Barnard College Reviews | Glassdoor

Barnard College Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Debora L. Spar
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very Welcoming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team and a community that feels more like a family

    Cons

    Can't think of anything I was unhappy with

    Barnard College2019-06-08
  2. "Challenging both with administration and students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residence Hall Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnard College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Diverse environment -Can be creative within limits

    Cons

    -Lack of transparency from administration -Lack of respect for student opinions and concerns; wants to control students rather than let them flourish -Not aware that change needs to happen gradually and collaboratively; not a singular decision at the top -Work/life balance is almost non-existent

    Advice to Management

    Have honest feedback tables with no repercussions for those involved. Shouldn't be necessary that employees feel afraid to give feedback.

    Barnard College2019-06-19
  3. "A Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Barnard College part-time

      Pros

      Friendly environment, helpful and kind colleagues

      Cons

      It’s difficult to think of cons of working here.

      Barnard College2019-06-03
    • "I love the psychology department at Barnard College"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in New York, NY

      I worked at Barnard College part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The work environment is very fun and intellectually stimulating. I am so thankful that I was able to have this opportunity.

      Cons

      I have none to report

      Barnard College2019-05-25
    • "Best job on campus"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barnard Student Admissions Representative in New York, NY

      I worked at Barnard College part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Ability to inspire prospective students and make a real difference in the admissions office.

      Cons

      Can be tricky to be assigned consistent hours

      Barnard College2019-05-13
    • "Really positive, flexible, well-paying job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Peer Tutor 

        I have been working at Barnard College part-time

        Pros

        -great pay -working with really engaged students -good relationship with supervisor -lots of flexibility

        Cons

        None that I can think of

        Barnard College2019-04-09
      • "Nice weekend Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Engineering Teacher 

          I worked at Barnard College part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Easy Job you can do part time.

          Cons

          Little Hours available per week.

          Barnard College2019-04-17
        • "Good place to start a career in higher ed admin"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Manager of Alumnae Relations in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great community overall, kind coworkers

          Cons

          Slow to adopt new technology, new managers don't always do a great job of establishing norms and creating an inspiring environment

          Barnard College2019-03-06
        • "Arts and Science"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Librarian 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Excellent work environment, inclusive staff

          Cons

          Leadership and direction, sometimes a high stress environment.

          Barnard College2019-02-27
        • "Overall a good place to work!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Barnard College part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Wonderful co-workers, amazing student body, more than adequate facilities. Pays well.

          Cons

          Bureaucracy of the upper administration hinders creativity and often puts donor happiness over student needs. Likely something that would be found at every higher education institution, but certain positions here feel it more than others.

          Barnard College2019-01-29
        Found 100 reviews