Bay Star Ambulance Service Reviews

Updated May 7, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Bay Star Ambulance Service President Charles Bryan (no image)
Charles Bryan
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    My Review for Baystar Ambulance Service

    Oct 12, 2015 - EMT-Basic in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, great schedule, great pay.

    Cons

    I have no Cons. It's a fine company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Baytown Emt

    Jul 18, 2015 - EMT-Basic in Baytown, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I asked other medics what are some good qualities of working at baystar were, I was often told that it may be bad but it wasn't the worst private ambulance they have worked at and at least you get a consistent pay check every week. I feel that when coworkers can only say that your business isn't the worst that they have ever worked for you probably aren't doing a good job as a business owner or manager. You will have the ability to pick up large amounts overtime but depending on the staffing on the ambulance which varies from week to week you might find yourself working 24 hour shifts without rest and it is not unusual to see people work multiple shifts back to back which may be nice when pay day comes but it is not uncommon for medics to have accidents due to lack of sleep especially here because there is not any regulation on amount of overtime you are allowed to pick up.

    Cons

    Down time does not make a company any money and they will not let you forget that. Otherwise I'll tell you that the turnover rate speaks for it self. You will constantly receive text messages about open shifts, you can take that as a pro or con but remember that if you receive multiple messages about open shifts a day before you are seduced to work expect to be very short handed when you come into work the next day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    Nov 9, 2014 - EMT in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bay Star was my first EMS job. I started there in 2010 and just left in June of this year taking a job with a Fire Department. Hands down one of the best jobs I've had. For me, it was the atmosphere. We all got along, great. Very little drama around the station and management didn't harass us. Lots of teamwork which made the job easier. The ambulances and equipment were all kept in good shape.

    Cons

    Really no cons, other than getting off late most of the time. But, this is EMS and any job where your working shifts, it's the nature of the beast. I guess those that complain, never really had a real job. The fire department i work for now, I still don't get off on time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Your crew is great, your bosses are not so great.

    May 7, 2016 - EMT-P 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great employees to work with! They are who keep you going. Bay Star hires genuinely good people who want to do right by their patients and be the best medics they can be to their community. Your fellow coworkers make the job and so do your patients.

    Cons

    The main issue is management. Never have I had such a conflict with patient and client satisfaction and management dissatisfaction. It is hard coming off multiple days of work adding up to a 72+ work week and being cussed out, thrown objects at, and having said "I own you, you won't make it out there anywhere else," knowing your fellow coworkers and you do a great job. There is complete distrust in management. There is always having the status of your job and pay in question being nerve wracking. I was told when the company first started it use to be family environment, but overtime it has become buisness oriented. Which is sad to see because the potential is there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love it here. (employed 5 years)

    Oct 25, 2014 - Paramedic in Katy, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    x Family atmosphere x Drama free and stress free x Awesome calls x Good people who work as a team x Great money compared to local competition x Good equipment x Lots of bonuses x Feed us all the time x Lots of overtime x Respect from nurses and doctors x Owners are nice people x Management doesn't micromanage x Nice stations

    Cons

    x Get rid of the bad apples x People not cleaning their trucks x Crews complaining about going on calls x Get a new dispatch supervisor x Find better supervisors with experience

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Job, horrible management.

    Sep 5, 2014 - EMT in Baytown, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, plenty of great experience. It truly feels like a family. Like every company there's drama, but I guess the drama here is not as much. The owners are very nice.

    Cons

    It feels like a family until you need something....then management just runs and hides. Some certain inviduals in management are rude for no apparent reason. The pay sucks. They play favorites and treat everyone like a number.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Go somewhere else!

    Jan 15, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    On the service this company does come across as family... the only problem is that it is a very dysfunctional family! When you go there be ready to check all facts and take anything that is said by management as verbal vomit.

    Cons

    This company is a farce! Raises are promised but slow if they come at all. They hire new medics and will start them at a higher rate then employees that have been with them for years. You would almost be better suited to quit and re-hire to get the higher rate of pay. The management does come across as pro-employee but I have personally heard the upper management say about their staff ... "Remember when dealing with the medics were want to pat them on the head but screw them in the bum when you get the chance!" Not the place I would consider employee friendly. I was told so many lies at the time of my employment that I finally walked off after my shift, never to return. When looking for an EMS job there are far better!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Lots of sitting

    May 14, 2014 - EMT in Baytown, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Private ems is just well... private ems i guess the pros would be -gaining EMS experience -further knowledge on the medical side -lots of different hospitals, you're never in the same place

    Cons

    -pay was terrible -was stressed about losing my job due to lay offs -sitting in ambulance in random parts of the town because they won't rebuild stations

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Field Crew!

    May 5, 2016 - EMT-Basic in Baytown, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Field Crews are great people, 98% of them at least. The Mechanics, Porter, and Maitenance are good people too. The newer vehicles are ok.

    Cons

    Old equipment is dangerous, Medic 31's brakes don't work! Pay is ok, the best Medic they have went full-time at another place. The other best Medic is going to walk too. The two top Supervisors aren't even Paramedics! Ratting people out to management is rewarded, working things out between Adults can get you fired. They have a cook that fixes meals every once in a while...don't get in the way of billing on the way to the trough though, they'll run you over, never mind the crews working ladies, your more important then anyone else!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Go somewhere else!!!

    Mar 21, 2016 - EMT-Basic in Baytown, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always got paid on time, tons of overtime, more hospital transfers than dialysis transfers. Pay was decent.

    Cons

    Got paid on time, but often was shorted hours, hardly ever got paid to check off my truck, was told to "get enroute to the call and check the truck on the way". Tons of overtime means theres alot of trucks not running, so you must pick up the slack. You are 100% responsible to get the insurance paperwork filled out by the nurses, and you have a time quota that you must meet while on scene. Often got yelled at for stopping to use the restroom, hardly had time to heat up my cup of noodles. 95% of the trucks have over 250k miles. And often something was major wrong with them. "Sexual harassment will not be reported, but will be graded" so I was constantly being sexually harassed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Work at Bay Star Ambulance Service? Share Your Experiences

Bay Star Ambulance Service logo
or