Barnes & Noble Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Barnes & Noble Chief Executive Officer James Daunt (no image)
James Daunt
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You only are paid minimum wage with no raises over time(in 190 reviews)

  • "I worked 40 hour weeks every week for 4 months as a part time employee and never made overtime or received benefits(in 189 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great starter job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller and Cashier in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Books, coffee, and more books

    Cons

    shelving, cleaning, and not enough support in the cafe

    Barnes & Noble2019-07-09
  2. "Great Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Server in Fullerton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling, Great Supervisor, 40 % Discount for Employees, and Must be Trustworthy (lots of time there is no supervision during your shift)

    Cons

    Lack of support during rush time (ex./ you would be the only working cafe, fulfilling orders and making food + drinks for a good half an hour while your co-worker would be on a break), lunch would be given after 5 hours of work (but they would schedule you for a "5 hour shift" but make you take a lunch and only be paid for 4 1/2 hours

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-06-05
  3. "Good Place To Work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Cafe Server in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, enjoyed the customers (even the picky ones). The managers were very willing to work with you schedule wise and tried to give you the hours you wanted.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, constantly having to train new people.

    Barnes & Noble2020-06-03
  4. "Pretty standard part time retail job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - GM Bookseller 

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers/supervisors are all pretty nice, got along with everyone I worked with

    Cons

    Normal retail cons, tons of standing and walking around, not much time to sit down. Rush periods (start and ends of each semester) can get REALLY busy

    Barnes & Noble2020-06-01
  5. "Not a bad place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller and Cashier in Beavercreek, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a book program where the sellers can check out a book, read it, and bring it back. Kind of like a library so that you can better review books to people.

    Cons

    Standing at the register for hours.

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-05-29
  6. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller/Barista in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with books

    Cons

    Hours during holidays are brutal

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-05-22
  7. "Overall Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Bookseller 

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time

    Pros

    It's pretty much what you expect out of retail. I had great coworkers!

    Cons

    Like all retail jobs, sometimes you get obnoxious customers.

    Barnes & Noble2020-05-22
  8. "Great first time job opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Book Seller in Seaside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff is usually so helpful and supportive, especially towards the new hires.

    Cons

    Sometimes the workload can be overwelling if one is not used to it.

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-05-21
  9. "Retail work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cafe Staff in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes & Noble full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are an interesting mix of people who enjoy books.

    Cons

    The work is a little boring, most of the day you are shelving and retrieving books.

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-06-04
  10. "If memberships weren't a thing it would be an amazing job."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Book Seller in Westminster, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My location had a great team to work with, and generally nice customers who made the days fly by. There were discounts as well. I met a lot of good people working here. I left when I finished school and started my current job. I really enjoyed working here for the most part.

    Cons

    Memberships, memberships, and more memberships. You don't get much, if any, appreciation for making customers happy, being mentioned in several positive customer surveys, or having customers buy your book recommendations. -Constant high pressure from management to sell more memberships -No growth, high turnover (normal for retail) -Corporate makes all decisions for store layout, events, etc. No room for creativity or critical thinking (again, I think this is normal retail stuff).

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-05-20
Found 4118 reviews