Barnard College Reviews | Glassdoor

Barnard College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Debora L. Spar
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There was little room for growth as a student worker--no promotion opportunities(in 6 reviews)

  • "my department had basically no opportunity to use the generous vacation time due to nonexistent work/life balance(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really positive, flexible, well-paying job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Peer Tutor 

      I have been working at Barnard College part-time

      Pros

      -great pay -working with really engaged students -good relationship with supervisor -lots of flexibility

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Barnard College2019-04-09
    • "Nice weekend Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Engineering Teacher 

        I worked at Barnard College part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Easy Job you can do part time.

        Cons

        Little Hours available per week.

        Barnard College2019-04-17
      • "Arts and Science"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Librarian 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Excellent work environment, inclusive staff

        Cons

        Leadership and direction, sometimes a high stress environment.

        Barnard College2019-02-27
      • "Good place to start a career in higher ed admin"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager of Alumnae Relations in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great community overall, kind coworkers

        Cons

        Slow to adopt new technology, new managers don't always do a great job of establishing norms and creating an inspiring environment

        Barnard College2019-03-06
      • "Overall a good place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Barnard College part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Wonderful co-workers, amazing student body, more than adequate facilities. Pays well.

        Cons

        Bureaucracy of the upper administration hinders creativity and often puts donor happiness over student needs. Likely something that would be found at every higher education institution, but certain positions here feel it more than others.

        Barnard College2019-01-29
      • "Good place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Barnard College full-time

          Pros

          Good place to start, lots of time off

          Cons

          No 401k matching, not a co-worker environment

          Barnard College2018-10-02
        • "It’s all good"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Pca in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Barnard College part-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Nice people, fun place to work

          Cons

          I do not have any cons

          Advice to Management

          None

          Barnard College2018-09-02
        • "Associate Director"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Barnard College full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great Benefits and rich intellectual and cultural community.

          Cons

          Short-staffed, not much room for growth.

          Barnard College2018-07-25
        • "Loved the leadership"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Great leadership with President Debora Spar and VP Bret Silver. Nice location. Talented Colleagues

          Cons

          Issues with systems. IT not well lead or resourced.

          Barnard College2018-05-05
        • "Sales Associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Barnard College part-time

            Pros

            Great people to work with

            Cons

            Wish the minimum wage was higher

            Barnard College2018-03-24
          Found 95 reviews