Beacon Communities Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Beacon Communities CEO Dara Kovel
Dara Kovel
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some team members don’t respect others work/life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • "No cons- Great place to work , change my life coming to work for beacon(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful Place to Work and a Company That Values Its Employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In a time where plenty of companies only talk the talk, Beacon truly stands out as one that walks the walk. From offering ongoing training opportunities to fostering a company culture in which everyone's opinions are heard, Beacon has provided me a place I'm happy to work each day.

    Cons

    While employees do receive health benefits, it may be helpful to offer a wider array of options. Management may also want to offer guidance on particular career tracks; while it's obvious there is plenty of room for growth, having a few tangible options rather than "you can go anywhere with Beacon" may prove helpful to employees in the long run!

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    April 10, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your experience at Beacon. Developing our employees through training and career advancement is important to our leadership team. We aim to make these opportunities as tangible as possible. Your feedback will be circulated amongst our Management Team. Please know we will be doing more site visits once possible. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review. Sincerely, Darlene

  2. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Resident Services Coordinator 

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time

    Pros

    Beacon has a great on-boarding experience. Great training and staff. The company values its employees with a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons!

    Beacon Communities Response

    July 13, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for leaving a five-star review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your experience at Beacon thus far. We aim to bring new team members on board efficiently and effectively through a carefully constructed onboarding program. Our Learning and Development team continues to find ways to improve this process to benefit our newest members. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. Sincerely, Darlene


  3. COVID-19

    "Possibly the Smartest Career Decision I've Ever Made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation, supportive and open office culture, mission-focused company

    Cons

    Can be a little disorganized (but recognizes this and is interested in making a change)

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    June 15, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for sharing your feedback. As you stated, we are a mission-driven company and focus on making a positive impact in the areas we operate. Through the contributions of you and your team members, we can make this goal a reality. We also strive to keep lines of communication open and stress inclusion at every level of the organization. We are better when we work together. Thank you for your critical feedback; we are always looking to improve and will circulate this note amongst our Management Committee. Sincerely, Darlene

  4. "Amazing Company to work for!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time

    Pros

    Beacon is an amazing company to work for, work life balance is big at Beacon which is hard to find in many companies these days. Each employee is heard an cared about and upper management is very accessible when needed. Great benefits and paid holidays are a plus as well as company engagement events. I truly feel like I am valued and matter to my company and cannot say enough good things about my job!

    Cons

    Since starting in November 2019 I can’t say I have any cons!

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    June 15, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for leaving a review. We are excited to see your experience at Beacon has been so positive. Our leadership team is dedicated to providing work-life balance through our Summer Hours program, Flex days, and remote work opportunities. We are also glad to hear you have enjoyed the engagement events, even though we have had to switch do a digital format. Your contributions over the past year are greatly appreciated. Please let us know if you have any suggestions in the future for how we can improve our company. Sincerely, Darlene

  5. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Chelsea, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They prepare you for future task and the ones at hand

    Cons

    I have no cons as of yet

    Beacon Communities Response

    June 1, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Welcome to the Beacon team, and thank you for leaving us a five-star review. We are very excited to see you have had a positive experience up to this point. Beacon's Learning and Development team is dedicated to educating our team members and developing our talent pool. Should you have any critical feedback to relay going forward, please do not hesitate to reach out to your supervisor or leadership team. Sincerely, Darlene

  6. "Great Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Services Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Beacon Communities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent working conditions and co-workers.

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted outside headquarters.

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    May 11, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoy your working conditions and team members. Beacon is passionate about promoting from within, and our Human Resources team passes along new opportunities as they become available. I encourage you to review these postings and connect with your supervisor concerning your Beacon career path. Thank you for sharing this feedback and for continuing to support our residents during these challenging times. Sincerely, Darlene

  7. "I Don't think we can be beat !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Leadership TEAM is Amazing, Truly Caring ,Compassionate and Focused on the well-being of all of their Residents and Each and every Employee !

    Cons

    none they are a Great Employer

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    April 10, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your encouraging words. Our leadership team is here to support our talented corporate and site-team members. Beacon is a mission-driven organization thanks to the efforts of you and your peers. Please let me know if you would like to discuss your Beacon experience further. Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review. Sincerely, Darlene

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Corona Epidemic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RMD 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I just wanted to share my thoughts on the actions taken during this truly frightening time. Beacon has done an amazing job at taking care of its employees, you are not just a number, you are a person with a family. They have committed to doing the right things and their actions show it. They have reduced their work force down to skeleton crews, Maintenance on average working under 20 hours a week on site but getting paid in full with no effect on their sick time. Beacon has worked extremely hard at making sure that we have enough PPE to work safely as well as working hard to get all the cleaning supplies we need. Communication has been excellent whether by email or a ZOOM video call. Im proud to work for a company that cares about its employees and is going the extra mile to do the right things by us.

    Cons

    None to share at this time.

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    April 9, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for sharing your encouraging words. Beacon has prioritized the well-being of our residents and employees in response to the spread of COVID-19. We have demonstrated that priority in the items you listed above. By working with one another and continuing to support our residents, we will get through this difficult time. Thank you for your continued dedication to Beacon. Sincerely, Darlene

  9. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "During this Difficult Time....Compassionate, Informative, and Appreciative."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Fall River, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager Support, Life/Work Balance, Salary , Co-Workers

    Cons

    I cannot think of any at this time.

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    April 9, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for leaving us a review and detailing your perspective in such a thoughtful manner. Dara Kovel and I understand the anxiety COVID-19 has created for our team members and their families. We have implemented rotating work schedules and ensured employment into the near future to combat these anxieties and better demonstrate the commitment Beacon has to our employee’s well-being. Thank you for your continued dedication during these trying times. We will get through this together. Sincerely, Darlene

  10. "my honest thoughts"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beacon Communities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    absolutely the best company to work with. for what ever reason a change is needed this company always looks to the challenge as a positive and works to get the best results for the team members as well as the customers.

    Cons

    I can say i do not have any cons to share

    Continue reading

    Beacon Communities Response

    April 9, 2020President

    Dear Team Member, Thank you for leaving us a review. We have approached the situation in the way we approach all obstacles, by aiming to do best by our team members and residents. This principle has allowed Beacon to make lasting impacts in the areas we operate and continue to support our company culture. Sincerely, Darlene

Found 362 reviews