Barrick Gold "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Barrick Gold Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 234 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Barrick Gold CEO Mark Bristow
Mark Bristow
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wokring on a mine site on a rotational basis means that it can be hard sometimes to have to spend time away from the family(in 8 reviews)

  • "For the most part, the work-life balance is very reasonable(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, mostly great people. Flexible schedule was available at times.

    Cons

    Keeps headcount down, so work can get heaped. Hard to get additional experience in other areas sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, spend as much on training and development as you do on technology.

    Barrick Gold2017-10-06
  2. "Top corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Electrician in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing negative about Barrick Goldstrike.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for my opportunity there. Had to leave because of my family issue.

    Barrick Gold2017-10-05
  3. "Good company but lots of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    I really like doing it here, great people and flexibility and understanding

    Cons

    Lots of turnover and structural changes that caused stress and uncertainty

    Barrick Gold2017-01-13
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    great people, great pay, mostly helpful

    Cons

    not always organized, long drives

    Barrick Gold2016-09-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Once Great, Now Lost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some really great people. Sadly, that is about all the is to say on the "Pro" side.

    Cons

    All of the mining people who where in upper management have been run off and replaced with bean counters with no clue about mining and only concerned with their own bonus package. They sell off mines then insist on more production from less resources. They'll see a short term boost in the market, but it cannot be sustained.

    Advice to Management

    Hire some executives who have a least some mining expertise (other than counting the profits).

    Barrick Gold2016-09-26
  6. "anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay, great safety culture across company, great people to work with, great company overall to work for with pretty stable job.

    Cons

    Can be really long drives to the mine sites and really early hours to accommodate the schedules. The mining industry is a little scary right now with low gold prices.

    Barrick Gold2015-10-29
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Good Company, great people, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Major restructuring within the company currently

    Barrick Gold2015-08-12
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Great people in Operations, Tech Services, Maintenance, awesome pay for interns, and free housing. Truly a wonderful learning opportunity; I was able to spend time learning from every department on site. The focus on safety may seem constraining at first, but "Everyone going home safe and healthy every day" is worth it.

    Cons

    The only con's I can think of would be the early wakeup time since I'm not a morning person, but the pay and opportunities to learn and grow outweigh that by miles.

    Advice to Management

    Look within for areas of improvement. Current employees are knowledgeable.

    Barrick Gold2014-09-23
  9. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    great opportunities, great people, good management all together make for an excellent work environment that is better than most other companies

    Cons

    Some of the locations can be in remote areas which are hard to get to. However, some people may enjoy that.

    Advice to Management

    It is a good company that has a lot of great employees. Keep taking care of the employees and success will continue.

    Barrick Gold2012-04-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great compensation, great location.

    Cons

    New leadership team. Chairman is not a miner and it shows. President and CEO is a yes man. The old leadership team was very good and cared but this new team is not interested in its employees other than those in the C suite

    Advice to Management

    Bring back miners to run the company, not financiers and military personnel with no mining background

    Barrick Gold2017-09-03
Found 234 reviews