Baylor University "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Baylor University Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Baylor University President Linda A. Livingstone
Linda A. Livingstone
87 Ratings
  1. "Engineering Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Student Worker in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule to work with class schedule -Flexible hours during busy project and test weeks -Can do homework in down time at work

    Cons

    -hours based on seniority so first semester or so may not have the best hours -doesn't pay more then minimum wage but this is a small price to pay compared to the benefits

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2015-06-22
  2. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked as a research assistant at the Baylor University School of Law. I had a great experience with the faculty and staff as well as the HR department.

    Cons

    The pay as a research assistant isn't great, but it was higher than minimum wage and provided much-needed supplemental income.

    Baylor University2015-06-08
  3. "Usher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Usher in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Baylor University

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Involvement with mostly interesting events

    Cons

    Minimum Wage on your feet for most of the time, though the shifts are usually not too long

    Baylor University2015-04-23
  4. "Great for College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to study while working. Work directly with advisors who are good with people. Hours are great for college students.

    Cons

    Not much to do besides study and the occasional task. Pays minimum wage and is not challenging whatsoever. Can be boring at times and keeps me from having leisure time in schedule.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2014-11-04
  5. "Great Place with a Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work study jobs were great professional development to accompany education. Everything was really flexible to work around the student schedule.

    Cons

    Many work study jobs are minimum wage, and with scheduling sometimes hours would be low. Other than that it was great.

    Baylor University2014-06-07
  6. "Best place to work in the world!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker - Outdoor Adventure in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great staff, great community

    Cons

    Student worker jobs are federal work study jobs so the pay is minimum wage. (However, with more years and taking on leadership you can get a slight raise!)

    Baylor University2013-03-20
  7. "Great college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of time to study while working, other OA's and CL's are always around to hang out with, residents are friendly

    Cons

    Work gets boring, the hours can be inconvenient: late nights and weekends, little incentive to work hard, pay is minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2012-10-15
  8. "Working at Baylor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Worker in Waco, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Baylor University

    Pros

    Working at Baylor is great. I love being able to work on the same campus where I go to class and thus develop professional as well as educational relationships with faculty on campus.

    Cons

    Minimum wage is standard for student workers and the number of hours you can work each week is limited.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2010-10-12
  9. "Baylor University Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Baylor University

    Pros

    Great people and fun interacting with other students

    Cons

    Only minimum wage since it's a student position

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2014-12-28
  10. "Easy work, minimal pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University

    Pros

    The work is very easy. The scheduling is pretty flexible since its split among the other staff. The environment is friendly.

    Cons

    The work is very easy. The pay is only minimum wage since it is work study. Also, no room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2011-12-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews