Bath & Body Works Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Bath & Body Works CEO Nick Coe
Nick Coe
1,645 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of free products each month(in 266 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment during the holidays(in 205 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "We had call-in shifts so there were days you would have a temporary schedule and would have to call in to see if they needed you or not(in 283 reviews)

  • "Work life balance was challenging(in 193 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Bath & Body Works and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Jan 12, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People and products were amazing

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good College Job

      Apr 7, 2021 - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This job is usually pretty fun, and it can teach many skills about teamwork and marketing. Free items every month or so is also fun! Usually hours are pretty flexible, which works great around a college student schedule. It is 18+ only, due to labor laws. It's a really fun work environment if you like talking to people!

      Cons

      Occasionally, when sales are bad, unfair strain is placed on lower level employees, such as sales associates. If the store doesn't make it to the daily sales plan often, they are told to work harder and do better. Which is all fine, but when sales are really good, there is very, VERY rarely reward of any sort. If it's outstanding then you'll get something like early news about things coming to the store soon. Employees would rather have an actual reward for their hard work. I've recently found out that if a District Manager's store doesn't make sales, they don't get their bonus. But they rarely work the shifts that lower level employees do. They don't spend even close to 15hrs a week at their stores, but they get the bonus from the lower level employee's hard work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Work Life Balance

      May 4, 2021 - Store Manager in Washington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounts, First to see new products, know about sales happening beforehand

      Cons

      Turnover rate, stressful, return policy, shoplifting,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It’s Okay

      May 6, 2021 - Sales Associate in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Gratis. - Flexible Schedule. - Customers are not bad, rare to have a very rude customer. - Easy to pick up and learn things.

      Cons

      - Lack of hours. They only do 3 hour shifts for part time associates. - Pressure to sell, sell, sell. Even when a customer makes it clear they don’t want help or want to be left alone, you must help them or else management gets on employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great for a short time

      Mar 4, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was a great work environment for a shorter period of time. I worked for this employer for just over 5 years. I started seasonally with them while in college for my bachelor's. I was 19 when I started with the company and 24 when I left. It is a high energy job. The work atmosphere was positive and I truly enjoyed my time there however, working over nights to do floor sets several times a month is only sustainable for so long when you are also working regular day time hours. I worked at 4 different locations during my time with the company. My worst experience was when working at a smaller location it would be several hours in the morning before a second employee came into work. I did not feel comfortable leaving the floor even to use the restroom because there was always the chance of a customer coming in.

      Cons

      Working swing shifts nights and days due to floor sets. Working alone for several hours at a time. Long hours on your feet. Mediocre pay.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      May 7, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is always upbeat and great to work with!

      Cons

      Part time not guaranteed hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s retail!

      May 6, 2021 - Sales Associate in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best things about working here is all of the stuff that the company lets you purchase for cheap. This is rare but happens

      Cons

      You have to work most holidays such as Christmas Eve

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great team!

      Mar 27, 2021 - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great team environment. A lot of understanding and acceptance that I haven't seen anywhere else. Fakeness is not a thing at this company, nor is it desired. - Getting to work with people and getting to the root of what they are actually shopping for. - The products. Need I say more?

      Cons

      - Pay is not the best. It's retail and all based on cash flow (I get it), but it still sucks. - Letting customers get away with things just to keep them happy and not have it look as a bad reflection on the company, this tends to put workers in an awkward position. - Hours. I got lots of them because I wanted them. I also put on my game face everyday when I went in. You have to want it. You have to be hungry or you won't get them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great People, horrible company.

      Mar 26, 2021 - Sales Associate in Deerfield Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starting pay good gratis simple yet satisfying tasks (if you’re a perfectionist, you’ll love this job)

      Cons

      CALL INS- every shift you get, you’ll also get a call in. It’s basically a 2-4 hour extension on your shift. So your 4 hour shift can turn into an 8 hour shift but the thing is, you don’t know until you get there and ask if they’re keeping your call in or in some cases an HOUR before your normal shift is supposed to be done, talk about a let down. Everytime you clock out, either a manger or supervisor has to “check you out”. Basically they push a button that then start to record you going through your purse, unzipping every little bag and pocket just do you can prove you haven’t stolen anything. The distrust this company has in its employees who are worked like slaves especially during holiday, is disgusting. I’ve worked for the company for over 2 year and have even got promoted to “offsite lead” (which means you can go out to the pods without a manager) and YET still no raise. If you’re scheduled for shipment, just forget about your schedule, you don’t leave until shipment is done. And when you’re the only one scheduled to get through over 200 boxes, looks like you’re spending the whole day there. (which seems a little illegal to me)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The BEST Specialty Retail Company!!!

      Apr 25, 2021 - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A company who really cares. Diverse, inclusive, really listens to its associates! I love seeing the new products when they come in and getting free gratis to try. It’s like Christmas every day!

      Cons

      Not really any. Probably the only thing I can think of is having to return mostly used products where customers are obviously trying to get a brand new full product. It’s frustrating when customers take advantage!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,421 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bath & Body Works Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bath & Body Works? Share Your Experiences

    or