Bay Star Ambulance Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Bay Star Ambulance Service Reviews

Updated 7 May 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Bay Star Ambulance Service CEO Charles Bryan (no image)
Charles Bryan
10 Ratings
  1. "My Review for Baystar Ambulance Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    EMT-Basic in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bay Star Ambulance Service

    Pros

    Great company, great schedule, great pay.

    Cons

    I have no Cons. It's a fine company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2015-10-12
  2. "Your crew is great, your bosses are not so great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-P 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employees to work with! They are who keep you going. Bay Star hires genuinely good people who want to do right by their patients and be the best medics they can be to their community. Your fellow coworkers make the job and so do your patients.

    Cons

    The main issue is management. Never have I had such a conflict with patient and client satisfaction and management dissatisfaction. It is hard coming off multiple days of work adding up to a 72+ work week and being cussed out, thrown objects at, and having said "I own you, you won't make it out there anywhere else," knowing your fellow coworkers and you do a great job. There is complete distrust in management. There... is always having the status of your job and pay in question being nerve wracking. I was told when the company first started it use to be family environment, but overtime it has become buisness oriented. Which is sad to see because the potential is there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company to better hearted people that care about their workers and value their workers. Your company attracks really good hearted, genuine, and well skilled individuals that love what they do and care for their patients. You should show appreciation to them, they make the company.

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2016-05-07
  3. "Great Field Crew!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Field Crews are great people, 98% of them at least. The Mechanics, Porter, and Maitenance are good people too. The newer vehicles are ok.

    Cons

    Old equipment is dangerous, Medic 31's brakes don't work! Pay is ok, the best Medic they have went full-time at another place. The other best Medic is going to walk too. The two top Supervisors aren't even Paramedics! Ratting people out to management is rewarded, working things out between Adults can get you fired. They have a cook that fixes meals every once in a while...don't get in the way of billing on the way... to the trough though, they'll run you over, never mind the crews working ladies, your more important then anyone else!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior Management...GET A CLUE AND WAKE UP!!! You are all disconnected from the Job! The Family is DEAD, and you all killed them...

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2016-05-05
  4. "So, so bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not the worst pay Good hours with plenty of OT

    Cons

    Management is horrible at this place, more so than anywhere I've seen before. Although this company promotes a family environment you cannot go to supervisors or management with an issue. The owners are clueless and rude. The field employees are what makes this place bearable. The reason for so much ot is because they can't keep people, especially paramedics. Management talks badly about employees, to other... employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management shouldn't be a monopoly of married couples.

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2016-04-21
  5. "Go somewhere else!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always got paid on time, tons of overtime, more hospital transfers than dialysis transfers. Pay was decent.

    Cons

    Got paid on time, but often was shorted hours, hardly ever got paid to check off my truck, was told to "get enroute to the call and check the truck on the way". Tons of overtime means theres alot of trucks not running, so you must pick up the slack. You are 100% responsible to get the insurance paperwork filled out by the nurses, and you have a time quota that you must meet while on scene. Often got yelled at for... stopping to use the restroom, hardly had time to heat up my cup of noodles. 95% of the trucks have over 250k miles. And often something was major wrong with them. "Sexual harassment will not be reported, but will be graded" so I was constantly being sexually harassed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to your field crews, also dont forget where you started out at......On. The. Truck. Money isnt everything.

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2016-03-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Baystar Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Medical Technician in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime hours Multiple locations in Houston to work at Good contracts with Houston Methodist, Texas Children's, and HCA Sign on bonuses Good insurance plans

    Cons

    Only a few trucks with less that 200,000 miles The sign on bonuses are not given to you upon date of employment but rather they are given to you after 3 months and at the end of each year for 2-5 years depending on whether you are an emt or paramedic and they require that you sign a contract of employment for that period of time. There seems to be a revolving door of new employees with only a few that have... been there longer than a few months. Pay is somewhat competitive but only if compared to smaller ems companies in the area and if you factor in the sign on bonuses they equate to about 50 cents an hour increase You are required to have your ambulance off when you are not transporting a patient, this can lead to very hot work day's during the summer if you are constantly in and out of your ambulance on short trips If you damage any equipment or lose a radio on shift you will be required to pay for it Protocols are relatively simple but very dated and lacking in pain management and pediatric's which is a little worrying considering that Texas Children's accounts for a large amount of their transports Dispatch takes place over 800mhz radios with information also sent to your phone Communication with management is sparse at times and usually ranges from rigid enforcement of policies for a short period or absolute silence unless there is an issue They provide very good insurance plans but subsidize very little on their end which requires you to pay quite a bit out of every pay check if you choose to be insured through them Upon being hired you are required to buy a uniform from them but they do give out t-shirts for free at various times during the year They are the only company I have ever worked for that required me to pay to have my pay check direct deposited, you also have the option of a paper check which will not cost you anything to receive Call volume changes just like any ems service but you may have a occasional long distance transport during a shift which can take you anywhere in the state. These are usually covered by people who pick them up as overtime but if no one volunteers then a truck on duty has to take it

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire new management

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2015-10-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "EMT-B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic in North Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional ethics with patients, Very clean trucks and stations, and fast paced.

    Cons

    Employees with seniority are given to much authority and favoritism over other employees of the same patch by upper management.

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2015-08-28
  8. "Baytown Emt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I asked other medics what are some good qualities of working at baystar were, I was often told that it may be bad but it wasn't the worst private ambulance they have worked at and at least you get a consistent pay check every week. I feel that when coworkers can only say that your business isn't the worst that they have ever worked for you probably aren't doing a good job as a business owner or manager. You... will have the ability to pick up large amounts overtime but depending on the staffing on the ambulance which varies from week to week you might find yourself working 24 hour shifts without rest and it is not unusual to see people work multiple shifts back to back which may be nice when pay day comes but it is not uncommon for medics to have accidents due to lack of sleep especially here because there is not any regulation on amount of overtime you are allowed to pick up.

    Show More

    Cons

    Down time does not make a company any money and they will not let you forget that. Otherwise I'll tell you that the turnover rate speaks for it self. You will constantly receive text messages about open shifts, you can take that as a pro or con but remember that if you receive multiple messages about open shifts a day before you are seduced to work expect to be very short handed when you come into work the next day.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize that the consistent turn over rate is saying something about your ability to lead and not something about your employees

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2015-07-18
  9. "Go somewhere else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bay Star Ambulance Service

    Pros

    On the service this company does come across as family... the only problem is that it is a very dysfunctional family! When you go there be ready to check all facts and take anything that is said by management as verbal vomit.

    Cons

    This company is a farce! Raises are promised but slow if they come at all. They hire new medics and will start them at a higher rate then employees that have been with them for years. You would almost be better suited to quit and re-hire to get the higher rate of pay. The management does come across as pro-employee but I have personally heard the upper management say about their staff ... "Remember when dealing... with the medics were want to pat them on the head but screw them in the bum when you get the chance!" Not the place I would consider employee friendly. I was told so many lies at the time of my employment that I finally walked off after my shift, never to return. When looking for an EMS job there are far better!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Say what you mean and mean what you say. Try to actually like and appreciate your employees, they do after all make you money.

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2015-01-15
  10. "Fairly new employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    EMT in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bay Star Ambulance Service

    Pros

    Some overtime. They offer benefits.

    Cons

    overtime is limited. They do not pay based on years of experience it means nothing to them.

    Bay Star Ambulance Service2014-12-04
Found 15 reviews