KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Barnes & Noble

Is this your company?

Barnes & Noble

Add a Review

Barnes & Noble Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 208 of over 5,572 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Barnes & Noble Chief Executive Officer James Daunt (no image)
James Daunt
386 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly coworkers, good employee discount(in 405 reviews)

  • "The work environment is filled with nice people(in 194 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "paid state minimum wage which was low in my state(in 209 reviews)

  • "Almost all positions are part-time, but the workload can honestly be full-time(in 198 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Barnes & Noble and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Barnes and Noble Foxtail Coffee worker

      Jan 19, 2021 - Barista in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its an on campus job which makes it easier with classes

      Cons

      It pays minimum wage and you cant accept tips

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      For People Who Like The Smell of Books

      Jan 3, 2021 - Bookseller in Marlton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      30% off books, 20% off movies Chance to get a glimpse at new releases before others (not always, but sometimes). Typically kind customers; fellow book lovers Restocking/customer service is the most fun because you get a chance to really interact with new books and offer recommendations. Dress code is nice, I just got to dress like a little librarian every day. I loved my coworkers, even though I was the youngest there. My managers were very kind and understanding. I felt like a part of the little family

      Cons

      After a year of working there, I got relegated to just working register; not the worst experience, but definitely less interesting to me than actually working with the books. Minimum wage job, have to work a lot of hours to make a true living and, at least for me, no talk of any raise. Holiday hours are demanding and there are no acceptable excuses to call out on those days. Working to closing means staying there late, typically until 11-12, to restock and check the store (which I assume is normal for a retail store, but not something I knew when I started working there).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worked at a Barnes & Noble College store

      Jan 13, 2021 - Bookseller and Cashier in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours, social job on campus

      Cons

      paid state minimum wage which was low in my state

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Leadership mediocre pay.

      Dec 5, 2020 - Bookseller in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid leadership, better than minimum wage for easy work. Easy to work around scheduling.

      Cons

      Not that high above minimum wage.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      Dec 2, 2020 - Bookseller/Barista in West Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working around books and the people I work with are great.

      Cons

      Minimum wage pay, part-time only

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fine part time job

      Dec 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule with a nice team of people

      Cons

      minimum wage, pressure to sell membership cards

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Subpar Pay and Favoritism

      Nov 23, 2020 - Seasonal Sales Associate in Columbia, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good if you're looking for your first job -laid back work atmosphere for the most part

      Cons

      - not enough pay for the amount of work -favoritism particularly from management; would only give certain people more hours and be more critical towards certain employees - minimal training but expects you to know everything -minimum wage ( $11/hr), pay ALL depends on numbers of hours so if you barely got any; the pay was insufficient

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good to start but no room to grow

      Nov 18, 2020 - Bookseller/Barista in Aurora, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone who works there are kind and welcoming individuals. It's become almost like a family.

      Cons

      Inconsistent schedule plus questionable management decisions. Low pay is another issue. When base minimum wage went up for the state, salaries did not scale with it. Now new hires make the same amount that someone who's been there for over five years does.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Only if desperate or no other options

      Nov 11, 2020 - Sales Associate/Cashier in College Station, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - flexible schedules - on campus

      Cons

      - minimum wage - lack of hours - no room to grow - forced to work game days and other events

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Loved working here

      Oct 23, 2020 - Bookseller in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, understanding management, easy to follow dress code

      Cons

      Minimum wage job, no medical benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barnes & Noble Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barnes & Noble? Share Your Experiences

    or