Baylor Scott & White Health Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Baylor Scott & White Health President & CEO James H. Hinton (no image)
James H. Hinton
481 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Hospital System, Good benefits(in 76 reviews)

  • "Good excellent professional service great place(in 72 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay/not many opportunities for OT(in 42 reviews)

  • "Upper management disconnected to floors(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Baylor Scott & White Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      This is my calling

      Mar 10, 2021 - Talent Acquisition in Temple, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, outgoing, hame away from home, up-to-date, love my job, easy to speak your mind, open to change.

      Cons

      I really can't think of one

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Baylor Scott & White Health Response

      Marketing and Media Consultant

      Thank you for sharing the love! Our employees are the heart of the organization, and we appreciate your service and commitment.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 20, 2021 - Caregiver, CNA 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay benefits and the teamwork

      Cons

      None to speak of really

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Baylor Scott & White Health Response

      Marketing and Media Consultant

      We are thrilled to hear you are happy with the benefits Baylor Scott & White Health offers. Thank you for sharing us. It is greatly appreciated!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great staff and management team

      May 3, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Rockwall, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      amazing staff of Rn's, Dr.'s and management. very flexible with scheduling

      Cons

      no computer charting and lots of patient calling

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nurse at Baylor

      May 4, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Arlington, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Environment, Friendly Staff, Nice docs to work with

      Cons

      Short staff, low pay, overworked

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great place to work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at Baylor Scott and White are great to work with. Everyone is very respectful and quick to recognize the work of their teammates.

      Cons

      Because it's a large organization with many governing bodies, getting items approved or completed can take some time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Baylor Scott & White Health Response

      Marketing and Media Consultant

      You're right about the respect and teamwork that exists at Baylor Scott & White Health. Employees are the heart of our organization, and we're happy you are part of the family! Thank you for sharing your experience!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      May 3, 2021 - Medical Coder II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home is great.

      Cons

      Learning different specialities can be a challenge.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Unfair Salary and Heavy Workload

      Feb 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a big company in Texas so you will feel proud working here. People are friendly and the work pace is kind of slow.

      Cons

      Turnover is too high. The impact on myself is that I have been unable to adjust my salary for 3 years due to involuntary internal transitions and frequent changes in the management, even though my performance review has been excellent. The leadership positions were vacant for a long time so I was told to wait until the new leaders had settled down. And then the discussion was pushed back as we had Covid and so many changes going on. My whole team has been struggling with our pay and heavy workload. My overall impression on the salary at Baylor is that they really need to analyze the market and pay their current employee fairly. New hires with less experience and competencies can get more than senior employees who make more contribution, which looks strange. Other than that, workplace bullying, politics, and unethical behaviors can be seen in the department I am working at, but no one has had the courage to report or stop the situations. I am not saying it's common, but it happened to my coworkers and it caused mental issues working here. There are so many great companies that really show appreciation to their employees, but Baylor is not one of them. The leadership barely take the actions that make us feel they really care about the employees. They just come and go with a lot of bonus.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place to Work

      Apr 8, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Grapevine, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for several Baylor facilities and the culture at each facility is different, I can say Grapevine is my favorite. Management is in touch with the reality of working on the floor and are supportive of employees. They will invest in your growth as an employee if you express interest. Tuition reimbursement! HCAHPS are generally favorable for $$bonuses$$. Insurance is pretty good for singles and married couples.

      Cons

      Poor pool of PCT's... which are essential for a floor to run, treat PCT's better! RN's are paid less than other hospital systems in the metroplex for the same work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Baylor Scott & White Health Response

      Marketing and Media Consultant

      We are thrilled to hear of your positive experience at Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Grapevine! Employees are the heart of our organization, and we are lucky you are part of the Baylor Scott & White family! Thank you for also sharing your concerns. We appreciate your honest feedback. We encourage you to communicate your concerns with your supervisor so they can help you address these concerns.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      GREAT

      May 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Poor nurse patient ratios per unit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stay away

      Mar 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low level management truly cares about employees

      Cons

      Upper level management places absolutely no value on employees. Even those employees that worked long hours and did the heaviest lifting throughout the pandemic were outsourced without a second thought. Information Services work is about to grind to a halt as almost all experienced employees flood out the door long before their "knowledge transfers" take place with their outsourced replacements. They are bringing in fresh consultants with no experience to train their outsourced staff in India. A recipe for disaster. Unless you work in direct contact with patients. do not even think about working here. Your job is not safe at all and you are highly likely to be outsourced and forced to train your replacements before being cut entirely. Oh, and all of this outsourcing occurred after several fiscal quarters of record profits, so it is not related to the pandemic or associated financial challenges whatsoever. This was pure greed and awful/outdated management techniques to boost short term profits.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,030 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Baylor Scott & White Health Job Seekers

    Graduate Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Physician Office Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Baylor Scott & White Health? Share Your Experiences

    or