Barrett Business Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Barrett Business Services Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Barrett Business Services CEO Mike Elich
Mike Elich
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No raises, poor upper management and low integrity organization(in 12 reviews)

  • "Bonuses have disappeared and the calculation of profit sharing is not transparent(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best HR Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrett Business Services full-time

    Pros

    Best HR job I've ever had. Lots of Autonomy, constantly learning

    Cons

    There aren't yearly raises, but that can be made up in bonuses. Pays above market

    Barrett Business Services2019-09-09
  2. "Growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant 

    I have been working at Barrett Business Services full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, growth and advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Still assessing potential cons here

    Barrett Business Services2019-11-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Medical equipment product builder assignment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Builder 

    I worked at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn new stuffs building medical equipment.

    Cons

    Pay rate is a little low.

    Barrett Business Services2019-10-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Good schedule.

    Cons

    Profit sharing structure sucks. No room for advancement. Behind on technology.

    Advice to Management

    Stop spending so much damn money. All it’s doing is coming straight off the bottom line

    Barrett Business Services2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (8)

    "This place is the laughing stock of PEO's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Partner in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing. Bottom 10% of leadership when it comes to a publicly traded companies. These people are complete liars and the most lazy, narcissistic people in the world.

    Cons

    This is the laughing stock of PEO's. They pride themselves on having high level conversations and promising a 3 to 1 return on investment when 99% of their clients are from extremely blue collar industries that are just trying to avoid the high cost of workers compensation in those industries. Clients come to us for cheap work comp, not high level conversations. The high level PEO's go in for benefits and have... high level conversations with CEO's and CFO's with work comp being secondary. This company is a complete joke and it starts at the top. Keep being the PEO that lends itself to risks you can't cover under the guise of being the Cadillac of PEO's is the biggest joke in the industry and everyone knows it. These losers tried benefits and couldn't get it right....enough said

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resign before your shareholders come to grips with how sorry you are and how toxic you've made a company that has been perpetuated on lies. You are not qualified to run this company and each shareholder deserves much more.

    Barrett Business Services2019-09-29
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Low Integrity and poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Partner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Partnering with and helping Business Owners

    Cons

    No raises, poor upper management and low integrity organization. Hides rates from their clients and makes money off their taxes by bait and switch tactics. Rewarded clients with “Renewal Incentive “ that was actually their overpayment of FUTA. Perhaps not illegal but highly unethical and immoral

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so arrogant, listen to your employees and don’t be afraid to seek external input

    Barrett Business Services2019-09-15
  8. Helpful (11)

    "So much potential, but a sad reality of dysfunction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The compensation is very fair. There are some great people that work at the various offices.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect from what is sold and what the clients want. The management team touts the CORE values, but does not demonstrate them in the daily life of a BBSI employee. It's a roll up your sleeves environment which is fine, when you have the support of Management. The leaders will throw anyone under the bus when it suits them. Distributed leadership is talked about 24/7 but is not actually practiced.... Many of the "best practice" guidance given to the clients is not followed at the branch level. Ego is supposed to be left behind. It's surprising that the management team can get through the doors with the size of their egos.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. It is impossible to help others when you don't have your own house in order.

    Barrett Business Services2019-07-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Specialist in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with BBSI nearly a year and I can honestly say I am so happy I joined their team. This company truly cares about their employees and offers great benefits. What impresses me most, however, is how BBSI is fantastic at making their clients feel like they are a priority. We are a large company but still manage to give our clients that personal attention and make sure they're happy and taken care of. ... BBSI Corporate does a great job of advising the different branches and being an overall great support system. I see a long career for myself here and look forward to many years with my great coworkers!

    Show More

    Cons

    It would be great it each branch had an IT employee instead of having to rely on Corporate for IT issues.

    Barrett Business Services2019-07-02
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Worst experience in my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrett Business Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None except meeting some nice people

    Cons

    Don’t pay you the IRS mileage rate they pay less. No vacation until one year. Toxic environment want to take on clients that can’t even meet payroll. Company is smoke and mirrors and is terribly run from the branch offices to the top

    Barrett Business Services2019-07-31
  11. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrett Business Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best work I have ever done. Truly a company that helps business owners.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Barrett Business Services2019-06-17
Found 134 reviews