of a lower grade. The culture is also a little London-centric in general, so those who are not based in the City can feel isolated.

    Baringa Partners2017-05-02
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baringa Partners for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - caring consultancy where every employee is treated as an individual - truly collaborative way of working with clients - opportunity to work with some of the best people in the industry to deliver real change to clients

    Cons

    - work/ life balance can be difficult to achieve in any consultancy and leadership don't always set the best example

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that each new business unit and geography has the Baringa culture running through it

    Baringa Partners2017-05-05
  10. "Incredible company with a really unique culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A true meritocracy with a real focus on supporting each and every employee. The leaders of the business are always accessible and proactively speak to employees about their thoughts on the business and how they can continue to improve it. The people and culture is incredible and unlike any other organisation I have experienced.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is always going to be a challenge in a consultancy, but the Partners have put everything in place to try and support individuals to manage their time appropriately.

    Advice to Management

    Protect the culture as the company grows. It is clear however that this is something that is at the forefront of the Partners minds which is great to see.

    Baringa Partners2017-04-03
Found 24 reviews