Bayfront Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Bayfront Health Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Bayfront Health CEO John McLain (no image)
John McLain
6 Ratings
  1. "Nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bayfront Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary, decent work environment

    Cons

    Understaffed, no organized training, unorganized

    Bayfront Health2018-10-02
  2. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bayfront Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers were a great team to work with.

    Cons

    Constantly understaffed. Floated to other departments at least once a week.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more nurses and techs in order to provide better patient care.

    Bayfront Health2018-10-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff RN in Punta Gorda, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bayfront Health for more than a year

    Pros

    Some really great coworkers, easy commute, smaller environment

    Cons

    Horrible CEO who looks at both staff and patients as numbers not people, his major focus is on profit. While I understand with reimbursement cuts hospitals have to closely monitor budget but their are ways to be financially responsible without sacrificing quality of care......to me it seems fairly easy to make the connection between doing the right things for staff and patients, providing quality care and ensuring... safety - all these things will increase numbers, increase profit and increase patient and staff satisfaction. Keep cutting as numbers go down ....keep sacrificing quality of care until nothing’s left. Bottom line you have to invest and put your heart in if you want the hospital to be successful and see a profit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do what’s right for patients and make decisions based on how you’d want yourself, your family/loved ones and friends to be cared for. Would you want yourself or your loved ones to be admitted to a floor or treated in an emergency department without adequate staffing .....having delays in call lights being answered, delays in pain being managed and possibly even delay in rescue of life threatening change of condition.... Staff wants to provide excellent care that’s why they went into healthcare, give them the resources and support they need to do their jobs and give patients the care they deserve.

    Show More
    Bayfront Health2018-09-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bayfront Health

    Pros

    I gained knowledge and experience

    Cons

    It depends on who you work for

    Advice to Management

    Watch turnover, where there is smoke there is 🔥

    Bayfront Health2018-09-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work there as a RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, Critical Care in Punta Gorda, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bayfront Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    hmm, not much...the doctors are great to talk to and get orders from. Most respect nurses. Ipod touch to scan medications and round on patient.

    Cons

    This list is long. there is not a defined place to look at patients information, you still have to use multiple systems to look at patients information. IPod touch is neat because you have portable system but I can't look at lab values, doctor notes, or previous vital/output trend. You have to use another system for that. There is paper charting and we still have to verify and sign every other on paper. Staffing... is joke, med surgery nurses float to a pcu level. On a pcu level you could have up to 6 patients with no free charge nurse, charge nurse has 4-5 pts as well. Management, haha they are too worried about threatening people and suspending them than anything. Oh don't forget let's test the staff to see how long a call light gets answered by going in patients room and telling them push the light and see how long it takes. Oh and pay is horrible, pays way less than other facilities for more work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help staff, stop worrying about little things and get down and help. By calling the nurse to tell them, patient needs to go to bathroom or IV is beeping is not good enough. Be in charge and useful.

    Bayfront Health2018-09-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Healthcare for profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Punta Gorda, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bayfront Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is dedicated, especially the ER staff

    Cons

    Hospital is being run by a large for profit entity who puts as little as possible back into the facility

    Advice to Management

    None

    Bayfront Health2018-09-11
  7. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bayfront Health full-time

    Pros

    Good food in cafeteria, annual employee picnic

    Cons

    Poor senior management, incompetent and not qualified for positions. High turn-over with senior management (CEO, COO, CFO)

    Bayfront Health2018-08-07
  8. "Medical Records Tech."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL

    I have been working at Bayfront Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work

    Cons

    Don't have any cons about what I do

    Bayfront Health2018-06-22
  9. "Be ready for heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bayfront Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good benefits package - excellent health care coverage.

    Cons

    Be prepared for a heavy workload. Patient ratios are very high. Management demands very hard work with low staffing levels.

    Advice to Management

    Hire appropriate number of employees to complete required tasks in a safe and timely manner.

    Bayfront Health2018-03-04
  10. "SO SAD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Spring Hill, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bayfront Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A paycheck every 2 weeks

    Cons

    Lack of management, and pay, fast turnaround

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR staff BETTER

    Bayfront Health2018-03-15
Found 116 reviews