Barnard College Reviews | Glassdoor

Barnard College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Debora L. Spar
39 Ratings
  1. "Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnard College

    Pros

    Good vacation, nice people, fun to be on a college campis

    Cons

    Poor management bad benefits incredibly expensive insurance

    Barnard College2017-02-17
  2. "part time visual artist assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Barnard College

      Pros

      Great learning experience. Complimented the academic learning

      Cons

      A good experience and complimentary to the academic learning

      Barnard College2016-10-17
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Barnard College

      Pros

      There is a great family and team atmosphere, where your voice is heard and counts.

      Cons

      Cross campus interaction can be improved.

      Barnard College2016-10-15
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Director of BCIT Service Desk in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Very friendly work environment - Management will work with you if you need to flex your hours. - Great benefits - Professional development - Family orientated - Management is open to new ideas

      Cons

      - Compensation is below average. - Little room for career advancement

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work.

      Barnard College2016-10-05
    • "Fun!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Barnard College

      Pros

      Great people, interesting work, very flexible, supportive

      Cons

      Rushed during the busy season

      Barnard College2016-08-30
    • "Barnard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Barnard College

      Pros

      A small and supportive community of great colleagues

      Cons

      Limited upward mobility, and stagnant wages

      Barnard College2016-07-08
    • "Custodian"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Custodian in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I would get tips when the parents of the students stays at the college they would leave tips

      Cons

      It was no cons it was my first time working at a college

      Advice to Management

      None

      Barnard College2016-07-03
    • "Help Desk Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Help Desk Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Barnard College full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great college to work for. This was my first time coming from Corporate America to an organization like this. A bit of a culture shock, but what a great group of people to work for. The IT staff are competent, hard-working, helpful, collaborative, management will actually listen to you. Has a great CIO and my managerial peers worked well together to solve problems. The support teams worked hard and cared. Barnard,...

      Show More

      Cons

      It's work :-) so you expect there are days of insanity, but not many. The management cares and help you put forth solutions. It pays like a college, but I was happy with the pay for what I did - I got more out of the job than a paycheck. The con is more so I had to leave to take care of Family

      Advice to Management

      Keep the open spirit. Keep the team together. Don't forget you deserve fun, too. Employees like happily fulfilled leaders. Ensure that you continue your own leadership training and interactions through various networking and educational events.

      Barnard College2016-07-01
    • "It pays the bills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Barnard College

      Pros

      Laid back environment (in comparison to other places) that helps create a good work/life balance. The people here are a pleasure to work with for the most part and may can help you along the way. The benefits are pretty good as well.

      Cons

      People like to talk more than they need to. The college as a whole has all of these unnecessary politics and procedures (or lack of) that are not clear, along with some petty people. The bureaucracy just to get your job done is unpleasant. No growth either and the pay gets you by, but could be higher.

      Advice to Management

      Please don't hire petty managers (one is too many). Maybe upper management should listen to their staff to actually realize its not all sunshine and rainbows at work.

      Barnard College2016-07-14
    • "Great community"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Teaneck, NJ

        I have been working at Barnard College full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Like a medium-sized company, you know most people who work here. Great benefits and generous vacation.

        Cons

        Budget keeps staff pretty lean so that a few people are generating a ton of work. Few opportunities to really move up.

        Barnard College2016-07-14
      Found 96 reviews