Bass, Berry & Sims Reviews | Glassdoor

Bass, Berry & Sims Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Bass, Berry & Sims CEO Todd J. Rolapp (no image)
Todd J. Rolapp
12 Ratings
  1. "Very good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Non Attorney 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment with senior management support.

    Cons

    Starting vacation time is one week less than my last two employers.

    Bass, Berry & Sims2017-07-22
  2. "Quiet office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Administrator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quiet and friendly, great location if you love working in downtown DC. Close to metro rail and bus.

    Cons

    Little to no flexibility for admin staff.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more flexibility and work from home opportunities for admin staff.

    Bass, Berry & Sims2019-08-07
  3. "Great Firm if you like working for male tyrant egomaniacs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i really cant think of one

    Cons

    lots of attorneys with awful borderline personalities and God-complexes. i wouldn't even consider this firm in the Top 5 due to its misfortunate set of personalities. Myfirst week i was closing on a house and i asked--the word "asked" emphasized if i could fax some necessary papers to the mortgage co and the answer was "no"

    Advice to Management

    start over

    Bass, Berry & Sims2019-02-20
  4. "Excellent Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, caring management and excellent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    None noted at this time.

    Bass, Berry & Sims2018-07-28
  5. "Marketing & Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time

    Pros

    The firm provides great benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of career opportunities/upward mobility.

    Bass, Berry & Sims2017-11-01
  6. "legal assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time

    Pros

    It was a pleasure working with most of the people and lasting friendships are made.

    Cons

    Salaries, raises and benefits are low compared to other law firms in the area; bonuses are unrealistic and when even given are not calculated on your own performance so it doesn't matter how much you give to the company; management takes liberties while the real work is done by everyone else.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate and compensate those who do all the work to earn the company their millions of dollars.

    Bass, Berry & Sims2017-03-06
  7. "Great firm with lots of great people. I enjoyed my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Technology Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great firm with a lot of really nice people. A very professional and collegial atmosphere with challenging work, and well managed for the most part. Most everyone is smart and hard working and there can be longs hours at times (depending on what department you're in) but there is a feeling of being part of a team. They provide you what you need to get the job done. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes a lack of planning by some can create fire drills for others but this is probably true of most large law firms.

    Bass, Berry & Sims2017-01-19
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time

    Pros

    substantive work given to junior attorneys; competitive pay; friendly partners and associates; firm likes to develop and train attorneys

    Cons

    lack of name recognition outside Tennessee

    Bass, Berry & Sims2016-12-13
  9. "Wonderful firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Legal Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass, Berry & Sims for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, easy to work with people, beautiful offices

    Cons

    Parking is expensive downtown and only partially compensated

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work atmosphere!

    Bass, Berry & Sims2016-09-05
  10. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bass, Berry & Sims full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well-respected, very nice people, interesting client work,

    Cons

    Not much promotion ladder for professionals

    Bass, Berry & Sims2016-01-08
Found 19 reviews