Baylor University Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Teaching Assistant

Baylor University Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Baylor University President Linda A. Livingstone
Linda A. Livingstone
2 Ratings
  1. "RA/TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time

    Pros

    Baylor is a great place to work.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    Baylor University2019-10-24
  2. "Very good and flexible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, well paid compared with UT, A&M, and location.

    Cons

    Location might be a factor for some!

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the professors I've worked with have had reasonable expectations, and seem to want me to succeed without feeling too much pressure from my TA duties. They've also given me interesting opportunities to learn new, marketable skills as part of my duties.

    Cons

    There are no major cons to this role.

    Baylor University2019-02-09

    Baylor University Response

    February 11, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. Always great to hear there's a connection from the duties as a TA to developing marketable skills.

    Continue reading
  4. "Graduate Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Higher than average PhD stipends, cheap cost of living.

    Cons

    Badly ran school, many professors don't have RA funding so you're stuck teaching which detracts from your research, and the surrounding town is depressing.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2018-06-11
  5. "It is a great school. Town is small but really affordable. Pay is good enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very beautiful campus. Friendly people. High ranking in science(My Field). You enjoy the environment and the traditional events. The leadership is wonderful.

    Cons

    The only bad thing is the city is a little small and there is not much fun in there as a large city. However, the university itself has many events.

    Baylor University2014-10-17
  6. "I like working in Baylor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like the christianity environment, and professors are really nice, and students are very supportive

    Cons

    Waco is a small city, and there is not that much entertaining facilities.

    Baylor University2013-12-21
  7. "One of the few remaining Master's programs that compensates their graduate students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation for graduate studies relative to living costs in Waco.

    Cons

    Teaching Assistant assignments are inconsistent. Some semesters it will be a lot of work (20+ hours/wk). Others it will be an easy load.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2013-09-12
  8. "It was great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to be where I feel they care.

    Cons

    As a graduate student, the administration can treat student like children.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2013-08-15
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work enviroment was outstanding. Professors great to work with and always going above and beyond to help the students understand the material and master it.

    Cons

    No cons existed outside of the normal teaching realm. Trouble with some students, but overall the good students far out-weighed the poor. Like I said this is typical for any teaching position.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2012-09-26
  10. "It was a great time, though sometimes felt like I was being treated like a child."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teaching Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University

    Pros

    Baylor is a great school. I believe it is one that truly cares. Recently advances have been made to better compensate graduate students and bring incentives up to par.

    Cons

    As a graduate student you sometimes treated as a child by the university. The belief that your situation is similar to that of an undergraduate and that you need constant supervision prevails.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2011-08-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews