Bass Pro Shops "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bass Pro Shops Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Bass Pro Shops President Michael P. McDermott
Michael P. McDermott
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "fairly low pay, typical of retail(in 46 reviews)

  • "Men in upper management use their authority to flirt with the younger women(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Customer Relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time

    Pros

    Loved my position and my ditties performed

    Cons

    The upper management staff were very clicky.

    Bass Pro Shops2018-10-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Front end worker, customer service & cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations in Kodak, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    30 Minute lunch breaks Decent employee discount on the Bass Pro brands

    Cons

    Management and favoritism Men in upper management use their authority to flirt with the younger women. You feel pressured to go along with it in order to stay in good graces with the company. Minimal room for advancement - Makes an okay starter job if you're coming out of high school. This isn't a job you would want to make a career out of.

    Bass Pro Shops2019-11-18
  3. "Not what I was promised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Acworth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the associates are really great to work with. Really laid back environment.

    Cons

    I was in training when upper management informed us that part of our job includes selling the Club Cards (in house CC) and that we even have personal goals that we have to meet each month. They hire new employees instead of promoting from within.

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2019-05-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Eh. Not what you think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay for managers Somewhat good morale Ok hours

    Cons

    Favoritism Spending money on things and charities when they can't afford to keep employees Not loyal to anyone Upper management in denial of store conditions Low hours for hourly associates Schedules not posted three weeks in advance

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2018-04-16
  5. "Upper management is the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment, solid team, lots of things to learn.

    Cons

    Upper management does not value you, pay structure is horrible

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2018-03-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful work environment. Great staff

    Cons

    No structure in Food and Beverage side of business. No support system. No consistent disiplinary action. Lots of favoritism in upper management.

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2017-12-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time

    Pros

    This is a place to learn the basic skills of customer service and selling.

    Cons

    All departments are severely understaffed but are still expected to achieve high standards. Leads are doing management work, full timers lead work, and part timers doing full time work for laughable pay and are constantly being told their work is not good enough. We have not been given the tools to succeed and each day you are expected to be belittled by upper management in either an email, verbal, or a morning huddle. If you're really lucky, all three in the same day. Upper management never comes out of their offices and you see other managers pick up the slack by pulling 16-18 hour days.

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2017-10-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Retirement Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Macon, GA

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and easy retirement job.

    Cons

    Upper management is not concerned with fair treatment of all employees.

    Bass Pro Shops2017-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very biased company, worked there for many years and never got a decent raise, was taken advantage of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apparel Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have a very nice Employee discount They off Sick pay for full time associates Vacation days (two weeks after two years)

    Cons

    Not enough hours for associates No job security (they're constantly getting rid of positions include upper management) If you aren't a "managers favorite" you aren't moving up in the company even when you are the most qualified Crazy HR rules that they seem to make up and enforce even when not mentioned in their handbook

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2017-03-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in East Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bass Pro Shops full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees to work with. Negotiable wages.

    Cons

    Upper management has a very negative outlook on things.

    Continue reading
    Bass Pro Shops2017-01-31
Found 42 reviews