KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Barnes & Noble

Is this your company?

Barnes & Noble

Add a Review

Barnes & Noble Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 405 of over 5,552 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Barnes & Noble Chief Executive Officer James Daunt (no image)
James Daunt
381 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly coworkers, good employee discount(in 405 reviews)

  • "The work environment is filled with nice people(in 194 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "paid state minimum wage which was low in my state(in 209 reviews)

  • "Almost all positions are part-time, but the workload can honestly be full-time(in 198 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Barnes & Noble and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "employee discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Friendly company!

      Oct 29, 2020 - Bookseller in Olympia, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      40% off employee discount, work with you for time off.

      Cons

      The customers could be awful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Impossibly Low Pay Rate No Matter How Long You Work There

      Dec 20, 2020 - Main Receiver/Bookseller in Roseville, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fellow book lover coworkers -High employee discount -Access to Advanced Reader copies of books -In my particular store, most management was nice and appreciative

      Cons

      -Dirt pay -Advancement comes with $0-$1 pay raise -Corporate doesn't care what the employees who actually work in the store every day have to say about anything -Zero benefits other than the employee discount (which won't help pay for bills or health insurance)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Back to Basics

      Dec 29, 2020 - Associate Product Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      employee discount, advance book copies

      Cons

      senior management (CEO) turnover, inconsistent vision

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall great place to work

      Aug 25, 2020 - Bookseller/Barista in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount is really nice: 30% on most items 40% on cafe items (you can apply your employee discount only as well. Really flexible and understanding of school schedules and of those who have kids. On the whole, customers are really nice and understand except during the holiday season. Always finding new books or games that I want to read or play.

      Cons

      Turnover at my store for promotions is really low, not many stores in my area. I transferred and my review was up for the new store and I didn't get as a high a review as I had the previous 4 yr and three different stores I worked at (little to no raise). Scheduling software is a pain to use. Managers that find excuses to be in the back. Fellow employees that would rather reorganize a table than help you with the line customers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun to work here!

      Jan 19, 2021 - Cafe Barista in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - easy going staff and management - good employee discount

      Cons

      - not an actual starbucks so you don't get the perks of being a starbucks employee - wish i got paid more

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jan 11, 2021 - Bookseller and Cashier in Eatontown, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great coworkers * Assistant managers were great to work with * Employee discount * Yearly review and salary increase

      Cons

      * Salary increases were very minimal

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice Enviroment

      Jan 11, 2021 - Brista in Braintree, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The colleges were nice to work with. Plus employee discount.

      Cons

      Hard to get a fulltime job or promotion.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great job, bad location

      Dec 3, 2020 - Bookseller in Hickory, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      medium foot traffic with loyal regular customers, great employee discount, decent hours, very flexible with schedules, easy enough for the pay

      Cons

      high turnover rate, understaffed during busy times and overstaffed when it's dead, guests are rude and smug at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I know it could be better

      Aug 16, 2020 - Cafe Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers and the employee discount.

      Cons

      Lack of attention from other departments, rough hours, working alone for long shifts, Cafe is expected to know how to handle Bookfloor tasks, while Bookfloor is never trained (as far as I've witnessed) to work in Cafe.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Nov 30, 2020 - Bookseller in Pittsford, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      management listens and cares decent pay decent employee discount

      Cons

      dying company so not many hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 405 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barnes & Noble Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barnes & Noble? Share Your Experiences

    or