Barrick Gold Reviews | Glassdoor

Barrick Gold Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Barrick Gold CEO Mark Bristow
Mark Bristow
4 Ratings
  1. "Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    Pay was good, the safety culture is excellent. Free bus trips to work. Lots of time off.

    Cons

    The commute is long, working hours are long, and they are a 24/7 facility so expect overnight shifts.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-11-09
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, mostly great people. Flexible schedule was available at times.

    Cons

    Keeps headcount down, so work can get heaped. Hard to get additional experience in other areas sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-10-06
  3. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked with dedicated, professional, well educated people from all walks of life. Everyone is treated as equals despite job title or place within the company. It was an incredible experience to work with such a diverse range of people that all seemed to get along and work well together. I truly believe Barrick hires the best of the best for every position.

    Cons

    The only con was being laid off along with most of the Salt Lake City office.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-10-05
  4. "Top corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Electrician in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing negative about Barrick Goldstrike.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-10-05
  5. "Senior Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Progressive work assignments are available

    Cons

    Sometimes projects are located hinterland

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-09-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Top of their game within the mining industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Crescent Valley, NV

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The Mining industry is tough. The hours are long, mining sometimes means being bused 1-2 hours each way to the mine site and work life balance is hard. Most people in the Nevada mining industry understand this, however the way a particular mining company treats its employees can make all the difference. In my experience in the time I worked for Barrick Cortez, they genuinely cared about their employees. They paid well and treated there employees with respect. They have a proactive safety culture and encouraged employee participation. Overall the experience was positive and rewarding.

    Cons

    Mining can be a dangerous occupation by nature. Long hours, work site is not always close to where employees live. Work life balance is difficult.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-03-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Large tier company, same problems as other companies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    Mostly good coworkers on the staff and middle level. Benefits in line with competitors. Good portfolio for immediate future.

    Cons

    Variable quality of senior managers. Pay below industry standard consistently by 10-15%. Low flexibility and no career mobility.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-02-26
  8. "Good Company, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Better than average Salary, and OK life/work balance

    Cons

    Lots of work, keeps you very busy.

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-01-20
  9. "Good company but lots of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    I really like doing it here, great people and flexibility and understanding

    Cons

    Lots of turnover and structural changes that caused stress and uncertainty

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-01-13
  10. "operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Barrick Gold for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good team work with in crew

    Cons

    long bus rides management doesnot always play fair

    Continue reading
    Barrick Gold2017-01-21
Found 192 reviews