Bass Pro Shops "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bass Pro Shops Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Bass Pro Shops President Michael P. McDermott
Michael P. McDermott
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "fairly low pay, typical of retail(in 46 reviews)

  • "Men in upper management use their authority to flirt with the younger women(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Clarksville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Build social skills Customer service is good to have on a resume

    Cons

    Low pay You may get low hours when there isn't a major sale going on

    Bass Pro Shops2019-03-14
  2. "PT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PT Sales Associate in Branson, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible hours -great employee discounts -great interactions with customers

    Cons

    -fairly low pay, typical of retail

    Bass Pro Shops2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers for the most part.

    Cons

    Low Pay, Blatant favoritism! Some people get away with breaking every rule in the book and other get written up for the smallest infractions. Customer Service manager is worthless at Baltimore store.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent with employees. Don't let certain people bully/harass employees with no consequences.

    Bass Pro Shops2019-05-16
  4. "No Management Loyalty to Long Term Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hunting Associate in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some Associates were excellent Employee discounts were good - what kept me there for 6 years

    Cons

    Dishonesty and deception from store -level Management. Revolving door - high turnover Low pay Hours and positions will be cut one week - then a few weeks later they will post a hiring fair for new employees. This is most likely an attempt to reduce costs by replacing the few long term employees with new lower paid entry level employees. Ultimately, the customer suffers as there is no real experience base to educate customers on products. Too much emphasis on selling the Capital One Club credit card to customers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No need for two locations in Anchorage, AK. Close Mountainview location and combine / expand South Anchorage location. Educate store level management on employment practices liability issues. Since Bass Pro products are replacing Cabelas products at the “Cabela’s” store - just rename it Outdoor World and consider Bass Pro, Cabela’s, Tracker, etc. brand /product lines. Long-standing Cabela’s customers are abandoning the store in favor of Sportsman’s Warehouse. We don’t have “Bass” in Alaska and the BassPro logo merchandise doesn’t sell well here.

    Show More
    Bass Pro Shops2019-04-11
  5. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount and team friendly environment.

    Cons

    Low pay and takes a while to move up.

    Bass Pro Shops2019-03-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it for the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Macon, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly employees, holiday treats (candy at Halloween, turkey lunch for Thanksgiving, etc.)

    Cons

    A lot of back-stab politics with management. Low pay.

    Bass Pro Shops2018-08-10
  7. "Pretty Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time

    Pros

    Fun people, room to grow

    Cons

    Low pay, poor benefits available

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see better communication across the departments and rules/regulations being enforced.

    Bass Pro Shops2018-03-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working here has went downhill in the seven years that I have held part-time employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations in Concord, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, some of our customers; there isn’t a lot of great things to say. I would honestly advise applying for Walmart or Target if retail is your thing: they start you off at $15 an hour unlike BPS.

    Cons

    management, terrible schedules, lack of recognition, low pay, few advancement opportunities, lack of communication, lack of leads that act like leads and ‘lead by example’.

    Advice to Management

    Start valuing your employees that have shown long-term commitment to Bass Pro. Offer better pay and more incentives to sell gear guards, credit cards, and donations. Work with employees and their schedules if they are reliable, hard working employees.

    Bass Pro Shops2018-02-01
  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops part-time

    Pros

    Fun and fast paced most of the time..

    Cons

    Low pay, hours are not as flexible as they once were.

    Bass Pro Shops2017-12-01
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time

    Pros

    Great Place to work at.

    Cons

    low pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Bass Pro Shops2017-11-03
Found 46 reviews