Barnes & Noble College Bookstores Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Barnes & Noble College Bookstores Chairman and CEO Michael Huseby (no image)
Michael Huseby
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, manager was very understanding and interested in training and growth(in 68 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule, learning experience, clean(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "All student employees receive minimum wage regardless of experience/how long you've worked there(in 96 reviews)

  • "low pay, but nothing else besides that(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Bookseller 

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time

    Pros

    Easy to catch up on and nice people

    Cons

    I can’t really think of any cons

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2019-10-31
  2. "Great College Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller and Cashier in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extensively worked around my school schedule to give me needed hours and ample time for classes

    Cons

    Lack of structure at times, the managers didnt always stick to their word

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-27
  3. "Good time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller in Hayward, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job was right on campus. The manager made it known that our class schedules took first priority and there were very few scheduling conflicts.

    Cons

    Some days could feel monotonous.

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-19
  4. "GREAT"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Clerk 

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time

    Pros

    the discount, staff, and Starbucks

    Cons

    it can busy during the holidays

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-19
  5. "Best work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Allocation Analyst in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible team that understands the importance of work life balance

    Cons

    lower compensation rates (however for the flexibility we have i feel its worth it)

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-14
  6. "Best Job Ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller/Receiving in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First company I worked for who was dedicated to their employees.. Breaks,, lunches, shifts, were seen too accordingly.

    Cons

    Covid-19 might be hard to come back from

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-14
  7. "Fun summer job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bookseller in Trenton, NJ
    Recommends

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work at Great people Lots of different positions to try out (cafe, textbooks, retail)

    Cons

    Managers can be strict at times

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-14
  8. "Very Good work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller and Cashier in Stafford, TX

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, manager was very understanding and interested in training and growth

    Cons

    low pay, but nothing else besides that

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-05-13
  9. "Recently retired"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    I have no complaints. Sorry

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-04-30
  10. "Good Summer time Job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Part Time Book Seller in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Barnes & Noble College Bookstores part-time

    Pros

    -Easy and chill - Standard customer service - Small and nice staff

    Cons

    -Not that many hours - You have to destroy perfectly fine books that are not "sellable" -Feels bad to sell overpriced books to college students

    Barnes & Noble College Bookstores2020-04-24
Found 990 reviews