Barrick Gold Intern - Hourly Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern - Hourly

Barrick Gold Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 197 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Barrick Gold CEO Mark Bristow
Mark Bristow
5 Ratings
  1. "Good company, not great at software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, friendly environment. Not afraid to spend money and try new things.

    Cons

    Never really "got" tech. Lots of promising projects got killed too soon.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from mistakes, digital is good but you bit off more than you could chew. Start small and grow.

    Barrick Gold2019-02-08
  2. "Great learning opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Great mentor ship, pay is great, talented coworkers.

    Cons

    Long commute, small community to live in.

    Barrick Gold2019-09-18
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security and Safety Supervisor in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful schedule when everything is running smoothly.

    Cons

    Long travel times and you are expected to be available 24/7

    Barrick Gold2019-08-31
  4. "I operate there 940E haul trucks there 777 haul trucks and there water trucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - 930E Haul Truck Driver 

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company to work for safety before production

    Cons

    Drive time from work to home we have to be bused in and out by coach busses

    Barrick Gold2019-08-12
  5. "Lots of changes over the past year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    They are the only major employer in rural NV now and they know it

    Cons

    The new CEO expects everyone to be married to their job

    Advice to Management

    Respect employee work life balance, you can't hold onto people the way things are.

    Barrick Gold2019-08-11
  6. "Great Benefits, Good Pay, Lots of time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Behind the times need to catch up to modern mining

    Barrick Gold2019-07-08
  7. "Goldstrike Underground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Just A Number in Elko, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    Pay is better than most employers, however Elko is expensive and a terrible a place to live. Insurance, 401K.

    Cons

    Work life balance. Management has no real management or leadership skills. The underground is ran by a dictator and he rules by fear, posturing, intimidation, and demeaning employee's. This creates a threatening and hostile work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Replace the ruler (ops superintendent) of the underground. Reevaluate others managers at the underground and replace accordingly. I would rate career opportunities higher, however it is driven by politics, nothing else.

    Barrick Gold2019-04-14
  8. "Process ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    The company has a very strong focus on Safety

    Cons

    Training on equipment (Loaders, skidsteers, ect.) is done by other operators rather than through a formal training program.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see a stronger training program that ensures operators are as safe as possible while operating equipment

    Barrick Gold2019-01-21
  9. "Mining Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mining Engineer 

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good 401K, nice people

    Cons

    Commute time, overturn in company, low salary

    Barrick Gold2019-01-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company but has issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instrument Technician in Cortez, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, Training, Freedom in some positions

    Cons

    understaffed, drive time, family life suffers

    Advice to Management

    Hire better qualified people Pay compensation compared to other mine companies

    Barrick Gold2018-11-21
Found 197 reviews