Barnard College Reviews | Glassdoor

Barnard College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Debora L. Spar
39 Ratings
  1. "Science Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnard College full-time

    Pros

    Students are incredibly bright, motivated and open-minded.

    Cons

    One of the poorest colleges of it's caliber.

    Barnard College2017-06-16
  2. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnard College full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and commuter benefits are superb!

    Cons

    Pay rate is low and could be better.

    Barnard College2017-06-03
  3. "Powered by idealism of mostly (young) women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - real commitment to furthering women, especially if the women are students. - nice campus and location - fantastic, smart colleagues (depending on department)

    Cons

    - low stagnant wages - my department had basically no opportunity to use the generous vacation time due to nonexistent work/life balance - middle management has NO supervisory/people management training - middle management seemed to hate senior management and take it out on junior staff - lots of lip service to "empowering women" ..all women, except the ones that actually work at the college. - salaried employees...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - train your people who manage people or let them go - reconsider salary structure. Pay overtime to ALL members of departments that work beyond regular hours, or hire more people. - let people use their hard earned time off - if you can't pay more or promote people, figure out mentoring or other professional development opportunities to improve morale

    Barnard College2017-05-17
  4. "Public Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Safety Officer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, some good supervisors

    Cons

    Movement is slow and the union isn't great

    Barnard College2017-05-02
  5. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Barnard College full-time

    Pros

    Inspiring students, mission. Tuition remission.

    Cons

    Work life balance is mocked. Turnover is out of control.

    Barnard College2017-05-14
  6. "Rutgers University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Barnard College

      Pros

      Lots of room for upward mobility. People are super intelligent. Students are spectacular. University is enormous. Plenty of full and part time opportunities.

      Cons

      Lacks civility. Too many employees. Very heavy on the hierarchy. Upper management very busy with new initiatives and risk management.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Barnard College2017-04-24
    • "Long term Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Barnard College full-time

      Pros

      Small environment where it is possible to get to know people across all departments and levels. Congenial. Lots of talented smart people.

      Cons

      Depends on the department you work in. I have had a mostly positive experience.

      Barnard College2017-04-21
    • "Summer Administrative Assistant in Career Development"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Barnard College part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours, mostly pleasant staff

      Cons

      Unorganized office and management team

      Barnard College2017-04-22
    • "Research Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Barnard College full-time

        Pros

        35 hr/week is full time here. Great benefits, work hours. I work in a small lab so I love the independence and flexibility, as well as interaction with students.

        Cons

        I don't really have any complaints.

        Barnard College2017-02-25
      • "Environmental Science TA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Environmental Science TA in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Barnard College part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Amazing teachers, good pay, and hands on training

        Cons

        Boring at times, a lot of red tape

        Barnard College2017-02-16
      Found 97 reviews