Basin Electric Power Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Basin Electric Power  CEO and General Manager Paul Sukut (no image)
Paul Sukut
17 Ratings
  1. "Pilot"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits, schedule and coworkers

    Cons

    none come to mind now

    Basin Electric Power2018-08-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "WORST POWER COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED FOR."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Lineman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent equipment, Set around and played cards and played on the computer instead of working if you like that and do not care if your actual ability and skills are valued.

    Cons

    Weeks and weeks away from home. Authoritarian management style. Incredibly cultish environment. " Its a GOOD COMPANY" repeated over and over again until people actually believed it was true. (It was not). Like most electric cooperatives Basin has a lot of corruption and wastes a tremendous amount of money. In the last year their poor management and out of control spending finally caught up to them. It's a really poor environment to work in and my friends who stayed say it only gets worse. Basin's environment breeds tattle tails and brown noses as that and riding the safety train is how you move up in is this company. I hated Basin while I was there and 2 years later still despise it. If you have a backbone and can think for yourself and you like to work- hate meetings and being non productive do not work at Basin

    Continue reading
    Basin Electric Power2018-12-26
  3. "Communications Technician"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time

    Pros

    Team environment, willingness to help.

    Cons

    Remote location was difficult to adjust too.

    Continue reading
    Basin Electric Power2018-11-19
  4. "Fine place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay and benefits, On-site cafe, partnership with YMCA for child care, nice people, walking path, no car amount of holidays

    Cons

    Slow to change, sometimes the co-op aspect makes it overly political, would like to see more diversity at executive level and on the board if directors

    Basin Electric Power2018-02-27
  5. "Stable regional employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The energy industry provides job stability as there will always be a need for energy providers. The pay is high for the region of location and the benefits offered are very good.

    Cons

    Senior management hasn't received much of a refresh in many years therefore the culture has not been allowed to move forward with the times.

    Basin Electric Power2017-08-25
  6. "Travel Coordinator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Scheduler/Travel Consultant in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cooperative and a wonderful company to work for

    Cons

    Great benefits and insurance and I love my job and my hours

    Continue reading
    Basin Electric Power2017-08-20
  7. "Good benefits, old school though"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and a company that cares about it's employees health and wellness.

    Cons

    Utilities move slow, so does this one.

    Continue reading
    Basin Electric Power2017-07-05
  8. "Great Upper Management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gillett, WI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, wages are top of the line, pension and 401k are great, working conditions are top notch, safety is key.

    Cons

    Local upper management very self centered not open to new or innovative ideas. Business as usual. More cost driven than customer oriented.

    Continue reading
    Basin Electric Power2017-04-03
  9. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and wages, flexible schedules

    Cons

    Culture is always changing, departments are constantly reorganizing

    Basin Electric Power2017-01-30
  10. "Good Outfit to Work For"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Protection Technician in Beulah, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Basin Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Basin has a mostly positive culture, at least in the division I work in. At the "corporate" level, Basin runs with quite a bit of transparency. Also, they are not profit driven. Benefits are quite good, especially the retirement.

    Cons

    For whatever reason, some employees have quite a lot of un-deserved arrogance and certain levels of management appear to support if not encourage it.

    Continue reading
    Basin Electric Power2016-12-30
Found 28 reviews