Barnes Aerospace Reviews | Glassdoor

Barnes Aerospace Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Barnes Aerospace CEO Roy Goldsmith (no image)
Roy Goldsmith
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and that’s literally it(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and for(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "NDT Level II Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inspector in Layton, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes Aerospace for more than a year

    Pros

    Barnes allowed me to excel in my career path of a Quality Inspector. Barnes allowed me to achieve me Level II certification while performing my daily duties... Over all a wonderful company to work for...

    Cons

    At this time they are on a hiring freeze. The 777 and 787 Airplanes that have been in service are being taking out of service. reduce work force.

    Advice to Management

    spend time with employees get to know them, get involved with whats happening on the floor. share thoughts and ideas with everyone to improve employee awareness.

    Barnes Aerospace2016-08-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent workers, horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes Aerospace full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overtime is available, even though there is little work to justify it. Co-workers are great, knowledgeable people.

    Cons

    Management is a dysfunctional team that cannot plan/schedule manufacturing and OTD of parts shows that. If you are not part of the "Good Ole Boys" club you will not advance. Friends and relatives of managers receive promotions and better pay than employees who have been here years longer. The insurance is expensive and very limited. HR is virtually non-existent. Those that run production and quality are not suited... for the job they hold.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Adjusting the pay-scale and benefits would improve morale. Perhaps seek more qualified individuals to fill the positions of management. Every department does not need a manager, supervisor, unit team lead AND cell leader (that is overkill). Listen to employees who have been working here for years as opposed to basing day-to-day decisions on your newly hired friend's advice.

    Barnes Aerospace2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in West Chester, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes Aerospace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and work life balance

    Cons

    Lack of cohesive long term plan

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep planning for month's end numbers

    Barnes Aerospace2019-01-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all cost TOXIC, TOXIC, TOXIC environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder in West Chester, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes Aerospace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Almost 4 weeks vacation right out of the gate.

    Cons

    One of the most toxic places I have worked for in my career as a welder. Turnover in the last year alone is probably 25-30% of the workforce & in the span of the year while I was still employed there at least a dozen skilled aerospace welders left this facility & that in itself should be cause for a major red flag. Qualified tig welders in the aerospace work force are not easy to come by welding this thin... exotic material. Have had numerous offenses in the shop with fights & confrontations as well as local police having to patrol & sit in the parking lot for fear of retaliation from disgruntled employees, "told you it was toxic" This all stemming from not having the people with the know how in upper management positions to defuse & to correct problems properly especially the HR department, very unprofessional for someone who is supposed to work for the company & it's people. It really is unfortunate cause there are some good employees there & it has the potential to thrive but not with the current management team. Barnes corperate I wish you would see the continued trend of your West Chester division & the things that are posted about it here so you may get an understanding how horrid it is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overhaul the whole West Chester division ASAP

    Barnes Aerospace2019-01-25
  5. "Challenging, fast pace. It has its ups and downs just like everywhere else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NPI Engineer in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes Aerospace full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are what makes Barnes a great place to work. Great bounces plans and profit sharing.

    Cons

    Barnes Aerospace is not a big company like Boeing, Northrop Grumman, etc.... It’s still growing. No flex schedules offered, like 4 - 10’s.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to get employees more involved so they can have more pride in their job and feel like they are more than another employee.

    Barnes Aerospace2018-06-19
  6. "Material Handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in West Chester, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes Aerospace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There no pros concerning working at Barnes Aerospace (West Chester.) None at all. A horrible place to work. Supervisor was a spineless weasel.

    Cons

    Management is clueless. Will not listen to any suggestions The hourly personnel are nothing but "cattle." Turnover rate is (both hourly and managemnt) is alarming. Cruise through the month, then "end of Month" day happens. 16-18 hour days are normal for this "panic attack," all due to poor production planning. I'd say this place will be "lights off" within 5 years. In addition, HR doesn't do their homework.... (Attempted to tell us we could not have our weapons in our vehicles while parked on company property. This is Ohio, yes we can.) They got schooled on that very quick, and with no mea culpa.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ever heard of "level loading?" No. Don't pay temps more than a full time employee. Look at what's going on before you waste time having a 1 hour "All Hands Meeting" that no one really cares about. All in all, management is inept.

    Barnes Aerospace2018-06-03
  7. "Welder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in West Chester, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes Aerospace full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company challenging been around for years and growing great people to work with employees are very helpful when it comes to being trained

    Cons

    Management needs to treat people with respect including Human Resources to many petty rules hourly employees get treated like 2nd class citizens sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Treat people who have dedicated themselves like they are important

    Barnes Aerospace2017-11-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Barnes is one of the worst companies in existence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hot Form in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes Aerospace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none, the management is driving out employees of 30+ years to not pay out retirements benefits

    Cons

    management will directly tell you to "NOT WORK HARD" yet will fire you for punching in 2 minutes too early, great investment of over a billion dollars and they wonder why more scrap leaves the back door than finished product out the front

    Advice to Management

    get new management, also when someone calls to Barnes HQ Human Resources to let them know about the horrific mismanagement, you have to call back 8 times over the course of 3 weeks to get a very rude lady to finally listen to how abhorrent of a company this is

    Barnes Aerospace2017-11-21
  9. "Decent Pay, Pricey Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes Aerospace full-time

    Pros

    There is a lot of room for advancement in this company but turnover has been high lately.

    Cons

    Benefits are good but are going to cost you.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge your employees. A little encouragement goes a long way.

    Barnes Aerospace2017-10-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Disabled vet fired for being 2 minutes late"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes Aerospace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and that’s literally it

    Cons

    Fired for being 2 minutes late and then after being told to punch in early was fired for punching in too early

    Advice to Management

    Talk to new hires before about how horrible it is to punch in ONE SINGLE SECOND LATE OR EARLY RESULTS IN firing via text on a Saturday

    Barnes Aerospace2017-11-05
Found 49 reviews