Barona Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

Barona Casino Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Rick Salinas
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's often joked that it is just like high school(in 3 reviews)

  • "It is hard to grow in a company that is amazing because no one wants to leave(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Everything is awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Marketing Specialist II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barona Casino full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Medical Dental Vision Education Reimbursement Holiday Bonus Electric Vehicle Charging Station Subsidized meals and Free meals on holidays Internship opportunities 401 k matching

    Cons

    It is hard to grow in a company that is amazing because no one wants to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget me!

    Barona Casino2019-03-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Lakeside, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barona Casino full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, $3 lunches, nice coworkers, yearly bonuses. They dont do layoffs like other casinos in the area.

    Cons

    Wildcat Canyon is a pain. Favoritism is a problem. No room for growth for professional employees.

    Advice to Management

    Promoting people who have flirtatious relationships with executive management is really bad form. This has caused a huge decrease in morale in my department. If said employee was not such a slacker, it would not be so upsetting.

    Barona Casino2019-03-20
  3. "No thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Barona Casino

      Pros

      Benefits, some of the workers are good

      Cons

      Does not care what their employees think or need. Lets you hear what you want to hear but does not care what your opinions are even if they positive and helpful.

      Barona Casino2019-04-15
    • "All cash for the tips"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Poker Dealer in Lakeside, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Barona Casino full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      health insurance is great good pay

      Cons

      I just hate people smoke

      Barona Casino2019-03-01
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Guest Room Attendant in Lakeside, CA
      Recommends

      I worked at Barona Casino full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benifets and good pay beautiful location

      Cons

      To high school with the gossip at times

      Barona Casino2018-10-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "If you’re not tribal you won’t get far"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Hotel in Lakeside, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Barona Casino full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits, dental, health, vision, life, 401k. Cheap meals, employee discount.

      Cons

      Tribal members are put always chosen first over employees with talent or experienced. They get weekends off and better perks. You’re supposed to let players talk you down and be rude to you all the tome, and upper management do nothing about it. Forget about weekends off or holidays off, they just care about you coming to work.

      Advice to Management

      CEO seem to not care, you can be replace anytime.

      Barona Casino2018-08-29
    • "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in La Mesa, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Barona Casino full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Freedom and the ability to build projects from scratch, own, and maintain them.

      Cons

      aggressive job loss intimidation threats lies child kidnapping.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate with your employees until their is nothing illegal happening in their lives. Be real stop hiding and stop getting rid of your best people. Maybe if you would have done my background check properly you would have been able to warm me that I was living with the most viscous criminals in San Diego and saved 100s of lives. You could have said exactly this to me: "You have 30 days to leave your current residence...

      Show More
      Barona Casino2018-07-20
    • "Drink Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Barona Casino full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits. Full time hours. Terrific crew to work with.

      Cons

      Difficult to get a daytime schedule. Working in a smoke filled environment.

      Advice to Management

      Appreciate your workers.

      Barona Casino2018-06-07
    • "VIP Host at Barona Resort and Casino"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Barona Casino full-time

      Pros

      Great co workers, management. Fun work environment.

      Cons

      Schedule, hours of operation, no holidays off.

      Barona Casino2018-06-05
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Barona Casino full-time

      Pros

      Great company and great benefits

      Cons

      You have to be in to get the benefits

      Barona Casino2018-05-14
    Found 54 reviews