Barrick Gold "mine site" Reviews | Glassdoor

Barrick Gold Employee Reviews about "mine site"

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 234 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Barrick Gold CEO Mark Bristow
Mark Bristow
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wokring on a mine site on a rotational basis means that it can be hard sometimes to have to spend time away from the family(in 8 reviews)

  • "For the most part, the work-life balance is very reasonable(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mine site"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place, but long commute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Elko, NV
    Recommends

    I worked at Barrick Gold for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, and great safety practices.

    Cons

    The 1.5 hour bus commute each way to and from the mine site was a bit difficult at times.

    Barrick Gold2018-09-18
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    - Support from full time employees and all levels of management - Competitive wage - Free housing for duration of internship - 3 day weekends

    Cons

    Long bus ride to and from the mine site

    Barrick Gold2017-11-19
  3. "Environmental engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Good work environment, competent staff and leadership

    Cons

    Long commute to mine site

    Barrick Gold2017-09-24
  4. "anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Barrick Gold full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay, great safety culture across company, great people to work with, great company overall to work for with pretty stable job.

    Cons

    Can be really long drives to the mine sites and really early hours to accommodate the schedules. The mining industry is a little scary right now with low gold prices.

    Barrick Gold2015-10-29
  5. "Mining Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Barrick Gold for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, competetive pay, interesting and meaningful work, they are truly a safety based company by that I mean they walk the talk.

    Cons

    low morale due to mandatory overtime and disconnect between corporate and mine sites. low gold price means cost cutting every thing they can including employees.

    Advice to Management

    Spend less money on your corporate jets flying in and out of Canda when your "core" mines are located in NV. Make corporate cuts don't "starve" your most profitable mines.

    Barrick Gold2015-09-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Barrick is a great company to work for and they work really hard to their employees safe."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Good benefits and safe company in a dangerous industry. The employees are great to work with and create a great team environment.

    Cons

    Driving to the various mine sites throughout the area can take a long time. Housing and rent can be expensive living in some of the areas.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep the health benefits as good as possible.

    Barrick Gold2014-10-28
  7. "Fantastic internship oppurtunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Hygiene Intern in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barrick Gold for less than a year

    Pros

    Being mentored as an industrial hygienist, paid housing, great pay

    Cons

    The Drive out to the mine site

    Advice to Management

    Bigger and better projects

    Barrick Gold2013-11-25
  8. "Fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barrick Gold

    Pros

    Barrick promotes itself as a leader in the industry, I feel this is true as the people I work with are good people, and there is a good culture.

    Cons

    Wokring on a mine site on a rotational basis means that it can be hard sometimes to have to spend time away from the family. The roster are pretty good though so that makes it bearable.

    Barrick Gold2011-06-14
Found 234 reviews