Beachbody Reviews

Updated May 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Beachbody Chairman and CEO Carl Daikeler (no image)
Carl Daikeler
197 Ratings
Pros
  • "My work is meaningful and I'm truly helping people change their lives(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good freelance rates, great people to work with, free shakeology(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management claims to have a hiring freeze but brings in multiple VPs with ridiculous salaries(in 30 reviews)

  • "There should be more compensation opportunities for emerald coaches(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "I love this place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company Culture. Mission to Change Lives. Commitment to their Employees. Empowering their Employees. Passion. Creativity, Vision and Innovation. It's Hard Work but Teamwork.

    Cons

    There are none. The negative reviews are from people who weren't patient enough to realize businesses have ups and down and challenges. We're a product innovation and creativity machine, which can be too much for some people to handle. It’s not a good place if you don’t like to work. The people that thrive are the people who are passionate and hard working, actually relentless. I find it fun, exhilarating and uplifting! There's a reason we've been around 20 years, from the CEO down, we believe and never quit.

    Beachbody2019-08-04
  2. "Best Place Ever To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, interesting projects and conducive working environment

    Cons

    I have no negative comments.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2020-01-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Smart people, a lot of process"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Santa Monica, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, made friends, gym, shakebar

    Cons

    Not necessarily the best decision making processes, people afraid to speak up to management, lots of levels

    Beachbody2020-05-09
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Right hand: 'Wait. What did the left hand do?'"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good PTO plan but one will need a manager that lets them use it. Pay is competitive but don't count on the bonus. The products and services are well produced.

    Cons

    If you are one inspired by the collaborative process, then this is not the place for you. There is little cross-departmental communication and the communication within the departments is very top down. In fact, information is hoarded for job security reasons. Understandably so because most senior managers and above still feel the sting and relief of surviving a HUGE layoff in 2017. If you are one inspired by innovation, this is not the place for you. The tech is a patchwork of old systems; data-driven individuals will find this place extremely frustrating. Any new tech implemented has been overlaid disorganized data management systems. Do you enjoy meetings where you are the audience to the same six egos? Again, back to the lack of collaboration, plus meetings are not managed effectively, especially by Lencioni standards.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2020-04-12
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work if salaried"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Brand Coordinator in Santa Monica, CA

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Relaxed company culture. No dress code. - Over 10 paid holidays. 10 sick days. Unlimited PTO if salaried.

    Cons

    - Very political - Poor communication between departments

    Beachbody2020-03-09
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Confused direction"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distributor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Set own hours relatively positive environment Great workouts Great mission statement

    Cons

    Corporate has problems with business direction BEACHBODY also owns open fit- a competitor. Comp plan can breed a toxic environment Many distributors will slam each other behind their backs to benefit High turnover Overweight people trying to be fitness pros Company and distribution field uses lots of Rah rah and hype A huge amount of distributors are discount buyers. Coaches enroll anyone to hit a rank for their own benefit Much of the network are people new to MLM . The company focuses to much on recognition, and not solid proven business acumen for distributors to actually build something sustainable coaches are taught to spam people with Hey girl messages. Sub par technology for the field

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2019-10-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Overall pleasant experience"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the company culture. Complementary Shakeology.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about career advancement for employees,

    Beachbody2019-09-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Place But Uneven Business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented people in each area

    Cons

    Unstable business cycles over the years

    Beachbody2019-09-09
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Peaks and peaks. Then, peaks and valleys. Then, valleys and valleys. Then, valleys."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - [REDACTED] 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual environment. Flexible hours. Lots going on so never boring or dull. Really good comp. Employee ideas were sometimes heard, acted on and had positive impact on the business.

    Cons

    Was once a place with great products, culture, structure and a plan. Failed to keep up with changing technologies and consumer habits. Sometimes operated as two competing companies under a single brand. Often was a paralyzed culture (in operations, strategy, planning, execution, etc) due to too many things needing approval or needing to originate from the very top--needed more empowered C-level personnel.

    Beachbody2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Don't judge a book by its cover"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Accounting Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The contemporary beautiful building is in a great location in Santa Monica. Snacks, shakes, coffee machine, and food truck were nice little perks. Free swag every now and then and paid dinners for working late.

    Cons

    I worked there nearly a year and the only time I went to lunch with my team was when it was someone's birthday. There is a huge lack of camaraderie throughout the company. It feels like everyone is on his/her own island scrambling to get their job done since they fired so many people. My manager left 2 months in and was never replaced. This caused me to spend all but two months scrambling to get my work done. I assumed most of his roles and was denied any extra compensation. If you don't mind working in a terrible work environment and do not care about the culture, the pay is generous. You also have a chance to get promoted several times with all of the people getting let go.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2019-08-17
Found 364 reviews