Baylor University "waco" Reviews | Glassdoor

Baylor University Employee Reviews about "waco"

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Baylor University President Linda A. Livingstone
Linda A. Livingstone
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The future of the pay system for students is in question; they might drop to minimum wage(in 20 reviews)

  • "Located in Waco and dallas texas(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "waco"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Faith based university Competitive salary Great team to work with

    Cons

    Located in Waco and dallas texas

    Baylor University2019-03-15

    Baylor University Response

    March 29, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed working with a great team in the faith based environment.

    Continue reading
  2. "STEM PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Student 

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cost of living is cheaper in Waco than several other areas in the US. Baylor has excellent research facilities and easy access to all types of scientific equipment.

    Cons

    Not a big city, so there are limited options for activities. It's very, very warm here in the summer. Annual salary for graduate students is less than the national average.

    Baylor University2019-04-30
  3. "From a longtime grad student at Baylor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Baylor are the people it brings together. There's something magic about the Baylor/Waco community. I don't think I'll find another community like this one.

    Cons

    The summer is hot. There are way too many administrators. Faculty and grad students do not get paid enough for how much money the school has (evidenced by how much it's paying admin). It is also a little too family-oriented. For families this is obviously a pro. But for young, single people it can present some challenges.

    Baylor University2018-05-08
  4. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Baylor University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture of service and community

    Cons

    The location (Waco, TX) isn't the best.

    Baylor University2018-01-04
  5. "Stuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big part of Waco. When you say you work for Baylor, all the strangers in Waco seem to respect that.

    Cons

    Everything is done how it has always been done and that will never change. Numerous suggestions to supervisors and human resources have gone entirely ignored as far as allowing contribution toward progress and advancement: it is 2017 and there are certain ways Baylor is very, very, behind on the times. No one is knowledgeable outside their 'bubble' of jurisdiction and don't seem to give a whit about serving students if it isn't specifically written in their job descriptions. No room for upward mobility until you're already at a certain high level, it seems to be acceptable around here to just stay in one entry position for 10+ years and therefore no presence of the concept of rewarding hard working employees with promotions from within. No guidance or clear chain of command, particularly when younger employees have to babysit older employees on very basic computer skills. Mistakes are unfairly punished for some and brushed off for others, No one dresses professionally or follows rules for 'work time' versus 'personal time'. I wish I had been hired somewhere else but I'm financially dependent on this position.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2017-08-02
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time

    Pros

    Access to facilities including the Gym, beautiful campus, modern buildings

    Cons

    Living in Waco, controversial reputation

    Baylor University2017-04-30
  7. "Interning Assistant Residence Hall Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baylor University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great community, good facilities, beautiful campus, up-and-coming city in Waco, family values

    Cons

    Pay not always as competitive, Campus Living & Learning leadership at times caught up with what they want to do in the future versus what's currently needed

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2016-08-20
  8. "wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Baylor University

    Pros

    the people are absolutely wonderful; if you are looking for a great Christian environment to work in, Baylor is the place

    Cons

    - waco, while on the rise, still doesn't have much to do

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2016-06-08
  9. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time

    Pros

    The people and education are incredible. The professors really want you to succeed and they want to prepare you for the your job after graduation

    Cons

    Waco Texas is not a big city so it is tough to look for jobs after school in Waco in which you can move up a lot in a company.

    Continue reading
    Baylor University2016-03-17
  10. "Postdoc researcher in Baylor University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Baylor University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    low life expense in WACO

    Cons

    inconvenience, very small town, high crime rate

    Baylor University2016-02-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews