Barnard Construction Reviews | Glassdoor

Barnard Construction Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tim Barnard
7 Ratings
  1. "Great People to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnard Construction full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I have never worked in construction before but i have learned alot. No corporate bureaucracy Alot of cross training Busy work environment Casual work enviroment

    Cons

    Workforce a bit segregated: office staff versus field staff High turnover rate - i believe these 2 cons are more related to the industry as apposed to the company.

    Advice to Management

    None - my boss was excellent!

    Barnard Construction2018-02-22
  2. "Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnard Construction

    Pros

    Great co workers Good pay Expanding work

    Cons

    Benefits are not great Lots of hours on salary pay

    Advice to Management

    .

    Barnard Construction2017-10-13
  3. "heavy equipment mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Heavy Equipment Mechanic in Lancaster, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnard Construction full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for !

    Cons

    Not enough work in Ca.

    Barnard Construction2017-06-15
  4. "Equipment operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equipment Operator in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnard Construction full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company. They r always looking for the safest way to perform your dutys

    Cons

    Formans do not listen to suggestions from employees. No supervisor to give advice or to answer questions

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your lowest employees performing the work dutys

    Barnard Construction2016-01-22
  5. "Decent pay for an intern."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnard Construction

    Pros

    Made 93000 dollars with Barnard on an 8 month college internship.

    Cons

    Not really any cons about this company.

    Advice to Management

    I love the management team here, they are so helpful and considerate

    Barnard Construction2015-10-28
  6. "Dynamic positive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnard Construction full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Team oriented positive environment, very friendly, works well together. Company works on the more challenging jobs bringing richer experience. Compensation and benefits average to better.

    Cons

    Can have high amounts of travel. During bids and estimating extended hours required.

    Advice to Management

    More training for new employees.

    Barnard Construction2014-07-14
  7. "Generally positive, great field experience, good intro into the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Project Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Barnard Construction for more than a year

      Pros

      Project team really positive environment, very friendly, work well together. Company very effective as a general contractor. Compensation and benefits N/A as I was an intern

      Cons

      Little involvement in engineering side of the work, much of office staff felt disconnected from the field construction. Other employees required to move very frequently.

      Advice to Management

      Get engineers more involved with the technical side of the work

      Barnard Construction2014-05-25
    • "Great people to work with."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Engineer in Bozeman, MT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Barnard Construction full-time

      Pros

      The people are great. When you are working on a job, the pay is great. As long as you show your potential, you will be given a lot of responsibility.

      Cons

      You must be willing to travel all across the US and now internationally. Salary in the home office is not great.

      Advice to Management

      Add more training and increase the salary in the home office.

      Barnard Construction2013-04-24
    • "Great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Barnard Construction full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits Nice bonuses

      Cons

      Low start out salary Lots of hours

      Barnard Construction2018-04-29
    Found 9 reviews